We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, good facilities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 106 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, good facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights with my Wife on our Honeymoon at the end of August. We were lucky with the weather, as at this time of the year rain isn't uncommon.

The setting is great - a boat takes you through to the private pier that connects to the beach and hotel. We had a room set fairly far back with it's own jacuzzi and a fantastic view. The restuarants / bars on site were all of a good standard and had the usual selection of hotel food.

We really liked the area, Ao Nang is a beatuiful spot with some cool bars and restuarants. You can either walk over the monkey trail footpath (tip: if you have bags with snacks in make sure they're not visible, the monkeys will spot them and won't be afraid to try and pinch them, other than that, they'll leave you alone!), or you can get the boat from the pier. A favourite bit was getting on a tuk tuk back to Nopparat Thara after a few Changs with the wind in your hair!

Other activities we did were a day trip to phi phi and kayaking, I also used the on site gym.

As this was our honey moon I wasn't as focussed on value for money, so I can't comment on the experience in terms of price. But the hotel was great I'd definitely go back to Ao Nang.

Pros: location / setting and facilities
Cons: Access in and out of the hotel can be difficult

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Chris S

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent honeymoon at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and the monkeys did not cause you any concern.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,699
    943
    379
    179
    140
See reviews for
764
1,950
52
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wouldn't usually write a review but as it was r honeymoon I am,

Hotel was ok but many things didn't work in r room which isn't a problem but when asked to sort or move nothing happened and as we where there for 2 weeks was very annoying,

Management didn't seem to do anything apart from smile,

Only way in and out was buy boat that was frequently over booked which we where asked to get of when booking 3 days before, then found mr white who's supposedly in charge became angry when I accused him of lying to us not professional at all, wouldn't of been a problem again if he had got us a free drink or something from bar as last night and next boat was a hour which then had 5 more people on than the one we where asked to get of!

Apart from these things restaurants where good and staff were very friendly,

If u r disabled or not very mobile don't go here jettys very wobbly and unsafe and that's only way of boat,

Like I said normally wouldn't moan but was extremely annoyed as it was r honeymoon and think that the management should sort it out,

Room Tip: Is probably one of best hotels for looks etc but not ideal for access also pier to boat is dangerous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Chris D

Thank you for sharing your comments following your honeymoon back in October of last year.

It is always a pleasure to read comments about the staff and thank you for acknowledging their friendliness towards you an your partner.

Please accept my apologies for the experience you received from Khun White, I will certainly follow this up with him.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your honeymoon as much as you expected. I make a point of walking around the resort several times a day to make sure I am visible to all our guests and I am truly sorry if you did not think you could approach me to resolve any issues during your stay. This was certainly a missed opportunity for both of us.

Once again thank your feedback we will continue to try harder to meet the expectation of all our guests.

Yours sincerely, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We found most of the resort exterior in a shabby condition. Our room (1142) in serious need of refurbishment, fixtures, fittings and furniture were in serious need of updating. I mean what 5 star resort / hotel has an old tube TV these days. No ipod docking facility, had to pay for WiFi as well. On the positive side, the staff were wonderful, lovely comfy bed, good gym. Thai restaurant was good, but the Japanese restaurant is located poorly, access to the Thai restaurant is through the Japanese restaurant.. The resort is in a nice secluded location and the beach is lovely. Not for people with walking difficulties.

Room Tip: If you are not fit, you will require a room at ground level,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blacksteve_1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear blacksteve_1950

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It is such a pleasure to receive compliments about our staff and thank you for acknowledging their efforts and friendliness.

I am sorry the room did not meet your expectation and yes the TVs are being replaced with flat screen televisions in the next few months. For the benefit of our other readers, commencing this month if our guests register to participate in Centara’s loyalty program they will automatically get access to complimentary wifi in the resort.

Once again thank your for your feedback.

Yours sincerely, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

After three manic days in Bangkok the sight of the Centara as we arrived via speed boat was breath-taking. We spent ten wonderful days here and we loved every moment of it. Yes, you do have to think a little about getting out and about, but it’s not a big deal and long boats are laid on for excursions and trips outside of the normal running times. Money walk is great and we did not find it hard, maybe just the time of day and the heat should be taken into consideration. We came back along it at night and it was well lit and there were no monkeys around at that time to hinder us. On the Rocks beach and pool bar is a great place day and night for good value food. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so wonderful, especially Mo, (our safe cracker when we could not open it) and to Jan who went out his way to help us with a situation outside the Hotel’s control.
Wishing we were there now :(

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Ruth A

Thank you for your kind comments forum following your recent stay at our resort.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed your overall stay and you are correct to say that it does not take a lot to organize yourself getting in and out of the resort.

Thank you for the comments about our staff and for specifically mentioning Khun Mo at the front desk and Jan our food and beverage director. These comments have been shared with them and they are greatly appreciated.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed in this resort for 3 nights and we definitely had marvelous time. The resort sits in a sort of private beach next to Ao Nang where you can walk across small hill , called Monkey Trial, to Ao Nang in 15 mins. The resort is more for relaxing vacation, as it’s only accessible by shuttle boat with fixed timetable. The period we visited is high season for Krabi so the weather is very nice with blue sky and sea and the resort is pretty full everyday. 95% of guests are European, Russian, Australian, just a few Asians we ran into.

We stayed in high flr room in Spa Ocean Facing which has a Jacuzzi on balcony. The room is simply enormous incl. side balcony with daybed and coffee table, Jacuzzi with two sunbathing chairs, huge bed and bathroom (+huge bathtub). The room really exceeds our expectation as when we booked we couldn’t see many photos in their website.

F&B wise, we did visit all outlets but disappointed with food quality. Provided the brand of the resort and the price per dish, there is a big room to improve in this area.

Most of staff are very friendly and smile to you whenever we walk pass except golf buggy driver. Since the resort sets on high hill, walking to a room might be tired esp room at the back of the resort like us. We’re fine to walk in such nice weather but sometimes we were in hurry so we called for pick up, it took around 5-10 mins for the buggy to come and we could tell from the guy’s face that he is not really welcoming. This is even worse when we asked for a ride from lobby up to the room, they just pretend to walk away to do something else. We know it is kinda boring driving the buggy up and down but since the resort has this service and it supposed to be their jobs, they should accept it and act nicely like other staff.

Another unpleasant experience during our stay is that we asked for ice cube over 10 times during our 4 days of stay, we didn’t get any. We didn’t know what is wrong , we called and we asked in person and no one serving it. This is kinda frustrated when everything seems to be perfect but small request cannot be met.

Lastly, be choiceful when it comes to room type selection. Do request for high floor which generally give much better view of the ocean. Otherwise, you may have to sneak through trees to see the ocean view as the resort is really tropical with lots of trees.

Room Tip: Request for room in high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TONY_TravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear TONY TravelLover

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for highlighting your experience with our spa rooms, which are the most popular room types with our guests.

I am sorry the food quality did not meet with your expectations but we usually purchase the best quality products available.

Please accept my apologies for the experience you received from the bell staff I will follow this up with their manager to ensure we improve on this.

Once again thank your constructive feedback and we hope we may get the opportunity to welcome you back when you are next in Krabi.

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just perfect hotel for couples. Romantic holiday. Perfect location. Quiet and pacefull! Located on a private beach between two massive rocks. Room was spacious with private jacuzzi on the balcony. Private boat to take you to another side for walk in Ao Nang where u can do bit of shopping.

Would go back again definately! Perfect, perfect, perfect :-)))))))))))))))

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Ankosky

Thank you for sharing your kind comments following your recent stay at our resort.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found the resort so romantic and peaceful.

We sincerely appreciate your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
146 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed 5 days at this resort. The location is spectacular and very secluded. The beach is clean and the water does not drop off suddenly. Our room was spacious and well equipped. F&B is very good. The only downside I can see is that getting away from the resort to Ao Nang town requires a short boat trip (reservation required). The alternatives are climbing the very steep monkey trail or wading around the headland at low tide. We shall be back.

Room Tip: If you are not on a tight budget I recommend booking a hotel car from Krabi airport to the jetty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AplusK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear AplusK

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay in particular the room and the food.

We appreciate your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
1.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing