We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I have just returned home from a two week stay at this hotel,it was celebrate our 25th wedding Anniversary,on arrival we were blown away by the setting,after checking in we were shown our suit which did not meet my expectations,so the receptionist checked and showed us another suit which was was out of this world for view ( a very big thank you to James the receptionist),Had a great stay and would like to thank all the staff (specially Gift and boo in the lotus court restaurant and the bar manager Leroy,hood,peter,yar,and torhead for making our stay so enjoyable,if you like wildlife this the place

Room Tip: Not very good for mature people lot of walking up hills and stairs,we stayed room 1105 great room pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenhitheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear greenhittheman,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your 25th wedding anniversary at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay along with complements to our staffs. Your comments has been personally shared to mentioned staffs which they were appreciated.

We truly appreciate your generous support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards,
Ball
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,774
    972
    396
    184
    144
See reviews for
806
2,020
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days in April, we couldn't believe how beautiful the location was when we arrived. Set in lime stone cliffs with an amazing limestone rock in the sea it was exactly what you want from Thailand. The beach was lovely white sand from which you can see beautiful sunsets every night. We had a lovely sea view room. Very nice restaurants - our favourite was the Thai restaurant - delicious.

The resort operates a really good money match scheme (ask upon arrival) where they will give you money for spending at the resort. We committed 10,000 baht of our own money to spend at the resort and got 3000 baht from the hotel to spend on top (this goes right up to 100,000 baht with the hotel matching 100,000 baht - so works out quite well if you're staying for 2 weeks).

As the resort is situated within a national park, you must ensure you keep doors etc closed and locked. We got invaded by a monkey one day who managed to open the patio door and raided our mini- bar!!

Great water sports including paddle boarding. Also give the Thai boxing class a go as this is great fun.

Very friendly and helpful team if staff.

We would definitely come back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Angela D

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

Yes our location is stunning and you never seem to tire of the amazing views wether it be the views of the bay or limestone formations that surround us.

The chef was pleased to read you enjoyed our traditional Thai food in our Rim Saai restaurant as well as the complimentary watersports and Thai boxing lessons.

The baht bonanza is a unique program offered by Centara Hotels which offers a discount off food, beverages and spa treatments within the resort and I am happy that you took advantage of this great program.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2wks, for our honeymoon... it's nothing but a bliss!! From our beautiful jacuzzi room, that gets serviced daily... the scrumptious food from breakfast to dinner, is just divine... and the activities they have daily!! from movie nites, kayaking, wind surfing etc... You can can definitely just stay at this resort and enjoy life!! the view is amazing... the staff is most helpful at most times.. We cannot wait to come back here on my 40th bday!!
Thank you so much Centara Krabi, for making our honeymoon an amazing one!!
All the best....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HusbynWifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear HusbynWifey

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent honeymoon at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay along with the amazing views the many activities and wonderful food we have available in the resort.

We truly appreciate your generous support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We have just returned from a two week stay at the centara grande beach hotel and Cape panwa hotel as part of my 50th birthday celebration.Firstly staying at The Centara Grande in Krabi.This hotel was excellent,we were absolutely blown away by the beauty of the resort and the ocean facing spa deluxe rooms were fantastic!
We travelled as a group of ten and were given rooms with fantastic views,although this meant climbing numerous steps,it was well worth it!The monkeys only visited my room once but my friend who was up higher than us had daily visits ,mothers carrying their babies all filing past her room ,approximately thirty in one go!
We decided to tackle the monkey trail to visit ao nang,"Temple of doom"comes to mind but after doing it a couple of times it wasn't that bad and quite fun as long as you watch your step!Saying that I do think it would be a good idea if the Hotel made it a bit safer,I/saw one lady fall and badly hurt her ankle!Maybe the hotel would rather its guests stayed on site instead of venturing to less expensive restaurants!
I would definatly return to this hotel it is superb!

Room Tip: High room if you want to see that beautiful view and visits from monkeys go to the very highest ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfiew2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear alfiew2004

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you and your group enjoyed your stay as well as your 50th birthday celebrations.

Yes the wildlife around and within the resort is truly unique and I am pleased this added to your overall experience.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed her for 9 night over Easter. I think I'll review the resort as:

CONS -
If you don't like wildlife i.e. monkeys on your balcony or monitor lizards, book elsewhere
If you hate noisy long tail boats and smelly engines, don't stay here
If you don't like staying on the resort most of the time, but visiting, not the ideal place to stay

PROS -
If you like wildlife and want to see monkeys on your balcony, come here
If you enjoy a culture where water travel is essential to the locale, this is the place for you
If you enjoy coming and staying at a resort and relaxing with awesome scenery, this is a must

Anyway, that's just the start. What did we think about the Centara? 5 Star location with private beach, fantastic weather (35+ degrees C every day), restaurants excellent, staff friendly and generally helpful, service............ hmmmmmmmmm!

Yes, OK, we did have a couple of issues with the service (specifically room service and on-the-beach service). However, we did speak with the general manager and his 2iC and it most certainly improved dramatically (they kicked butt...). We understand the issues and feel the management have an uphill struggle. But give them their due, they are trying - and we do believe it will all improve. But the service MUST be 5 Star as well to keep the level of any resort at that same level. Good luck, David M.

Now for the good bits! As mentioned earlier, the scenery is simply breathtaking. Yes, there is the constant dawn till dusk drone of boats going to Railey Beach and other islands and picking up passengers from the pier. But this is part of the charm of Thailand - their long tail boats are part of the culture. And it is the only way in and out of the resort now that the Monkey Trail has been closed down (sadly). And the floating pier can be a bit of a hazard, especially if the sea gets lumpy - but the kids love it as it becomes a roller-coaster adventure for them. We had no issues with it (four Chang beers and its perfectly straight in all conditions - teehee).

The food is exquisite - the Thai restaurant, the Rim Saai, was simply the best. We ate there quite a few evenings and have to say, compared to flavour of the food in the local Ao Nang restaurants, we think its better. Price wise, a more expensive but definitely competitive. We recommend the soft shell crab and the crispy pork in green curry rice - mouth-watering!!!! Sadly, we cannot remember the name of the lady who looked after this restaurant, but she deserves a mention as she was simply fabulous - she brought the service up to 6 star...... And she had help from Honny - who was 6 star herself! Not just helpful, she was a delight to talk to, she couldn't do enough for us. Honny - a personal thank you!

We must mention a few of the other staff. Zafer, the Food and Beverage Manager, really made our stay exceptional. He'd only been at the resort for 2 weeks and was the @iC - and he was the whirlwind amongst the staff. We were convinced he was triplets as he was everywhere and doing everything - and giving the rest of the staff an example of what service should be! Well done, Zaf - and thank you. The 3 wonderful girls in the Club facility - Sa, Dang and May - what we have done without you looking after us? Brilliant - the Centara needs more like you. Jason who met us off the boat and helped us check in - top bloke! And to all the others who we haven't mentioned - thank you for upholding a quality of service that was sadly let down by others.

As to the room - we loved it. Modern, clean, fantastic design. The upper rooms are the best as you get the views out across the water - and you get monkeys. Good storage, beautiful bathroom layout, big bed, big TV, mini-bar, very big balcony. The bed is hard, so may not be to everyone's liking. We hate soft beds, so perfect for us. You'll never please everyone with this....... We spent a few nights on the balcony watching the tropical thunder storms and the lightning show. Fantastic.

Just for those families with children - we would recommend it big time! As the only way to get into the resort now is by boat, you won't get multitudes of other tourist invading the beach (unlike the Rayavadee on Railey beach - we went there and thought - never!! Wouldn't stay there if you payed us). It is definitely very private and VERY safe. The pools are great for kids, as is the beach and the sea. Maybe the water is not as clear as other beaches around, but at least you won't have to worry about them.

Would we recommend the Centara and go back? If we were to return to Krabi, this is the only place we would stay. And will we recommend it? Most certainly if you want to go for a beach holiday in Ao Nang.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear George C

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was pleased to read that after a few hiccups you and Kathryn enjoyed your stay. Thank you for acknowledging the efforts of the staff and thank you for specifically mentioning Zafer our Director of food and beverage, as well as Khun Dang, Sa and May in the Club lounge and Honny from Rim Saai restaurant who took care of you along the beach.

Yes the location is truly unique and I appreciate the comments on the service and we will continue to strive to improve these to meet the expectations of all our guests.

Once again thank you for your generous support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi or at another one of our Centara hotels throughout South East Asia.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed for 10 nights. As previous correspondents have already discussed the floating pier being unsuitable for anyone with walking difficulties I will skip this. We were fine with it. The boat trip across from Ao Nang is great, but if you are fretful of water then this is not for you. I must mention early that the monkey trail has been closed down by the authorities, no one knows why... this meant that the speedboat or the longtail boat was the only way in or out. Book early for the speedboat!
For me the longtail boats are a pain, they are basically a noisy, unmuffled diesel engine powering a boat.... like a sick hornet...this made any relaxation on the beach impossible but it gives guests some more freedom of time to do things off site when it suits them.
Back to the first night, the mattresses are hard. If you have any issues with a hard bed bring some of your own bedding. The hotel has one type, hard. They did try and soften it with a second thinner one for my wife which just about did the trick but it was not ideal. The rooms are OK, but we have had a better standard elsewhere in Thailand. The breakfast buffet is good, and it's great having a proper cappucino or latte first thing in the morning. Food is expensive and you get a 17% surcharge on everything you buy on the resort. So go to Ao nang and sample the cuisine there.
I agree with comments about making use of the free 1 hour canoe, it is worth a paddle to the rock.
The weather was good, and a bonus were the fantastic electrical storms at night, although if you were on a boat in the bay then I imagine it would be a bit scary to some.
The staff were very helpful throughout our stay but annoyingly the beachside service was patchy, it depended on wether the remote call button was working properly. When it did staff rarely came with a menu so had a long trek back to fetch one.
We saw the monkeys down on the beach on our last day and what a treat they were. Snorkeling was average as the water was not too clear close to the shoreline, but further out was OK. We also found out that for an extra 900 Baht per person per night you could choose to be a club member and have some privacy at breakfast in you own club room and get free coffee and cocktails.
I think some attention to detail is needed on the hygiene front, a deep clean is required on some of the hotel furnishings. The sunbeds with thick mattresses don't look too good either.
All in all we both enjoyed this place but it is not in our top ten for some of the reasons above.
We would go back but not for as long. The staff are excellent and try to make your stay a pleasant one.
We changed our money at the currency exchanges in Ao Nang as the rate was far superior to any at home or the hotel, we were getting 53.6 Baht to the pound. Slightly more if you had travellers cheques.

Room Tip: first or second floor rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank candymanPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear candymanPeterbo…

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

As you have stated the monkey trail has been removed by the authorities and our company is currently in discussions with them for a replacement.

I appreciate your comments about the long tail boats, however these are synonymous and part of the character of Thailand and I doubt you or I will be able to change this.

We are currently in the process of changing the style of our mattresses and have already changed 1/3 of the rooms with more to be changed this coming month.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed the large variety on the breakfast buffet and the use of the complimentary water sports equipment, which is very popular to explore the limestone formations around the oceans edge.

Please accept my apologies that the cleanliness of some areas of the resort were not to your expectation and for any inconvenience this caused, we will continue to try harder to improve both our service and product so that we can meet the expectations of all our guests.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

There's no denying that this is the best beach in Ao Nang but I have mixed feelings about this place.

Positives
- Best beach in Ao Nang
- Free transport to Ao Nang centre (with conditions!)
- Lovely rooms
- Room very comfortable
- best night sleep I had in whole trip
- Gorgeous View
- Nice Bars
- Free activities (with conditions!)
- Amongst wildlife (I loved the monkeys!)
- just about walkable to Ao Nang (only for the physically able though!)

Negatives
- You are amoungst the masses
- Room in aircon didn't work at first, someone had to repair it
- Jacuzzi in room didn't work at first, someone had to repair it
- You can't just rock up in a long tail boat like everywhere else in thailand - you have to advance book and costs a fortune
- Free boat needs to be booked in advanced , subject to availability and at set times (I'm not keen on sticking to schedules on holiday)
- They charged us twice on arrival because they couldn't understand me when I said i'd booked in advance
- You feel like you are on a Package holiday! (although some people may like that)
- constantly getting asked for your room number in a slightly abrupt manner (when arriving on beach or hiring a towel) - I guess they are just trying to make sure stays don't wonder in and use facilities. But it made it feel a bit impersonal and like you didn't belong!
- too many rules. The rest of thailand is so laid back.. why not this place!

All in all it is a lovely place with great facilities. If they addressed the maintenance issues and made it feel a bit less package holiday it could be so much more!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scallyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear scallyanna

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort and for pointing out the positive as well as the areas we could improve.

I was disappointed to read that got the impression that you were on a package holiday and I am not exactly sure what you mean by “package holiday” because in reality many guests would have booked a package with airfare, accommodation and transfers through a travel agent. However if you mean flying with a charter company with and “all inclusive” package, then we do not offer this.

I noticed you stayed in January which is peak season in Ao Nang and you would have noticed many outside resort guests using the beach and the only way to stop them using the resort facilities is to check their identification through their room number. However I have noted this and we will see if there is any other way we can do this to make our approach a little softer.

Once again thank you for your details feedback we will continue to work hard to make sure we can meet the expectation of all our guests.

Yours sincerely, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
5.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge with one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing