We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel in a forest.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hotel in a forest.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel has a lovely location; a forest. Though its a tad bit far from Ao Nang main city, its total worth it if you want a quiet and peaceful holiday. You take a speed boat from the main pier to get to Centara (which is about 20 mins). The hotel has a fantastic location over looking the sea and the rooms are located in a forest backed by the hills.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adhvaryul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear adhvaryul

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and yes the location within the national park is very unique.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,748
    964
    393
    182
    143
See reviews for
795
1,997
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of our honeymoon trip to Thailand.

The resort is beautiful - the setting is just amazing (I don't think you could ever get bored of waking up to that view!!)

The food is a bit pricey compared to over in Ao Nang but when we did eat here what we did have was lovely! It's also only a 15 minute walk over the monkey trail into the town where you can get great food & massages for a fraction of the cost. The monkey trail is great fun (all be it very hot and a bit of a climb) but it's certainly easier than getting a tuk tuk & boat back to the hotel! Please note that it's called the monkey trail for a reason - there are hundreds of them, but if you don't feed them you'll be fine!! It's lovely to watch them playing in the river & on the beach.

The rooms are amazing - beautiful views from the balcony and very luxurious inside. Breakfast was lovely, varied and service was good. Pool area and beach are beautiful!!

The only downside to this hotel is the service in the beach bar. Unfriendly staff who were seemingly unwilling to do anything except hang around the bar chatting (there were one or two who were trying but there were too many people to serve well by themselves!) One lunch time we had spent nearly 2 hours trying to have a pizza what with the wait to order and then waiting for the bill afterwards - not good!!!

Reception staff were generally very good and the staff in the Thai restaurant were great.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel - just a shame about the beach bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear RJS88

Thank you for sharing your comments following your honeymoon at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of the staff at Reception and Rim Saai restaurant. These comments have been shared with them and are greatly appreciated.

Please accept my apologies for the inconsistent service at On the Rocks, Eric our new food and beverage director is confident he can improve the level of service in this area in the coming weeks.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Check in process was smooth although we did ask to move rooms because the Premium Deluxe Ocean facing room had a huge palm tree in the way. The second room we had was great although a bit stuck out the back of the resort and the lighting in the actual block itself was very poor. Ideally you want somewhere in the centre of the resort but the room type itself was great, very large, great shower / bathroom and lots of wardrobe space etc.

The hotel itself is in a bay with nothing else situated close by. The nearest location to the hotel is Ao Nang and you can get to it via the Monkey trail, beach (presuming the tide is well out) or the hotel shuttle boat.

Monkey Trail: My wife and I were travelling with our 2 year old son so this wasn’t really ideal. I had him on my shoulders but the walkway is very steep and the steps and handrail are quite unstable / missing in some places. We only did it once but I think if it were just my wife and I we would have used it a bit more. It is lit at night but not having used it at this time I’m not sure to what degree – having done it in the daytime I not sure I’d use it at night.
The trail itself is about 10 minutes or so but this takes you to the far end of Ao Nang so I reckon another 10 -15 minutes to get into the main area.

Beach Walk: We didn’t do this as it didn’t work out timing wise but a few people we spoke to did. The current is really strong at times so unless you are happy get a bit wet it might not be the best option.

Shuttle Boat: You get a timetable from the library area and can book your times for leaving and coming back. The boat takes you to a dock at the other end of Ao Nang – about 3.5km from the main area. A taxi is about 200 baht or so and we didn’t ever have to wait for one. We had a few fairly hairy boat rides when the sea was rough but it is very safe and good fun. The walkway off the boat to the hotel is quite interesting and again was a bit interesting when the sea was rough. The hotel staff carried our son a couple of times when it was really bad.

Food in the hotel is good. Breakfast is amazing and there is a great selection of food and you can also ask for Espressos etc. if that is your thing. The pianist in the restaurant is fantastic and when we went to the restaurant one evening when it was quiet took request and also played nursery rhymes for my son. Very friendly man. There are a lot of lunch and dinner options but the food is quite expensive if you compare it with Ao Nang but then it is bound to be in a hotel.

We had very mixed service. The service at On the Rocks for lunch and dinner was variable but more often than not it wasn’t great. Incorrect orders and a pretty surly service from a number of the staff there. Mixed at Rim Saai as well. One evening in particular we had terrible service, long wait, incorrect orders through and little in the way of apology. A visit a couple of days later was a lot better. The food, when it arrived, in all restaurants was very good. The Surf and Turf buffet was bought into the Lotus Court restaurant because of the weather but was fantastic – well worth it.
The staff overall were good although we stayed at the Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa for a couple of nights beforehand and I found the staff there a lot more friendly and attentive.

Look out for the baht promotion if running. I can’t remember the exact offer but if you pre-spend X baht the hotel gives you some extra baht – well worth it given the prices but we didn’t find out about this until the end of the holiday.

The pool and beach were amazing. Some amazing sunsets and I wish I was still there….

The monkeys who live in the area are good fun. They are very brave and we did feed them a couple of times from our room and that isn’t a great idea as it attracts loads more of them! They got into the room next to us and trashed the minibar, they are very clever.

Although the place is well suited to children travelling to and from Ao Nang can be a hassle. Saying that I would do it again and the hotel and the location were great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSDUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear PSDUk

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us in October.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and you were pleased with the view of the second room.

The chef was pleased you enjoyed the great breakfast buffet selection and that Roberto our pianist helped entertain your child.

Please accept my apologies for the inconsistent service and On the Rocks restaurant, we are constantly looking and working with the team there to improve our service delivery.

Once again thank your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I loved this resort!!! I stayed here for three nights with my sisters in a premier Deluxe ocean view room!
Arriving at the resort is an experience in itself... There are no roads so you arrive via the hotels speed boat to the private jetty. I had read reviews about this and was pleasantly surprised! It's more of a floating pontoon than a jetty and a bit of fun walking down it! I can see it would be a bit difficult if the sea was rough, but it really wasn't an issue!
We were greeted on the jetty and escorted to the check in area where we were given cool drinks to sip while we waited for our key! We were then escorted in a golf buggy up to our room! WOW!!! The room was amazing! They do warn to keep the balcony door shut because of the monkeys but we didn't see any near our room!
We ate at all the restaurants and the food was amazing, but we thought the menus could have been a bit more extensive!
The pool area appeared small but was actually perfect and very relaxing!
To get to the village of Ao nang you can get the complementary speed boat to the main pier and then a tuk tuk for about $4 or take the monkey trail!!! We did both! The monkey trail is steep but definitely doable. I am by no means super fit and did it fine... If a bit hot and bothered. But the reward is the cute little baby monkeys playing in the river and jumping into the water from the trees!
Ao Nang was a great little town! Much nicer than Patong and still lots of shopping and places to eat! The beach is beautiful!
Overall we had an amazing time! The resort was amazing and the staff wonderful! The only downside was the lack of internet in the public areas and it was also a little slow, but we were on holidays and keeping track of Facebook was not my priority!
I highly recommend this resort!
My favourite part was when we were picked up from the jetty for a trip to Phi Phi Island and everyone who was already on the boat from other hotels were so impressed and jealous of our hotel!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank OZLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear OZLJ

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you and your sisters enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

Many of the island tours pick up our guests directly from our jetty and we often hear such comments as yours from other guests on the boat as many tourists are not aware of our resort because we situated in our own private bay, which cannot be seen from the local village.

Your comments about the internet have been noted and we are currently in the process of laying new fibre optic cables within the resort so we can improve and expand our current internet service.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place to stay, if you want privacy and luxury in a fantastic part of Thailand look no further. The staff are very helpful with trips to neighbouring Ao Nang and to the wonderful islands. Look out for the monkeys in the morning they are either on your balcony or playing on the north side of beach. There are three options into Ao Nang the courtesy boat (free but requires some sort of transport tuk tuk etc to get into the centre of town), Longboat (100TBH) to Ao Nang beach or walk the Monkey Trail (20 minute steepish hike). All three options have there advantages and disadvantages.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Paul M

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of our discovery desk and guest services staff.

The wildlife around and within the resort is truly unique and I am please this added to your overall experience.

Once again thank your for your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
135 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

we booked for 3 days with fullboard and 2 rooms. we payed 3500 USD and we dont know for what! we arrived in this beautiful place by boat. you cant get with car there. we booked ocean deluxe spa room and one garden room. both rooms had the same size, except the ocean spa deluxe had a dirty and almost broken jacuzzi on the terrace. no lights in the staurcase. the hole resort is very dark when you walk to rooms. my shampoo were never filled up! people at pool bar are very very grumpy, no english, slow. they understand what you say but coca cola and pizza i think you dont have to speak english. the thai restaurant we ate was super slow. took us 2 hrs to order and finally eat. people race with the buggys there arround and its not very clean and modern. the pool guy was polite and eric at the food and beverage did whatever he could. we had full bored and they charged us for christmas eve dinner full price for walk in guest!
All in all: the video on the webside is amazing. but dont expect anything. the nature arround and pool is fantastic. but the service is ugly and missarable. for 3500 USD and 3 nights we could have stayed at the ritz carlton krabi. never again. organization and service very poor! PLUS THE CRAZIEST thing: we booked a return to airport. the boat brought us to ao nang pier. and there the hotel stuff said we havent book a van with them so we had to find our own a car. how can the hotel arrange a boat from middle to nowhere and than leave us there without arranging a car to airport? by walking? thats what i say, maybe 4 star and thatd it! dont expect service!!!! i travel a lot and i know what i am talking about. without expecting too much

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtraveller1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Worldtraveller1900

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was disappointing to read we did not meet you expectations on this occasion as there have been so many positive reviews during the same period.

I can see from your profile that you have traveled extensively both on business and pleasure and see that you usually stay at such hotels as the Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental, St Regis etc and now understand why we did not meet your expectations.

Unfortunately without more details of your booking I cannot explain or comment further on your transfers to the airport. However if you provided us with an email address on check-in you would have received an email from me asking for your feedback following your stay, which I would be more than happy to investigate further.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we will continue to work hard so that we can try and meet the expectations of all our guests.

Yours sincerely, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Overall a nice resort for the family. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are big and the hotel has arranged for us to have two adjoining rooms (linked via balcony) for a family of five. Very comfortable stay.

We love the ocean view from our rooms and the kids went canoeing, swimming, etc..so overall a relaxing trip.

Breakfast is good and have lots to eat and we had dinner near the pool - nice pizza.

We did try the monkey trail to get to Ao Nang town. Interesting walk and suitable for the young ones. My mother in law is 74 and found the walk a bit challenging though.

Remembered to book the speed boat in advance to get in and out of hotel to the pier. Else need to do the monkey trail or book the long tail from Ao Nang town to get back to hotel at THB150 per person.

If you have younger kids on stroller or older folks, please ask for rooms towards the lobby else will be a long walk and climb to the rooms. But good exercise! :)

We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you have kids and old folks, pls ask for a room closer to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aileen8088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Aileen8088

Thank you for sharing your comments following you and your family’s recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and that the family enjoyed the many activties available at the resort. I was also happy to see that our interconnecting rooms worked well for your family.

Yes the monkey trail is not for everyone due to the steep steps and the shuttle boat is a better option.

Once again thank you for your kind recognition and support and we look forward to welcoming you back when next travel to Krabi.

Best regards David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
5.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge with one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing