We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have just returned from our honeymoon. A stunning location and room, excellent breakfast choice, great cocktails and great staff. The sunsets were wonderful and the setting so romantic.
The monkey trail is not for the faint hearted and you will need a torch at night and comfortable shoes; also the monkeys will try to pinch your bag if it is too colourful of you are waving it about (during the day)!
I was disappointed as I thought the speed boat went to Ao Nang, but apparently not in the low season. The jetty can be a bit difficult to traverse when the sea is a bit choppy.
Our room was regularly cleaned, but was a bit shabby round the edges (I think they were doing up some of the rooms on a rotating basis) with some stains on the couches etc. We had a leaky loo which took a few hours to be attended to and we had to put down all our towels, also our door lock jammed and needed repairing.
All in all a wonderful place!

Room Tip: Rooms to the right side of the resort (facing the beach) are more prone to visits from inquisitive m...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Lynndia

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent honeymoon at our resort.

We were pleased to read we met you expectations in terms of the room, the food and the service, however please accept my apologies if the room cleanliness did not.

In regards to your comment re the shuttle boat, the complimentary shuttle boat has always been to the Nopparat pier and not to Ao Nang, this has been the situation since the resort was opened and does not change throughout the year. This information is listed on our website so I am not sure where this information came from.

Once again many thanks for choosing to stay with and we hope we can welcome you back when you are next in Krabi

Kind regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,655)
There are newer reviews for Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,090 - 2,096 of 3,655 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

At first when I knew that there is access to this stunning place in Krabi by boat only. I was really upset, as I thought that we will cut away from civilisation. How wrong I was!!
I would like to say that there is another way of accessing this lovely and secluded place through a 'monkey trail' that goes up a little hill that would take an able-bodied person about 10-15 minutes to walk (up and down the stairs).
It was a delight meeting the 'neighbours - the monkeys :))'. The experience would be greatly appreciated by children and adults alike.
The views from the hotel are simply stunning. The service was optimum. The rooms are beautifully arranged and we had the pleasure of having a jacuzzi in the balcony.
As we were honeymooner we had the lovely cake, a bath tub filled with rose petals and complimentary dinner in one of the many great places to eat in this peaceful place.
Breakfast was for a King, in both presentation, quality and freshness.
Highly recommended for all. Well worth everything.

Room Tip: Book room with jacuzzi on the balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karatone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Karatone

Thank you for sharing your comments on this forum following your recent honeymoon at our resort.

We were all pleased to read you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and the additional amenities we provided to help you celebrate.

Yes we have to agree with you the location is amazing and the views are something really special. The monkeys are kind of special in a way and I am glad to see they provided some amusement for you.

Once again thank you for the recognition and choosing to spend your honeymoon with us and we hope we can welcome you back when you are next in Krabi, possibly on your 1st anniversary.

Warm regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have just arrived home after the most stunning honeymoon possible! Everything from start to finish was amazing. Firstly the setting this resort of the resort is jaw dropping, coming in via speed boat and seeing the resort was like a movie scene, to then be greeted by a welcome party of hotel staff which was lovely and a great first impression of the fantastic customer service we were about to receive! And it didn't disappoint, everybody from the boat transfer guys (White, who is a great guy) to the house keeping who were lovely and friendly. Also we didn't get to say thank you to Apichart at the discovery desk who was one of the most helpful nicest people you could wish to meet (please pass this on for us tell him we are the nosey parker couple) he is a credit to your resort! Also the pool staff were really cool and always had time for a chat - lovely people! Then there was the food - Delicious does not come close to describing it, Rim Saai was unreal and also the staff service was second to none, loved it! On the rocks was stunning and had the most beautiful sunset to enjoy food and drinks around once again the staff here were great and very attentive. Also the breakfast buffet was awesome, the pancakes were outstanding and once again the staff were great here.

Also we were treated to some great massages at the spa, the staff were great and the massages were superb too. The ocean facing spa deluxe room we stayed in was superb, stunning, stunning views and the visits from the monkeys were very funny and really added to the experience. Also you have to do the monkey trail - It is hilarious, really good fun - Although a bit rickety but that is not the hotels fault as it is a conservation area. Also the jetty is a great source of entertainment. Only gripe we had is the blue bar needs more advertising, as it is such a lovely bar but never really has anyone in there.

We both loved our 2 weeks here and would not think twice about returning, a great 5 star resort in every sense of the word, thank you all so much!!

Room Tip: Ocean facing spa deluxe...... all the way!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Ian D

Thank you for sharing your comments on this forum following your recent honeymoon at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for specifically mentioning Khun White on the boat and Khun Chart at our Discovery desk in the library. These comments have been passed onto them and they are greatly appreciated.

We appreciate your support and recognition and hope to welcome you back when you are next in Krabi, perhapsyour first wedding anniversary!

Best regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We decided to spend a night at the Centara Grand before flying back to BKK after our stay in Ko Lanta as the trip between Lanta and Krabi Airport is quite time-consuming and tiring. Took us about 3hrs via private transfer, which needs to board 2 car ferries. It's actually the queue time that kills, ferry ride is short.

The Centara Grand had an isolated location, though in the Ao Nang area, it can only be reached via shuttle boat or via the monkey trail. We took the hotel shuttle boat from Nopparathara Pier and it's only a short 10-15min boat ride. Approaching Centara, you can see that it's caved in it's own bay with a private beach and looked really good as we approached.

We stayed in a Spa Deluxe ocean facing room and had an absolutely gorgeous view. The outdoor spa jacuzzi tub facing the ocean is worth every extra. The shower water strength and temperatures were spot-on and the large king size bed was very comfortable. Swimming pool was nice with a cheeky cave section behind the waterfall.

We did order Tom Kha Gai and Phad Med MaMuang through room service and it was good. Dinner at Hagi Japanese restaurant was even better but be prepared to spend a fair bit. We had teppanyaki and sushi. Being a japanese, I was surprised as it tasted better than I expected. Deep Blu bar had a lovely entrance and aquarium. Overall we can only say, we will be back at the Centara Grand again in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JnY82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear JnY82

Thank you for sharing your comments on this forum following your recent stay at our resort.

I just spend the weekend myself at Koh Lanta so I fully appreciate the traveling time. Our resort does have a unique location which is what makes it so special and as you have commented the views are beautiful.

The chef was also very appreciative of your comments on the Japanese food as Hagi is our signature restaurant.

Once again we would like to thank your for your comments, support and recognition and we hope we may get to see you return when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at centara for 3 nights at the end of our honeymoon. As we arrived on the private boat our mouths dropped, this place is beautiful and could not have asked for a better end to a 3 week honeymoon in both Malaysia and Thailand. Relaxing, outstanding views, daily visitors (monkeys) on our balcony.
Breakfast had a huge variety to suit everybody.
Free 1hr kayaking and catamaran hire, endless day beds at both pool and ocean front.
I would highly reccomeneded this resort for anybody wanting to take time out and relax, we have both returned to Australia with very fond memories and will definatley be returning and bringing family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicholaandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear NicholaandMark

Thank you for sharing your comments on this forum following your recent honeymoon at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed the breakfast, the visits by the monkeys and your overall stay.

We look forward to you returning with your family and friends and once again thank your for your support and recognition.

Kind regards David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

First time in thailand so not much to compare to. The staff was very helpful, the good was great!!! My wife , i, and our three daughters enjoyed a lot! We shall probably come again.
Diving in the area was medium.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moshe Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Drmosheyehuda

Thank you for sharing your comments on this forum following your recent stay at our resort.

It was a pleasure to read you and your family enjoyed their first visit to Thailand.

Once again thank your for your support and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi

Kind regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Upon apprival at Krabi Airport, we took at taxi for 4 pax at 600baht and this is much cheaper than the airport transfer options provided by Centara. The taxi stopped at a tour agency whereby we we booked an adventure day tour (Elepant trekking, Flying Fox, White water rafting, ATV). The Taxi then drove us to the pier where we waited for the shuttle speedboat to Centara. However we then realized booking the tour outside Centara was a mistake as accessibility is a major problem at Centara. Upon reaching Centara, we wanted to book the speedboat to get out of Centara for our day tour the next morning 8am. However, we were told that bookings are full for checkout customers and the only way is walk out via Monkey Trail.
Thus, after settling down with our luggages, we decided to try out the Monkey Trail first to familarise the route. It became an adventurous and memorable walk! Initial steps were quite steep and steps were made of wooden planks which would be terribly slippery during rainy weather.
We met some monkeys along the way and I even piggybacked one of them as it jumped onto me! I guess it was because I carried a slingbag and the monkey spotted it. Was freaked out for that split seconds but glad that it jumped off after a while and did not harm us. After this incident, walking back via the monkey trail wasnt an option as both me & other family member had not recovered from our shock. We had to book a longtail boat from an agent for 500baht when coming back from Ao Nang. When back at Centara, we tried pleading with service desk personnel to help arrange for a 8am boat for us the next day for our day tour. It was only then we know the Monkeys feeding time is from 7-8am! Very glad that they were helpful and managed to arrange for us finally! We even decided to book a day tour for the day after next so that we were sure of a boat booking out of Centara.

You need really to plan well and book the shuttle speedboat service in advanced to get out of the resort to Ao Nang and coming back. Scheduled Boats leave on time, so need to be there early to wait for the boat. Do book day tours with Centara so the pick up is right from the resort.

I did not regret staying at Centara as the beautiful setting more than made up for the inconvenience. Stayed in the Spa Deluxe Sea View room and wished I could have stayed longer. Room & facilities are fantastic. Love the beautiful landscape and breathetaking scenary! Plenty of sunbeds available to enjoy the sun, sand and sea. Went for Kayaking to enjoy the private beach on our last day. This is free for first 1 hour.

Food at Centara Thai Resturant was good but over-priced as compared to Ao Nang where you can enjoy food of the same quality or even better! International Buffet breakfast was good with a wide spread of food, and quality is good. You can feed the fishes in the pond while having breakfast when you sit at the outdoor setting.

This would be perfect for anyone who just likes to stay in the resort and relax, as there could not be a more beautiful and relaxing setting. Overall it was nice and pleasant stay which could have been improved with more boat services and flexibilty.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher grounds have good sea view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PS_124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCKBR, General Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear PS_124, Singapore

Thank you for sharing your comments on this forum following your recent stay at our resort.

Yes our location can be a challenge, but it is also our location that makes our resort so unique and why many guests choose us. Being located within a national park provides us with the opportunity to see wild life that includes the macaque monkeys and if you are lucky you will also see the gibbons who live in the caves above the resort.

In regards to your comment re prices, we do review our food and beverage prices regularly to ensure we are in line with our competitors that offer similar resort services. In addition to this and at various times throughout the year, we also offer our Baht Bonanza where guests get additional credit to use within the resort.

Once again we value your feedback and recognition and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Krabi.

Kind regards, David Martens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,508 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,394 reviews
1.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#20 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $126 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge by one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing