We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice stay with added monkeys”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Transfers to this hotel are by speedboat but they are very slick and an interesting start to the trip. We had 5 nights here at the end of February in an ocean facing room - quite a climb to get to but worth it for the views. Lovely bathroom, bed quite firm, and great sunloungers on the balcony. My only (and this is a small criticism) was the staff at the 'on the rocks' bar were very attentive to their palm pilot things that they didn't tend to notice when you sat at a table and the bar service is very slow when you did manage to place an order. The food however was very good. Take heed of the warnings in your room to lock the balcony doors, we didn't the first evening and had an early morning wake up call by a monkey opening the door and raiding our fruit bowl and ran straight out again (our fault i think they know the new guests). Wi-fi was a bit hit and miss and only available in a small area of the hotel. The walk across the monkey trail to Ao Nang is worth doing once - but do it in sensible shoes not flip flops like me as it was quite tricky and i had shakey legs by the time id finished descending. The free boat transfers to Ao Nang have to be booked in advance, but a simple system that works. You then need to get a tut-tut into the nightlife area which is another experience and fixed price. They have a system at this hotel of 'free money' which we used. Had a fantastic hot stone massage (not cheap but worth it). We ate in the Thai restaurant which was lovely. would recommend but not the smiliest Thais we came across on our 3 week holiday.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear jane t

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for the feedback about the On the Rocks staff, I will follow this up with their restaurant manager to make sure the staff are more alert.

In regards to the monkeys we have stickers on the doors and notices in the room for guest to latch or lock their doors and still people don’t believe us….I am pleased they did not cause you too much disruption.

I am also pleased you took advantage of out Baht Bonanza program which is a great way to save money when using the hotels restaurants, bar and spa services.

Once again thank your for your feedback and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,647)
There are newer reviews for Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,977 - 1,983 of 3,649 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went here as a couple in our 50's in January 2013 having been recommended by our local travel agent. We had already decided on Krabi but we were not keen on being in Ao Nang centre as we wanted a hotel where the grounds went directly onto the beach. Online seemed to show that the Centara would meet the requirement well. We also read all the reviews which showed a variety of experiences - from excellent to bad - which seems to be the norm. We ignore the over the top ones and the very bad ones as we suspect they tend to written by the various hotels and their competitors. So we will give accurate report on our experiences and you can make your own minds up!

We were at the resort for eleven nights on a room and breakfast basis. However before we arrived at the hotel we had contacted them directly and upgraded to 'club'. This meant that we had access to the Club lounge and its associated snacks and drinks. We found this to be an excellent choice and made full use of the cocktails, snacks, coffee, tea, cakes etc that make up the club package. It also meant that we had a club room with included Internet access across the resort. Overall we found this well worth the extra cost for us. We had a sea view room but without the balcony spa. These are on the top floors and as a result do not have a fully covered balcony - which you may wish to take into account if you go in the rainy season. Our room on the 1st floor was large and very well appointed with a huge bed, AC, loo, rain shower and bath, etc. The fully- covered balcony was a large L- shape with loungers ,sofas chairs and table and lots of space and good ceiling fans to waft a gentle cooling breeze. There is a lot of wood around which is showing it's age but all the rooms really need to bring them back up to perfection is some re-varnishing, a lick of paint on the walls and ceiling and some re-mastic-ing of the bathroom. Replacing the TV with a modern flat screen would also be worthwhile. The hotel say this is happening in 2013.
We had a stunning view and loved waking up to see it every day we were there. We also enjoyed the morning patrol by the monkeys. We only saw them once on most days around 8am. Just follow the hotel guidance and do not feed them and ensure your doors are locked when you are not on the balcony. We saw them causing some fun and mischief on one morning when someone had left the remains of a take-away outside their room. Hardly the fault of the monkeys! They were soon chased off by security.
We found the service to be excellent, particularly in the club lounge. We ate at the beach restaurant and the others as well as in Ao Nang, using the free speed boat followed by 40 baht pp tuk tuk ride combination which worked fine. We also did the monkey trail which is fully described in many other reviews. Just wear the right shoes and carry a torch if you want to do it a night and in the rain it would be challenge. It gets very hot if you do it in the daytime. We did not think the prices at the hotel were too bad but because we had access to the Club and its snacks and drinks, our meals, apart from breakfast, were reasonably light and therefore inexpensive.
The beach and sea aspects at the resort were breath-taking. See the various photos on the web. The pools and grounds generally were lovely and well maintained. No problem with sun loungers. Due to the way the resort is built on the side of the cliffs, the walk up to our room was a mini workout but did us no harm and you can get a lift in the club cars if needed but overall I would not recommend the resort for those with mobility problems.
We also did a brief elephant safari and the full day trip to Phi Phi island - both organised through the Tour East rep and well worth the cost. The boat for Phi Phi collects you from the hotel jetty which is great and earns envious looks and comments from the others on the trip that had extra journeys to catch the boat.
Overall, if we were going back to Krabi in the future we would look forward to staying at the Centara again. Hope you find this review useful and not too long.

Room Tip: Go for the club option with sea view and weigh-up whether you want to pay the extra for a spa room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Molly99London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Molly99London

Thank you for sharing your detailed comments following your recent stay at our resort.
It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and I am pleased you enjoye our Club experience.

Yes we acknowledge the rooms are in need of a refurbishment and we will commence this from the middle of May this year.

You are also correct to advise that our resort is not really suitable for guests with any mobility issues due to the many steps around the resort.

Thank you for following our advice about not feeding the monkeys, many guests insist on feeding them and then wonder why they try to break into their rooms looking for more food.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at Centara for 10 nights at the end of February and were a tiny bit apprehensive following the odd negative reveiw.Let me just say our fears were compelety unjustified.From the co ordination of the transfers to the standard of the facilities,room and food everything was top notch!
The staff at the reception were knowledgable and helpful and service was first class at the restaurants and bars.
A hello to Toy and the staff at On the Rocks- a credit to the hotel.
Hope to see you again sometime.

Room Tip: Would recommend upgrading to a seaview room
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 876anthonyd876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear 876anthonyd876

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of Khun Toy and the staff at On the Rocks.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I visited for 4 nights at the end of Feb with my partner. After reading previous reviews we were a little worried that we would be disappointed. Not so! we had a deluxe ocean facing spa villa - amazing spacious room with an equally amazing bathroom, and a hot tub on the balcony. There were several sets of steps to get up to the room, but there are golf buggies to take you if you are not able to walk - the view is definitely worth it! We were on the side of the Monkey Trail, but were not bothered too much -the monkeys are around in the morning but there are just a few. One did steal my bikini top from the terrace so be careful to keep doors closed when they are around. The Monkey Trail itself is fine during the day - lots of steps but only takes around 10 mins. You can also walk around to Ao Nang at low tide. We didnt use the shuttle boats except for transfers. The hotel is lovely and has a really nice pool. Also the beach is quiet and good for swimming. Breakfast was really good. The On The Rocks bar has lots of affordable food and drinks, and although the Japanese restaurant was expensive in comparison, the food was delicious! Overall we really had a fabulous end to our holiday here and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1046 and were really happy with it
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smallcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear smallcake

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments with fellow readers following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and yes the location and the views are truly spectacular.

We hear many stories about the monkeys and there are many interesting visuals we make from these stories. I was pleased the monkeys added to your great experience.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful trip and relaxing hotel after a few days in Bangkok , the speed boat in was a great way to start the holiday adventure , the hotel , rooms with spectacular views , staff especially yen were amazing the restaurant's , bars , were great aswell loved it total luxury take advantage of the baht bonanza & close your balcony door the monkeys are to clever . Would highly reccomend

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alderleyedge99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear alderleyedge 99

Thank you for sharing your positive comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team and for making special mention of Khun Yen.

We sincerely appreciate your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I appreciated the privacy of Centara having its own beach and security, this makes the resort very quiet and relaxing, no beach vendors pestering you to buy their wares. The facilities are very good, service was good and the rooms and room service excellent. A very nice beach and beach side pool with good service.
I think that potential visitors should be made aware that they do need to be in reasonable good health and physicaly able bodied as there are steep uphill walks to the rooms and the Monkey Trail foot path to get to town also has a steep uphill climb. I found the floating jetty amusing and easy to negotiate and getting in or out of the shuttle boat easy so visitors dont need to attempt the Monkey Trail. The main town is only a free 20 minute shuttle boat ride away so we went every evening.

Room Tip: Most rooms are on a steep hill side so if you find steep uphill walking difficult make sure you arra...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Donald V

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed the room, facilities and the service and the beach. Although the beach is not private, it does not get the crowds or the hawkers due to our limited access.

You are correct to say that our resort is not suitable for people with any mobility issues, although we have had many physically challenges guests stay with us that manage the steps and incline so they can take advantage of the breathtaking views.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

don't think will return again. you need to quadruple check everything from your reservation to pick up to the hotel shuttle to reservations and your invoices. I could name 100 things that has gone wrong. did not let the inefficiency ruin my vacation though. the venue is breathtaking and rooms are nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goingeuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear goingeuro

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

Please accept my apologies that you found the staff disorientated, however I am happy to see you still enjoyed the location and the room.

thank you for your feedback.

Regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,505 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $124 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge by one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing