We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic isolated property in Krabi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic isolated property in Krabi”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

First of all, I did not know in advance (from our booking on Hotels.com) that the resort was only accessible by boat - definitely should have read the reviews here! That being said, my friends and I were only staying for one night, so we didn't mind staying only at the resort - it was absolutely beautiful and the quiet was just what we needed. However, if I were to stay longer, I would have liked an easier way to get to and from the hotel - perfect for honeymooners, but not exactly people who like to explore, as I wanted to see Railay Beach but decided it was too much of a trek once I made it to the resort. Other than that, it was a beautiful property - great pool, fine service, clean rooms, and a nice variety of on-site restaurants, a spa, and a gift shop.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Kim L

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and yes our location is very unique.

I notice your comments about exploring the local area and this is possible, just not in the monsoon season. For the benefit of the other readers of this forum you can usually explore by kayak, longtail boat or even some tour companies will pick up guests directly from your resort, it just depends on the season

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,849
    997
    410
    190
    155
See reviews for
857
2,074
57
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Fantastic location if you are looking for an isolated quiet getaway. boat transfers are available at specific hours and, when it is opened, a trail leading to the main beach is accessible, about a half hour trek. Would not recommend this trail to the elderly or small children. Entrance to the resort is by boat only and you arrive on a floating pier that ebbs and flows with the waves. This can be a bit of a challenge, again for younger and older folks. Nice rooms, clean, well appointed, comfortable.

Room Tip: Although some rooms are sea facing, they are only partial. Higher floors have the best views, but l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpenland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear dpendland

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and yes we do not encourage or market to any people that have mobility issues due to our access and location.

Once again thank you for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Centara Grand is certainly in a unique location. However, I would only recommend this hotel to people who intend to spend their entire holiday at the resort and do not wish to explore other areas of Krabi as the ferry service is inconvenient and often booked out in advance.

Having to walk the floating pier to get on and off the ferry (and resort) was intimidating for my partner and is not for the frail or feint hearted.
The food in the restaurants was mostly above average and we enjoyed the teppanyaki meal in the Japanese restaurant, although the meals are overpriced for Thailand. The musicians that play in the restaurants were exceptional. Very talented friendly and created an air of ambience.

We had just arrived from a 5 star hotel in Singapore and the breakfast at Centara Grand was very average in comparison.Do not eat outside unless you are happy for monkeys to steal your food as you sit and eat.
Staff were very hit and miss, with some offering amazingly good service while others gave the impression they were the ones on holidays.
The On the rocks Bar was extremely disappointing for service. It is an ideal location to watch the sunset, with a nice outlook ofver the beach and limestone outcrops. Apart from one young lady that was very helpful and always gave us a smile, the staff here were among the worst I have every had the displeasure of encountering. Even after I had to go and find someone to get another drink, they then waited more than 15 minutes to bring those drinks, despite us being the only patrons there. In the end, we decided to leave just as the drinks were arriving. Also, while waiting for the ferry, we asked to get a coffee and were told they do not start service until 10am.
Beware the painted concrete outside the rooms as it is extremely slippery, especially when wet. My partner slipped and hurt her back and hip one night on our way to dinner.
The room was excellent (Spa Deluxe with Ocean View) and relaxing. The mini bar was not restocked at all during our 4 day stay despite my requests after the second day.
The beach was dirty every morning and although the staff were in the process of cleaning up, I thought the clean up could have been done before guests awoke for the day.
We booked a tour to Phi Phi islands with friends who were staying on the mainland, but the ferry was fully booked at 8am. We asked the tour company if catching the 9am ferry to meet up with the tour would be acceptable and they said yes. The next morning, we arrived at 7:45 am just in case someone had cancelled on the 8am boat. The 8am boat left and returned and for some reason they did another trip in between the 8am and 9am service. As 9am approached, we asked the staff member to call the tour company and tell them we would be late. Because of the extra ferry run, we did not reach Krabi mainland until well after 9:30am. The tour we had booked was leaving (after waiting for 45mins) as we were approaching the pier. Fortunately, our friends were on the tour boat already and asked the captain to turn around and collect us. If it were not for our friends on the tour boat, this episode had the potential to totally ruin our day.
As I mentioned before, I would only recommend Centara Grand if you intend to stay at the resort for the duration of your stay and not have to rely on the ferry service dictating the times you can come and go. Expect to pay extra for everything if you choose this option.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Kenneth212

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I was disappointed to read we did not completely meet all your expectations and please accept my apologies for the inconsistent service at On the Rocks.

The details regarding our location, access and boat schedule is listed on our website including the conditions that the schedule can be subject to change due to various reasons, including weather, other passenger delays etc..

The beach is cleaned daily and I am sure you can appreciate we can only clean the beach when the tide is receding, which varies from day to day.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we will continue to work on the areas you mentioned so that we can try and meet the expectation of all our guests.

Yours sincerely, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood East, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Beautiful resort and private location. The grounds beautiful with the stunning back drop of the national park rocks. The room we had was fantastic, great size and plenty of room, and clean. All the extra bathroom products great, zinc after sun lotion etc. Breakfast buffet was lovely and more than plenty to choose from. Staff were attentive for us and always very pleasant and friendly. Eating at hotel restaurants - we ate at the Thai, lotus restaurant and on the rocks, all lovely and couldn't complain with the food or service. The prices are more expensive than in town buts that's to be expected at a resort.
The jetty was something different - it's a floating jetty and on our arrival the waves were high and it was rough. I did not think I would make it without falling but the staff are great in helping you. But you do need to be steady on your feet. It does get easier after you do it a few times. The shuttle boats into and out of town work ok as long as you book ahead as they have a max passenger no per boat for safety. You can feel a little isolated as there are no cheaper local alternatives to walk to. We did not attempt the monkey trail as it had rained a few times we were told they were repairing the trail and it was not safe.
The local monkeys are very cheeky and come looking for food at poolside and at breakfast. They are not frightened of you and rely on you dropping and running. They also will come to rooms on balcony looking for food and even enter your room if you leave the door ajar!!!
There were other children and we checked out kids club which looked to have plenty of planned activities. But our daughter was content with swimming at the pool.
Would recommend this resort for a relaxing and peaceful holiday. Had a great time there.

Room Tip: We had a ocean view delux. It was great and all we needed. Saw some rooms with a spa on balcony but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at the Centara Grand with our family (children 3 & 5), for 1 week during the 3rd week of June. We chose to stay in the Premium Deluxe Ocean View Room with 2 double beds. The room was huge and had 2 spacious balcony areas. The bathroom was excellent as well, with an open shower and very large bath. Great for a family to shower off after a day at the beach!

The location is amazing, with the resort placed right on the beach, which meant we could easily run from the beach to the pool. The staff also served us on the beach which was very handy - pizza on the beach for lunch! The kids were very happy with this. However, the beach was much narrower than I imagined, but I believe this is because we stayed during June, at the start of the monsoon. There was a lot of debris (mostly branches, twigs a little rubbish) being washed on to the beach but there were staff working tirelessly to pick it up meaning the sand was always clean.

Due to the season, the only access to the resort was by speed boat (10 min ride), to the pier then a short tuk tuk ride to the main street in Krabi. This was fine, as we and the kids enjoyed the adventure, however, the water tended to get quite rough and choppy so sometimes the trip in the boat was a little hairy (the kids thought it was great fun!), plus disembarking onto the floating jetty. However, there are ALWAYS staff there to help you get off the boat and to the shore. They always carried the kids. The boats had enough life jackets for everyone, including the children.

The speed boat has an hourly schedule and you must book in advance, especially if you want to catch an early boat to the main street (for a tour etc), as many people check out at this time. The staff will ask you to book a return time as well. However both times, we returned early from our tour and went to the staff on the pier if we could get onto the next boat back to the resort, which we could. So they are as flexible as possible.

We booked all our tours through guides in the main street in Ao Nang. They were much cheaper than the tours available in the resort (and very similar), plus because we were there in low season the tour guides were discounting by approx 40%, plus our 3 year old was free. Take note though, that they may not supply life jackets for the kids, or snorkeling gear. We borrowed a life jacket from Centara Grand speed boat.

The breakfast buffet was amazing. We definitely had our fill plus more every morning. We also ordered barista coffee to have with breakfast rather than the regular coffee.
We ate a lot at the resort, as we wanted an early dinner (due to tired kids!), the food was very tasty, best was probably the Thai restaurant. They have a show on Friday nights, which was a little pricey, but lots of fun. The kids loved it especially the fire show.

The staff at the resort are lovely. They are always on hand to help and will do their best to please and are very polite.

I would definitely recommend this resort! We had an amazing time. Just take note of the season you travel in, we were there at the start of the monsoon so weren't the luckiest with the weather (smaller beach, windy, a little rain, choppy water while going on tours), but of course we paid low season rates, so we can't complain. We were still extremely happy with everything and had an amazing time!

We hope to be back!

Room Tip: The Ocean view rooms are amazing, you do have to walk up and down a couple of staircases, but it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SJGM2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear SJGM2004

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you and your family enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team. Yes our double rooms with 2 queen size beds are ideal for families with a combined living space of over 72sqm.

Unfortunately during the monsoon season you are going to see lots of debris wash down the river estuaries that end up on our beach, but our team do their best to clean it daily. The monsoon also creates a challenge with our floating jetty but as you mentioned there is always staff on standby to assist.

Once again thank you for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Right in the town fantastic town atmosphere lovely people live music all around town great food
We went in march first time in tailand it was my wife's 50 th birthday so I just booked it
We are going to krabi in November as Thailand has so much to offer but mainly the people

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a privelage room free drinks at 6 pm it's a fantastic atmosphere very relaxed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noddas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

It's like living in the middle of the jungle. Wild monkeys on your terrace in the morning, beautiful surroundings and a very nice and polite staff. The food in the different restaurants is very good. The beach on the food of the resort is beautiful as well. The hotel room is also very, very nice. Modern, new, clean and functional.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Jan J

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

The wildlife around and within the resort is truly unique and I am please this added to your overall experience.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,481 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,370 reviews
1.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge by one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing