We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“didn't want to leave :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“didn't want to leave :(”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks in the spa deluxe ocean facing room. Our first room had a broken shower and a view of a huge tree blocking our window, that teamed with large generators humming away from then next building made a very poor first impression. The hotel staff were great and made every effort to relocate us to our perfect room. After changing rooms however we couldnt have been happier, beautiful view, superb room. The room was really spacious and had a turn down service at night! Set within amazing grounds with an unspoilt view it really is a stunning location. The staff are great, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. we spent most of our days on the beach attached to the hotel which was really peaceful. A boat shuttle service is provided to get to to town but a tuk tuk is then needed to get into central ao nang. Alternatively there is a "monkey trail" which is good fun but tiring, take a torch if your walking at night. all in all a lovely place to stay didn't want the holiday to end

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,774
    972
    396
    184
    144
See reviews for
806
2,020
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Centara Krabi. It is true that the access is not easy (only by boat or a little path in the mountain called the "monkey way"), but this is precisely what makes the charm of the site. The hotel is part of the national park, located by the sea, with the forest and its monkeys in the background. You almost feel like being in the "jungle". It's a natural and quiet environment, with no ugly international bars and clubs around...

However, you don't get bored because there are many activities organized at the hotel and you can also go on excursions (for example visit James Bond Island or make an elephant trek). If you wanna go to town, walking the "monkey way" takes only 15-20 minutes (not recommended for old persons though).

Our room was great, with sea view, and located not too far from the main buildings (swimming pool and restaurants). We tried the 4 restaurants and the food was always excellent. Overall the service was very good and the staff friendly (apart one or two exceptions). One problem was the level of English of the staff that is sometimes quite low. We also tried the Spa that was amazing, with a "Heaven for Two" package. I highly recommend this hotel, however not for a stay longer than 1 week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I find it amazing that anyone can find anything negative to say about this place other than they had to leave?
The people we came across were welcoming and friendly whether it was in the hotel or town. The monkey walk was great, so long as you listened to the advise of not taking food or drink out with you.
Id not bother with any treatments in the spa as they were expensive and you can get better on the beach so long as you don't want the glitz.
Tuk tuks are a must and cheap.
Choose the month you go carefully - which really goes without saying - you pay for what you get. January was heaven :)

And don't forget to have coconut ice cream made at your table in the restaurant of the hotel - it really IS a must

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantrisant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Do not underestimate how bad the access to this hotel as it is will catch most people out. That aside the hotel is very good but in the evenings you have to make your own entertainment. This is not a rip off hotel so take advantage of the three happy hours and the special promotion on arrival (latest within 24 hours) as it can save you up to 50% on everything spend. when used in conjunction with happy hours this is 75% of the printed price, a great benefit. Hotel staff first class albeit Thai culture can be slow.

Room Tip: A room with a clear view is a bit of hit and miss. If I went again I would go for the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crutcher38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Really enjoyed this resort. I loved that there is no road access as it is surrounded by vertical cliffs which are home to the troop of monkeys. If you're a savvy traveller you soon learn how to proof yourself against dawn monkey foraging and then great video possible.
My room had everything I needed and then some - the choice of a front sun veranda with loungers and a side verandah with blinds, shade further lounger and table and chairs. I appreciated the tea and coffee facility in the room, but brought fresh milk each day as a request at breakfast, as I don't like the 'coffeemate'. Lovely spacious wet room and seperate dressing room with large closets and safe.
The walk from my room to the beach was moments and through beautifully kept grounds. The beach itself - divine at any time of day, with tons of trees for shelter at the edge of the shore. Idyllic lounging and reading. I enjoyed the floating pontoon walks when we took the longtail boats or hotel boats. One day we hired between eight of us a private yacht to go and explore some of the surrounding isalnds and had some fun snorkelling on some quiet beaches and bays.

The choice of restaurants in resort was great, with prices at all levels - from great, reasonably priced bar meals to more sophisticated restaurants. The breakfast spread was magnificent and the choice of seating areas - outside and in gave us something for everyone. The boat trip to the next bay of Ao Nang extended the choice of activities and we loved the hilltop restaurant one evening and the day at Ao Nang cookery school

We used the hotel water activity resources free - the 'trydive', the kayaks and I nearly made it onto the sail boat. The pools were lovely, although repairs were underway on one of them.

Room Tip: lower down to be near the beach is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17Suki17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here on our honeymoon and had bad experience with staff offering rides to main centre. About 30 min drive to main city. There is a bus that comes every hour but gets booked out quickly so you need to book in the morning, staff tried to say i drank from mini bar but once I showed them empty bottles and receipt they eased off. We stayed in a pool villa and was raining 5 days straight so didn't get to use it. Clean rooms with great bar and breakfast and excellent for couples that don't want to be in the hustle bustle of everything

Room Tip: Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Phil T

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent in November 2012 at our resort.

Yes the resorts location is the most talked about feature of our property and unless guests research before they stay, they may be surprised that you can only access by scheduled boat service.

I am not clear about your comment or what you are referring too when you mention about the bus trips to the city as the resort is only accessible by boat and we don’t operate any buses to the city??

Once again thank your for your comments and feeback.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I booked and fully paid for Spa deluxe ocean facing room and when we arrived for the 1st night we had been given Spa deluxe garden view room - also we pre-booked pick up service from the airport and no one show up. We needed to call the hotel and waited another half an hour for them to pick us up from the airport and another hour at the pier for a boat (shuttle) - not a good start of our holiday :(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Stewy70

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

Please accept my apologies for the poor arrival experience, however without any more details it is difficult for me to investigate why this occurred.

Please feel free to contact me direct if I can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
5.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge with one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing