We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 105 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here last week . Rooms are very nice. Had a sea view up near the top. As mentioned in other reviews you have to get a boat to and from Aonang and a tuktuk ( 80 b for the tuktuk ). This was no problem at all. A previous review states your kids can cartwheel down the floating jetty probably a little over the top especially if you returning a bit later and the sea is a bit choppy. You do how ever get used to it and if the sea is calm you will have no issues. The monkey trail is not easy . It is ok but not easy especially at night but the hotel does not state that it is and there is a warning before to walk it. Booking the boat was easy although the girl on the desk does look at you like you have dropped out of the sky and is not very helpful. All the other staff were very friendly the food is very good . We tried the Rocks and the Thai restaurant all very good. Breakfast was good also. Had a couple of issues we were booked into the wrong room on our return from Elephant Hills. We only had 2 more nights and could not be moved until 2 pm the next day so did not bother . ( twin instead of a double ). Also don't bother with the paid wifi. We bought the 72 hour and only managed to log on about 6 times. Forget using Skype etc it is way to slow. My advise would be to make the wifi free and people wont complain about it. Use the free wifi in the library . Also we had a issue with our electric card going missing . The problem we had is that I had to go all the way down to reception to get one as the cordless phone did not work . My advise would be to have the phone put on a power supply that if you do get a power cut you are still able to use the phone. These on the whole are minor issues and I would defiantly recommend this resort .

Room Tip: If you are there during a new moon you are able to walk to Aonang when the tide is out . Bottle Beer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Dave S

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and yes our location is unique and only accessible by boat or walking over the national park track.

I appreciate the feedback about the wifi and the telephone being on a different power source.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,706
    946
    380
    179
    141
See reviews for
768
1,954
52
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at this resort in January 2014 a family of four, two children aged 5 and 9 and had an unforgettable holiday. The resort is set in a spectacular location. The rooms are beautiful.we stayed in a garden view jacuzzi, that had outstanding indoor and outdoor living.
The breakfast was the best I have ever had in a resort, it had something for everyone. We ate at the thai restaurant and had a lovely meal, and also ate at On the Rocks for lunch, both very nice.
The beach and pool were amazing. Free water sports meant there was always lots to do. The resort organised a private long tail boat for a day trip for our family, and it was fantastic.
The floating jetty is no problem at all, in fact my children could cartwheel down it! The monkey trail was easy.
The speedboat service was fantastic, my children loved the daily ride into Aonang. Got dropped at the pier and then got a tuktuk to the centre. You do have to book the speedboat.
The location is just amazing, the wildlife spectacular. Would love to come back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Leigh W

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us in January of this year.

It was a pleasure to read your family enjoyed their overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of the kitchen team with their great breakfast buffet and the various cuisine in our restaurants. I agree the watersports are a value added enjoyment for the family and the new stand up paddle boards are very popular.

The wildlife around and within the resort is truly unique and I am please this added to your overall experience.

Once again thank your for your generous support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Came for 3 nights and the resort is located in a national forest. You have to take the hotel's boat from the pier in order to get to the hotel and the only other way to leave is via the "monkey trail" which is slightly unsafe but easily walkable. The resort is away from all the other resorts, which gives you a little more privacy. Breakfast is decent and should be bought as part of the hotel package as it costs quite a bit per person if bought separately. All requests for maintenance were met promptly but the sink in the bathroom had a crack in it (not what you would expect from a 5 star resort). WiFi is only free in the lobby but if staying more than 1 night, the 72 hour package costs $300 Baht (versus 250 Baht for 24 hours). The staff is pleasant and the bar has 2 happy hours a night with 2 for 1 drink specials (although the liquor is not heavy in the drinks). Worth a stay especially if you want to be away from Ao Nang's crowded beaches and resorts.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TDeniero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear TDeniero

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

We appreciate all the details you have mentioned are fairly accurate for our resort, although the monkey trail through the national park has recently been upgraded.

Please accept my apologies for the cracked handbasin in your room, we are aware of this and waiting for a replacement to arrive from overseas.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romagne, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Your transport from Krabi airport will drop you at a harbour. What a dump! Your boat to the resort will not moor on a pier but nose-in to the sand do you have to hike to it. All of this is actually no great problem but it is a bit of a shock when you're expectations are conditioned to arrive at a 5 star resort. Also you might have to wait up to an hour for the boat -Not good. BUT, when you get to the Centara Grand, it really is worth it. The rooms are delightful and the staff generally very pleasant and helpful. Restaurant quality is high with prices to match so we took the boat & tuk-tuk to Ao Nang where great food is available at a fraction of the price the hotel charges. Excursions are good value. Beach is fantastic. I would not have thought this suitable for the disabled in view of the boat-boarding issues and the lack of transport to the higher rooms on the resort.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Ian D

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I was pleased to read we met your expectation once you arrived at the resort.

I appreciate your comments about the pier, and we are working with the local authorities to try and improve the condition of this arrival experience.

Yes you are correct to state our resort is not suitable to people with any mobility issues and that’s why we do not offer any physically challenged facilities.

Once again thank your for your comments and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
283 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights in march 2014. Pleasant and relaxing atmosphere away from crowded Aonang and Railey Beach. Very friendly and attentive staff. Fitness centre above hotel standard (I have tried quite a few)
Wifi only free in lobby and library....come on...this is 2014. Breakfast very good.
I could come back...to be recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WebbDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear WebbDavid

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed your brief stay and thank you for acknowledging the staff friendliness.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Place and location is unbelivable! It wasnt our first time in Thai and we been on islands, but this location is perfect as You dont even leave for any trip to any else place in Thai. Hotel facilities is old, but it doesnt make it bad. Brekfast is ok, not something special, but ok. Food in restaurants is also ok.
Main thing which make this hotel 4 star max is quality of service provided. Staff should get more training, especially in beach bar! Price for drinks is high. I mean they are not expencive, but high because of poor quality and presentation.
Over all, if You understand that Thai 5 star = 4 star - hotel is great, at least for one week.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Denis G

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

Yes our location is very unique and I am pleased you enjoyed this.

I appreciate your comments about the service and we will continue to work hard so that we can meet the expectations of all our guests.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Not sure if some of the other reviewers stayed at the same hotel as us!
Firstly, you must know before you arrive that this hotel is only reached by boat - so why complain about that fact? Yes it is slightly irritating to have to book but there are non-hotel boats available if you are stuck. And there is the monkey trail..... I agree this probably isn't much fun at night but my husband and I (in our 60s and 70s) both managed during the daytime with few problems. Yes, it could do with a little maintenance but you're not in the centre of London here, you're in a small jungle!
The restaurants were good, particularly the Thai one. We weren't so keen on the Japanese one but that's personal (and we were peeved to be charged 220 Baht for a bottle of Evian when we would have preferred the local one). Breakfasts were fantastic.
We found all the staff to be very very friendly and attentive. Maybe you get back what you put in to a relationship? If you smile and are polite you get the same in return.
The beach was beautiful (in fact the whole site was), the pools were clean and fresh and big enough. We never had any trouble finding a subbed, but then we didn't want to roast ourselves by the pool - maybe it was more difficult there.
We had a club room which included use of the club lounge and snacks and drinks during the day and this was definitely an advantage but we didn't find the food prices much more than in the village (apart from the Evian!) but the surroundings were so much nicer.
The rooms were fantastic, with huge balconies and incredibly quiet and efficient air conditioning. We found the wifi efficient too.
All in all we have no complaints about the hotel. Like a previous reviewer, we weren't too keen on the credit card deposit as we too paid cash but it was cancelled at the end of the stay without any problem.
We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Kate d

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I truly appreciate your candid comments and for saying what I can’t always say!

I have taken note of your comment about the Evian and will look into alternatives.

Yes the Club benefits are very good value and many guests also use it as a way of meeting fellow travelers that have similar outlooks on lifes experiences.

Once again thank you for your very kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
1.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Jetsetter, HotelsClick and Reservation Counter so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing