We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ultimately a disappointment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 106 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby
Level Contributor
223 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ultimately a disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Such a shame.....

The location and staff are fantastic. The food is top quality and well presented. Plenty of sunbeds, lots of room. The monkey trail to Ao Nang is fun and very well worth it to be greeted by monkeys when you arrive. Ao Nang is lively and good fun - but you can't get there by walking along the beach as the tide doesn't go out far enough

Prices at the hotel are extortionate - all plus 10% service and 7% VAT as well

The whole resort needs some money spent on both maintenance and a refurbishment programme. It is showing signs of heavy "traffic" and inadequate spend on maintanance of the rooms and gardens

We went to the resort after Christmas and were really looking forward to the Gala New Years Eve dinner - what a dreadful let down

I'm trying to be fair, but here are some of the things that were wrong, wrong, wrong...

Start time much too early at 6:30 pm
No dress code so some in beach shorts etc
Welcome drinks not ready at arrival time
The worst band in the world, called ironically The Good Time Band
The Thai compere was even worse
No dance floor - just one couple tried to dance; but have you ever been to a NYE party with no dancing?
Kids allowed to sing with the Band. Not what I paid £130 each on top of £275 for the room to hear
2 prize draws with prizesbeing a night in another Grand Centara hotel somewhere else in SE Asia; totally worthless to a mostly European guest audience. Who is going to spend £2k flying to SE Asia for a free night ??

After we had gone back to our room to pack at 10:30pm (which was sad) we returned at 11:30.

As 12 o'clock approached it was clear that the hotel was not providing a sparkling wine let alone champagne at midnight.

I guess the final irony / disappointment was that AFTER 12 midnight the band played just one more song which was The Final Countdown !!!! After 12 o'clock; not just before......

We then went into the downstairs bar to find the lovely 3 piece, normally acoustic band, playing an electric set which was fun, even though they were having huge tech problems. Shame so many people had gone to bed by then

What a disappointment - the evening was a sad end to a lovely 2 week stay in Thailand and was really poor quality, and poor value

Room Tip: Sea view is a must - but they need to cut some trees down as it is obscured. Monkeys come into rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnHRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear JohnHRugby

Thank you for sharing your comments on this forum following your recent stay at our resort.

We read your early report during your stay and waited to see your final reply and now we are obviously disappointed to read that our New Year event has left such a last impression on you.

We also had our own internal feedback which we will share along with your comments to the entertainment company that was used on that night so we can make sure any future events will be better received.

Once again thank your for your feedback and trust we may get an opportunity to welcome you back when you are next in Krabi or one of our other Centara hotels throughout Asia.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,699
    943
    379
    179
    140
See reviews for
764
1,950
52
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent there 10 days before Christmas. The location reachable only by the hotel boat or by Monkey trail is excelent,because nobody bothers you at the beach and you can relax at this beutiful and peaceful place. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The food was nice,only sushi was not tasteful. Definitely we will come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Jana V

Thank you for sharing your positive comments with other viewers of this site.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed the location, your stay and thank you for acknowledging the staff efforts.

Once again thank we appreciate your kind support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi

Best regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I loved this hotel from the moment we entered the gates to it unfortunately there was no boat so we had to walk to the hotel on the good side it was a low tide so we reached there faster. When we entered we were served warm towels and refreshing drinks I was amazed by the beauty of the hotel the rooms were comfortable and the view is amazing the only negative thing was that I forgot some cashew nuts and almonds outside in the balcony when I went inside the room, so for at least 2 hours there were monkeyed everywhere in the balancing wanting more food. I loved this place the pool was amazing especially the cave under the pool. Would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Never leave food in the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faisal Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Faisal Y

Thank you for sharing your kind comments following your recent stay at our resort.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and your are right, you cannot afford to leave any food on the balcony, monkeys seem to be able to smell it a mile away!

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The only positives I will mention are:
1) Beautiful beach location and view
2) We were not happy with our villa and they did allow us to move 3 times, so do ask!
3) Nice spa treatments, although I was overcharged and my therapist finished 30mins too early!
4) Only the Thai food is good and yes, we tried all the restaurants
5) Part of the beach is private and the resort is quite cut off from the rest of Krabi, which is definitely a good thing!

Negatives:
1)They charge you for everything and too much in our opinion
2) Staff came across as very complacent and at times even arrogant/ dismissive, but then so many people were complaining I don't really blame them (however the guys who drive you around in golf carts were very sweet!)
3) Very 'resorty!", if you don't love the resort experience don't go here! Too many people and totally impersonal, but then we prefer boutique hotels
4) Breakfast experience felt like a canteen and poor quality food and service
5) Almost no vegetarian options, unacceptable for a five star resort!
6) Everything looks a bit old and worn, needs a makeover
7) Beware the monkeys, although there were very cute they steal things from your mini bar if you leave anything open and the hotel will charge you for it!
8) Definitely NOT five star, I've been to five star hotels all over the world and this aint one of them!
9) Don't go over New Year, they charge you a compulsory and extortionate amount of money, food options were limited and of poor quality and entertainment was mediocre

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank omamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear omamana

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectation in some ways, but as you have stated you prefer staying at boutique so I can understand why a 192 room resort may not be what you are use too in terms of ambience and clientele.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and will try our best to improve on some areas you have mentioned.

Kind regards
David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

from the moment you get of the boat on arrival you no you are somewhere very special visited in December with my two sons and our friends and would relay like to still be there staff were so friendly by the end of our first week were made to feel like family a huge thank you to oh our waiter all though i would really call him a friend, breakfast is fantastic and managed to make it every morning if you want to be away from the crowds this is the place for you . there are a few bad points well gripes really because you are a little isolated the hotel is pricey for food and drink a beer is 160 baht where as in town you can get it for half this price and the food is expensive to i would say more than twice the price than any where else we ate it just needs to be sorted out perhaps the hotel owners should take a look at the empty restaurants and bars sort this out and you would not beet this place .you do need to be quite agile and a modicum of fitness is essential monkey trail is a little hairy but the views from the top are worth it and you get to meet lots of monkeys ,the boat peer is great fun and really a lot easier than it looks it just adds to the fun ,hootel could do with a lot more shuttle boats only seem to go every 1 to 2 hours and make sure you book or you wont get on just a few minor tweeks to this place and will be awesome

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuonefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Perfect from arrival to departure. Could not fault room or hotel. Will definitely be back!! Food was great And not super expensive. Hot rock massage out of this world. Could not recommend hotel enough.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataliebettini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Nataliebettini

Thank you for kind words following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay especially the hot rock massage.

Once again thank your for your wonderful recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Amazing location ,only accessible by boat most of the time which is rather special ! at low tide you can walk around the headland to Ao Nang which takes about 10 mins or the Monkey Trail which also is 10 to 15 mins . The monkey trail is steep with narrow wooden slats and care is needed if used but remember this is a National Park area and is unspoilt so you would not expect anything else .
Hotel is isolated(which is great as the beach is quiet ) but very easy to still get into town or other locations by using the hotel free speedboat ( which needs to be pre booked ) or the hotel longboat which carries a small fee ,
The Hotel has various restaurants to use On the Rocks directly on the beach offers Lunch and dinner at reasonable prices the other 3 restaurants offer high end evening dining only at a cost but I must say the food was amazing and worth it .
We ate in Ao Nang on various occasions although good not to the same class as the hotel food .
Breakfast selection was excellent something different daily and if your lucky you will get to meet the resident water monitors who feed every morning next to the restaurant decking .

Staff at the hotel were all extremely pleasant and helpful ,rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard .Upgrade to a sea view ocean spa room if you can as this ensures a good sea view with a hot tub on your balcony and the sunsets are brilliant .
Watch out for the Monkeys !!!! they can be a pest if you leave food out or your room doors opened or unlocked we never had an issue with them .

Travel to the other Islands and beaches if you can .Pick up a longboat from Ao Nang from 100 Bahts to Railay Beach or Phranang which are both amazing and just around the corner and they will drop you back to the hotel pontoon .

The Hotel pontoon on arrival is fine not as bad as I thought it would be from previous reports I had read yes it does move but its wide and once you get use to it its easy to walk on .

Overall we had a great time the hotel location is amazing the views breathtaking and although the hotel needs a little TLC in some areas it is still worthy of its 5 *rating and would not hesitate in recommending to anyone else

Room Tip: Go for a high floor but not at the top of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cupcake5Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear cupcake5Cornwall

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay, the location and the staff took good care of you.

We acknowledge additional work is required in some areas and we are working on this.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
1.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing