We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The room was beautiful, with the Thai style décor, it was very clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable; it was facing the view which makes a wonderful sight to wake up to. The grounds were beautiful with the very private beach and the relaxing pool. A very nice spa, with great deals on treatments. For a hotel so secluded they provide lots of things to do. With the 4 restaurants there are several choices for dining. We attended the Thai buffet with Thai dancers and fire breather’s, was worth the money. Entertaining and good food. Beautiful and relaxing resport!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear katrina R,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and left us with memorable experiences.

Yes, Thai Theme Night is our signature and quite a "must do" during staying with us!

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,666 - 1,672 of 3,751 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

Do take the top most villa placed on the 3rd floor. Wow what a view. I sat for about 4 hours continuosly only to have the best view and breeze. This hotel also has a great Thai Spa which offers a fantastic Thai massage which is value for money. Do go for this hotel but remember only take a villa else skip this as inside room with no sea view are not so great

Room Tip: Top most - top storey sea view villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Tanwani,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and yes, the view in our Pool Villa is stunning!

Also nice to hear another positive comment about our Cenvaree spa as well.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

If you are considering staying at Centara Krabi you'll need a balanced review...

PROS: built into a cliff this 'James Bond' style location is stunning and an easy 1hr connection from the airport via car+boat transfer. This location give the hotel a 'natural advantage' over many other hotels because it is beautifully kept and very relaxed and tranquil. Food options are excellent (Thai, Japanese, Western) - especially with Ms. Lek in charge - and despite the captive location the prices are thankfully kept reasonable ($4 per beer, $10 main dish), otherwise I'd have a very different opinion of this place. The spa is one of the best I ever visited and the online pictures are a true representation of the property.

CONS: generally the service is poor... there are a variety of offers/extras available but these aren't always communicated, many times the waitstaff would rather get our order wrong rather than clarify if they misunderstood the order which is frustrating when repeated daily, room services/baggage was always slow and I had to ask multiple times for basic items, pool bar staff were grumpy which is a shame given the otherwise pristine location and so on. Based on this lack of overall discipline on the front-line I'm not surprised I got food poisoning on the last day, presumably from some hygiene error in the back-line kitchen. Two other minor points... 1) if you are afraid of monkeys stay away from this place as they are everywhere and will try to raid your room/minibar at the slightest opportunity, 2) if you are mobility impaired this place will definately be inconvenient. There are lower level rooms/villas but overall there are a lot of steps around the property plus the floating pier and boat transfer will be problematic

SUMMARY: Rooms either look over the jungle or the ocean (which is 'bay' water, not clear open ocean water, by the way) so you can't go wrong here. Centara Krabi is good for a relaxing long-weekend if you live in Asia or are 'passing through' the area of Southern Thailand, BUT IF you paid a lot to travel long-haul for THIS hotel as your primary experience in Thailand (e.g. honeymoon from Europe/US), you will likely be disappointed as there are so many other A-Grade hotels in the Krabi/Phuket area you could choose from minus the headaches (such as The Racha for a boutique or Le Meridien Karon for a chain hotel - as a starting suggestion/alternative around a similar price)

Room Tip: The location is stunning so it is worth paying a little extra for the premium rooms overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkeyboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Monkeyboy007,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our location, room and outlets. Your compliment on Ms. Lek has been personally passed to her.

I am so regret to hear that some of services offering from our staffs were not meet your expectation. Please accept my sincere apologize, your constructive comments has been shared among the team to ensure our improvement.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed at hotel for 4 nights and had an awesome time. Rooms are clean. Unlike some of the reviews here. I strongly recommend the hotel. Did a cooking class and had a lovely chef, manager and assistant all teaching me the basics of Thai cooking. Really enjoyed my stay and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Elderly. Ask for lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barrysassine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Barrysassine,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your 4 nights stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

The cooking class is an interesting thing to join and we always get a positive feedback from our guests.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a lovely 2 weeks at the Centara and had a lovely time. We had a sea view room with a jacuzzi and were not disappointed with the room standard. The room was cleaned to a high standard every day, despite earlier reviews complaining that the rooms were not clean. The Thai restaurant on site was wonderful, as was the Japanese restaurant. Yes, higher prices than in town, but that's the price you pay for a secluded and quiet resort. The service was impeccable and we always received smiles and fast service. It's a real shame that the monkey trail closed before we arrived, but there's nothing the hotel can do about that. A lovely holiday and, should we ever return to Krabi, will definitely stay at the Centara again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank MrsDKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear MrsDKing

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciated services and friendliness of our staffs.

Agree that the monkey removed is a real shame and that why we have been provided more boats daily to ensure more flexibility on this.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Centara Beach for 14 nights from 22 Feb to 10 Mar 2014 - so this review is slightly late. Lots been said by other reviewers so I hope my experience is helpful. We decided on this area as we had travelled for three weeks in Thailand 14 years ago and loved Krabi (Railay Beach) but were only able to stay for two nights and always said we'd come back.

The hotel: Our room was amazing! We had a spa deluxe on a high floor and the view was beautiful. The monkeys visited the balcony and we had lots of fun watching them. Don't leave anything outside and keep your doors secured - they will get in otherwise! It was very very hot when we were there and we got the sun on the terrace from around 11am. There were a few things that needed to be fixed in the room (leaky jacuzzi and a blocked water drain) but as soon as we raised with housekeeping they came to fix it. The daily ice delivery was also welcomed as we kept drinks in the fridge. We took DVDs to watch at night and slept very well. The people were all lovely and very helpful.
We visited the gym to stay out of the sun during the hottest part of the day and it was good. It wasn't as good as some in five star hotels but then it definitely wasn't the worst we'd seen either.
Breakfast was good enough - lots of choice and they made me a good americano every morning. Btw, there is free wifi available in reception and the library - which is not widely publicised.

Doing stuff: Kayaking was fun, although the sea was a little bit brisk when we went out, we're glad we did. we also went on an elephant trek which was OK - a bit overpriced but if it goes to looking after these beautiful animals that was good enough reason to pay.
Massages in Ao Nang were excellent. We went to the ones along from the Last Fisherman as you go into town and at three quid (150 bhat) for a Thai massage we had one nearly every other day, followed by a refreshing drink from the juice stall next door.
We also visited the Blue Dragon for a cabaret show - had a really good time!

Food: We ate mainly in Ao Nang and used TripAdvisor reviews to guide us. There is so much choice and we had fantastic meals for a very good price. Most places have free wifi too. At the hotel we ate at On the Rocks twice I think, and at the Japanese twice as it was amazing (the sushi for around a tenner and ramen noodles were to die for)! Very good food at a very good price for a five star hotel. Didn't visit the other restaurants at the hotel as preferred the ambience in Ao Nang.

Getting around: We never got the shuttle, preferring instead the monkey trail day and night. The first couple of times we were a bit slow and wary but soon got used to it. Door to door we were in Ao Nang (to the Last Fisherman) in 25 mins. But it always took us longer during the day just watching the crab-eating macaques! They are amazing and it was such a privilege to have the close encounters we did.

Weather etc: It was very very hot - 35-35 degrees, dropping to 23-27 degrees at night! We spent some days on our balcony and some by the quieter pool and on the beach. It was hot though so I didn't both with make up and just pulled my hair back. There is a torch in the room, but it was a bit cumbersome so I used the torch on my phoneDidn't see a mosquito and didn't get bit by anything.

Overall, the hotel exceeded our expectations. We loved the resort, and while we knew that it was separated from Ao Nang (so can't mark it down for that) after a while it got a bit tiresome to have to go back and forth into town. We loved Thailand and have already booked our next holiday to visit somewhere we haven't been before.

Room Tip: Spa deluxe on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vijay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Stavrospqr

Thank you for sharing your comments following your 2 weeks stay back in late February at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and it even more pleasure to see "Exceeded our expectations" as a headline!

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here over Easter for 9 nights with my husband and children aged 13 and 9 years old. We were well aware of location, access of the hotel before we arrived. The pier was easy to walk on, I had to hold onto y husband due to a medial reason but it really was no issue. However if the sea was rough I think it would be another story! Booking the shuttle boat and using that service was no problem at all and we went into Ao Nang on several days.

The hotel certainly isn't 5 star, we stayed in a hotel called the Soneva Kir on Koh Kood last October on a family holiday and I will not compare the two too much as the Soneva was a lot more expensive but it was 5 star too.

The beach is beautiful to look at but the water isn't clear at all, we discovered why on a walk back from town at low tide, There is raw sewerage being pumped out into the sea just around the rocky outcrop. It smelt awful and you had to leap over it as it made a channel towards the sea. Needless to say we didn't venture into the sea.

Pools-Both dirty with unclear water, probably suntan lotion but not clear by any means. Also pool not temperature controlled so quite warm. Plenty of sun beds but a limited number of plastic ones directly around the pool area-all taken very early in the morning. Plenty of other beds, proper wooden one in the garden area and looking out towards the sea, in a long line though. No sun beds are allowed on the beach, it is a law of the Krabi Province for no hotels to have beds on the beach. This applies in Ao Nang to where people are lined up on white plastic chairs just where the beach starts.

The people using the Kayaks and paddle boards looked to be having great fun. So so far a beach that you can't lay on on a bed and a dirty pool. The tiles got red hot around the pool area so it was essential to were flip flops if walking around.

Accommodation-We had booked a spa room but swapped when we arrived to a deluxe sea view which is more spacious. I could think of nothing worse than sitting in a hot tub which has been at 30 degrees since it arrived. Its a cold bath you need! Our room was spacious with two large comfy beds for us with a nice view over the resort towards the sea. The cleaning standards left a lot to be desired and you could still see the suitcase wheel marks from when we arrived on the floor as we left.

Breakfast-Ok nothing special but more than adequate. I thought there would be a lot more fruit than there was. Husband had an omelette most days which looked great and he said tasted wonderful. I had eggs benedict one day off the specials and it was awful.

Lunch-If we where in resort we ate at on the rocks where they make a fantastic pizza in a wood fired oven-very tasty indeed. All the food and drinks from here where very good and the cocktails where very good indeed. I recall reading a review commenting on the lack of English understood by the staff and there was one time when one chap didn't understand what I meant so I asked another and then another tip somebody did-not a problem really. Another Krabi province law- to employ locals-i agreed entirely we are in Thailand!!

Dinner-we ate in the Lotus Court and the Thai restaurant. They were very nice restaurants with great staff-very smily girls-where the service and the food was very good indeed. Except the breakfasts we enjoyed all our food and drinks in the resort. Yes they do cost more than in Ao Nang but they are good value for money.

We used the baht top up scheme which make everything much cheaper, I would recommend you do this if you are going to drink or eat in the resort. In fact we only just managed to use all the room credit up before we left.

I also recall a reviewer commenting on the sound of the tail boats-please stay in your own living room next time to fancy travelling to Thailand, yes they do make a noise as all the boat trips from Ao Nang pass the hotel on there way for Island trips, yes there are a lot of them and i find it fascinating how some of them can sound so loud! Its a wonderful sight-I loved them.

We went on a long tail boat trip to several other islands which was great. We booked it in town as not only was it less than half the price there was just us, so we could leave the resort when we wanted to and stay on each island as long as we wanted too. Clear water so swimming and snorkelling for the first time.Yeh!

Getting around the resort was not a problem, even for me with my mobility issues. We used the steps to walk up and down for the first few days but realised its a lot more easy to walk around the wide paths/roads so did just that. We used the golf buggy a lot and always found it quick arriving after booking it. Husband walked the monkey trail once but its been removed now so its not an option and by all accounts you won't miss it!

Both food and beverage managers and restaurant staff do a splendid job and its a shame the rest of the resort doesn't match them. I would not come here again probably because i was expecting more of the resort than it gave. I still dream of the clear pool and sea and your OWN golf buggy to get around on our last Thai holiday.

Room Tip: We had a room high up so you get a great view but its wasted really unless you sit on your balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lexion480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear Lexion480,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to know that generally, you were enjoying your stay especially the room and food and beverage in restaurants.

I note your comment about the uncleared pools which we rectified both of them already. Unfortunately that the sewerage pumped over the cliff is out of our hand to rectify.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards,

Ball
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,574 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,448 reviews
1.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
5.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $177 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge by one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing