We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

First of all the location of the resort is splendid. Amazing soft beach and yes its private as well. Everything about resort was top class, The food, people, service, the beach... every thing is just picture perfect... Loved the restaurants and the live music :-). They know how to set the mood. We also did the private dinner on the beach .. a one of a lifetime experience.. expensive but.. you have to do it once. I would like to mention the service which was top notch. The people were very friendly and helpfull 10/10 .. There are monkeys one of them got us out of the Jacuzzi.. But they are not dangerous. The rooms were clean and spacious and with a spectacular view.
I would definitely suggest this place for a honeymoon. I say go for it.

Room Tip: Spa deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gauravLanjekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear gauravLanjekar

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent honeymoon at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for acknowledging the food, the service and the efforts of all the team.

Im glad to read that the monkeys did not affect your stay as they can be some what intrusive on occasions.

Once again thank your for your kind support and recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi

best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,212 - 2,218 of 3,897 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you look hard enough you can always find a negative, with me, I try not too look to hard on holiday, i want others t0 do that thus the title of this review!

I travel a lot and with A list celebrities so I understand about "The best" but also "The stuck up its own ar%e rating" With this hotel you will get the first but not the second!

The location is simply breath taking, I challenge you to find anywhere in the world as secluded and beautiful, you will struggle.

The hotel has a beautiful atmosphere, David the general Manager started my holiday greeting me from the hotels private speed boat, it was like your mate welcoming you on holiday, this set the standard!

Food - amazing
Rooms - stunning
Staff - get on your nerves being so bloody happy!
Setting - breath taking
Service....

The only thing I got a little frustrated with was the service, it is a little disorganised, but as my wife pointed out, instead of wanting the hotel to fit to my high service standard maybe I should slip into the countries service standard, as soon as I did this everything fell into place!

I also have a10 year old who loved the place, they had a kids club but she never went as making friends the old fashion way worked so well, she didnt need anyone else to help.

Congratulations to this hotel for getting it so right!

Room Tip: go high! Low is nice but not sure you get the perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear thehonestfamily

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

I have to agree the location is simply stunning and does not matter how long we are here, we still really appreciate the view.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi

Kind regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

we have just had our first trip to Thailand and we stayed at the Centara we were the for christmas and New Year and it was fabulous. The staff were great the food was great the rooms were clean and spaceus and the monkeys just toped it off. we will definately stay at this resort again. Thank you Centara for a fabulous stay

Room Tip: all rooms are ocean faceing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Brenda J

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your Christmas and New Year with us along with the fine food and great staff. Thank you also for acknowledging the efforts of all the team.

Once again thank your for your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Such a shame.....

The location and staff are fantastic. The food is top quality and well presented. Plenty of sunbeds, lots of room. The monkey trail to Ao Nang is fun and very well worth it to be greeted by monkeys when you arrive. Ao Nang is lively and good fun - but you can't get there by walking along the beach as the tide doesn't go out far enough

Prices at the hotel are extortionate - all plus 10% service and 7% VAT as well

The whole resort needs some money spent on both maintenance and a refurbishment programme. It is showing signs of heavy "traffic" and inadequate spend on maintanance of the rooms and gardens

We went to the resort after Christmas and were really looking forward to the Gala New Years Eve dinner - what a dreadful let down

I'm trying to be fair, but here are some of the things that were wrong, wrong, wrong...

Start time much too early at 6:30 pm
No dress code so some in beach shorts etc
Welcome drinks not ready at arrival time
The worst band in the world, called ironically The Good Time Band
The Thai compere was even worse
No dance floor - just one couple tried to dance; but have you ever been to a NYE party with no dancing?
Kids allowed to sing with the Band. Not what I paid £130 each on top of £275 for the room to hear
2 prize draws with prizesbeing a night in another Grand Centara hotel somewhere else in SE Asia; totally worthless to a mostly European guest audience. Who is going to spend £2k flying to SE Asia for a free night ??

After we had gone back to our room to pack at 10:30pm (which was sad) we returned at 11:30.

As 12 o'clock approached it was clear that the hotel was not providing a sparkling wine let alone champagne at midnight.

I guess the final irony / disappointment was that AFTER 12 midnight the band played just one more song which was The Final Countdown !!!! After 12 o'clock; not just before......

We then went into the downstairs bar to find the lovely 3 piece, normally acoustic band, playing an electric set which was fun, even though they were having huge tech problems. Shame so many people had gone to bed by then

What a disappointment - the evening was a sad end to a lovely 2 week stay in Thailand and was really poor quality, and poor value

Room Tip: Sea view is a must - but they need to cut some trees down as it is obscured. Monkeys come into rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnHRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear JohnHRugby

Thank you for sharing your comments on this forum following your recent stay at our resort.

We read your early report during your stay and waited to see your final reply and now we are obviously disappointed to read that our New Year event has left such a last impression on you.

We also had our own internal feedback which we will share along with your comments to the entertainment company that was used on that night so we can make sure any future events will be better received.

Once again thank your for your feedback and trust we may get an opportunity to welcome you back when you are next in Krabi or one of our other Centara hotels throughout Asia.

Kind regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent there 10 days before Christmas. The location reachable only by the hotel boat or by Monkey trail is excelent,because nobody bothers you at the beach and you can relax at this beutiful and peaceful place. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The food was nice,only sushi was not tasteful. Definitely we will come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Jana V

Thank you for sharing your positive comments with other viewers of this site.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the location, your stay and thank you for acknowledging the staff efforts.

Once again thank we appreciate your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi

Best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I loved this hotel from the moment we entered the gates to it unfortunately there was no boat so we had to walk to the hotel on the good side it was a low tide so we reached there faster. When we entered we were served warm towels and refreshing drinks I was amazed by the beauty of the hotel the rooms were comfortable and the view is amazing the only negative thing was that I forgot some cashew nuts and almonds outside in the balcony when I went inside the room, so for at least 2 hours there were monkeyed everywhere in the balancing wanting more food. I loved this place the pool was amazing especially the cave under the pool. Would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Never leave food in the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faisal Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Faisal Y

Thank you for sharing your kind comments following your recent stay at our resort.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and your are right, you cannot afford to leave any food on the balcony, monkeys seem to be able to smell it a mile away!

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi

Kind regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The only positives I will mention are:
1) Beautiful beach location and view
2) We were not happy with our villa and they did allow us to move 3 times, so do ask!
3) Nice spa treatments, although I was overcharged and my therapist finished 30mins too early!
4) Only the Thai food is good and yes, we tried all the restaurants
5) Part of the beach is private and the resort is quite cut off from the rest of Krabi, which is definitely a good thing!

Negatives:
1)They charge you for everything and too much in our opinion
2) Staff came across as very complacent and at times even arrogant/ dismissive, but then so many people were complaining I don't really blame them (however the guys who drive you around in golf carts were very sweet!)
3) Very 'resorty!", if you don't love the resort experience don't go here! Too many people and totally impersonal, but then we prefer boutique hotels
4) Breakfast experience felt like a canteen and poor quality food and service
5) Almost no vegetarian options, unacceptable for a five star resort!
6) Everything looks a bit old and worn, needs a makeover
7) Beware the monkeys, although there were very cute they steal things from your mini bar if you leave anything open and the hotel will charge you for it!
8) Definitely NOT five star, I've been to five star hotels all over the world and this aint one of them!
9) Don't go over New Year, they charge you a compulsory and extortionate amount of money, food options were limited and of poor quality and entertainment was mediocre

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank omamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear omamana

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectation in some ways, but as you have stated you prefer staying at boutique so I can understand why a 192 room resort may not be what you are use too in terms of ambience and clientele.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and will try our best to improve on some areas you have mentioned.

Kind regards
David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,648 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,519 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,377 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $183 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge by one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing