We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Staff, Location and Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Ranked #4 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff, Location and Hotel”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in early October 2011 for 7 nights.

The Hotel is a bit secluded, but that adds to the charm of being dislocated to "other" hotels. There are shuttle boats hourly and they can be booked with one phone call from your room, or there is a wooden and somewhat physically demanding "monkey Trail", which we used all the time.

The monkeys are an added feature, and instead of going on excursions to zoos and the monkey temple, we had first hand and a pleasant experience with monkeys on our balcony. where we fed and filed them, it was wonderful.

Cleanliness and housekeeping was great and the staff were fantastic, friendly and forthcoming. The animation and reception staff in particular were brilliant.


Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the lower placed rooms. access is easier
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,770
    969
    396
    184
    144
See reviews for
803
2,016
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

A big thanks for making our holidays the last seven days so extraordinary and comfortable. Everyone of the thai staff was so kind and nice, always having a smile for us. It was our third stay there. We enjoyed it really very much.
Although there is also a negative point: as guests, we think, it isn't too much to expect, that the general manager says 'Hello' to his guests while meeting in the resort. But this never happens. For us it seemed, he nearly ignored the guests, that he passed while his walks through the resort. There was no smile on his face, no 'Hello'. It should be, that he gives the staff a good example how to deal with guests. But in this resort, even the actual general manager should take an example for himself from the staff. This critical point will probably take place, when we have to decide the hotel/resort for our next stay in thailand. Even cause we stayed the third time there. Perhaps a thai management would know better, what guests can expect during their holidays in Thailand.
Finally, this negative fact can't denigrate the fantastic efforts of the thai staff during our stay at Centara Grand Beach Resorts & Villas Krabi.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sven4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

we stayed in this isolated resort for 4 nights beginning october 2011 and were very much disappointed and angry about the ignorant management of this thai chain hotel which we stayed for the first time. and definitely last time!
we stayed in a yacuzzi sea view room (#1205) which sea view first of all is blocked by big palm trees and second of all is near by a extremely noisy power generator which has been used for 2 days out of our 4 days stay.
We politely asked how long the power generator wil run, as night sleep and enyoment of balcony was extremly disturbed. Our call has been put through to the hotel manager (dont know the name) who assured us, that the generator will run only 24 hours. Another room was not granted as these rooms were all occupied. after 24 hours the generator still run, we didnt bothered to ask anymore... A simple letter by the management or a call would have been enough to explain the situation and discuss any appropriate compensation. But, no action has been taken by the management til departure.
We are very unhappy with the ignorant way of the hotel management dealing with their guests as described above.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prince T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

When we arrived we organised our own transfer and it was a bit of a pain working out how to get there because the resort really is in the middle of nowhere. We were dropped off by the cheap airport bus in Ao Nang and got a tuk-tuk to the pier which was in pitch darkness but another couple told us where to go. I would advise that you use the hotel transfer as at low tide the boats don't go and you could end up with a long wait.
On arrival we got off the boat and onto the floating pier which was great fun as the waves were quite big. Luckily they took our luggage for us! When we were checking in they gave us welcome drinks. Our room was spacious and clean with an outside living space. There was a huge bath and a brilliant rainshower in the bathroom.
The scenary was beautiful with a lovely pool and good (but v expensive) restaurants. A can of drink by the pool cost about £3 when you could buy one in the town for 30p!
The resort is surrounded by huge limestone cliffs and to get to the main town you had to either book a boat at high tide, walk at low tide (paddle above the knees!) or venture up the monkey trail which is definately not for the faint hearted but we used it most days. There were lots of monkeys (and baby monkeys!) up there and we spent hours watching them and had a can of drink nicked by one of them- so be careful of your camera!
It was definately the most beautiful resort we have stayed in and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelMeMore5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China SH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

before we go there i cannot believe why this 5 star resort always reviewed in such poor house keeping, but now, i have to say the house keeping was a very big problem in this resort.
the 1st day we checked in at noon and also enjoy their spectacular setting. but we're supprised by the room... the bathroom was wet everywhere, the door of the shower cannot closed since the doorknob was broken, and you can find hairs on the floor....except that, the room was very big and nice.
the 2nd day we spent whole daytime in pool & beach, but i'm so disappointed to find that no-housekeeping untill i called service center in pm 17:00.
i think the resort was very weak in their managment, you can enjoy their service in lobby, in breakfast, in pool.. but cannot be satified in housekeeping which i think should be a comment sence in each star resort.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The resort sits below a towering all-encompassing limestone mountain backdrop with a private beach in the foreground-dotted with palm trees, golden sand and warm seas. A "nail" island rising out of the sea a couple of hundred yards from shore ensures you will have your breath taken away by the beauty of it. I never got tired or bored of the views.

The only set back was the transport in. The remote location is great-but there is a potential price to be paid if the full moon tide & monsoon weather are factored into your arrival or departure! The only way in is by boat. The speedboat picked us up and as we got closer to the resort the journey became quite dangerous. The seas were kicking up quite badly, listing the boat on several occasions causing my girlfriend to grip my arm tightly-and another lady to go into what I can only describe as panicked shock. I tired to reassure- "dont worry the hotel staff & boat crew are all laughing-its when they stop you have to worry." Yeah,,,,,Several minutes later no one was laughing. We could see the notorious freefloating jetty (which I nicknamed the "dragons back" due to the scale-like appearance of the whiplashed surface) several hunderd yards away. As the speedboat captain tried to bring us in to the jetty severl things dawned on me. The jetty rides the waves of the bay-and I could see several hotel staff on it waiting for us to come off-it was pitching up & down in a wavelike motion some 15 to 20 ft! Also the waves had gotten worse due to the cove coast-line chanelling the waves into it. As we got closer I saw the panicked holiday maker opposite me looking up behind me, I turned to see a 20ft wave coming across-I was sent flying under the opposite seats without injury. My girlfriend was also thrwon but hit her knee on a metal stancheon on the boat causing a nasty bruise. The heavens opened and horizontal monsoon rains joined in. Seriously, I think we all had doubts we would make it out alive. Anyway, we maanged to get off, dry off & get our luggage. Several staff apologies and a free ala carte meal-and it all became a holiday story to tell. However, the reason I gave the hotel four rather than five stars in the review was due to this. They took a silly chance bringing us in. What if an elderly person-or a child were aboard? I saw the managers of the hotel but they never once mentioned the incident or apologised for their decision.
Anyway, the location, food and staff were all great and to save money during May to November use the "bank" facility: you give them 10000 bhatts-they add 5000. You give 20000, they give 30000. It helps with the costs and also the mandatory 10% service & 7% tax fees that begin to add up if finances are unchecked. In calm seas, the daily boat into Ao Nang town opens up other options and places to eat & drink.
The only other way into the resort is via the monkey trail-strewn with Bilobo monkeys! Great memories, great place and the best location I have ever stayed in period. Just watch that boat trip!!!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GazzaTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is a little outdated review as my husband and I were here for our Honeymoon in February 2011, but regardless, I cannot sing enough praises about this resort. The place, the resort itself, the water, the beach, all are so breathtakingly beautiful, so much so that I feel that the word beautiful doesn't quite do it justice. Granted, it is a little bit secluded but it was perfect for us, I mean we already work in a crowded city so it's a nice change to go away to a place that is not busy for the privacy and peach. Not too far from Ao Nang, easily accessible by Monkey Trail (if you are fit enough to climb and walk), else take the Boat and a short 'tuk-tuk' ride to the town.

Checking in and out was smooth, we had a nice 'honeymoon deco' and fruit plate in our room the first day, adn had a surprise 'honeymoon cake' towards the evening (it was tasty, honestly) and the seaview room we requested was just perfect, it looked just like the photo on the website, they really are not exxagerating or over photoshop their photos like most hotels will do.

I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a good honeymoon, getaway from the busy city or just a nice relaxing vacation. However do take in mind that most of the resort rooms require quite a bit of walking to and from reception/dock area, so if you have kids or elderly with you, do take this into consideration.

We loved this place, and cannot wait to be back again some day. Thank you Centara Grand Krabi for making our honeymoon truly a special once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Room Tip: The Seaview Room we got was breathtaking, to wake up and see the water is pure bliss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missus_abe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
7.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
7.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
5.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Address: 396-396/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded Pai Plong Bay and surrounded by emerald waters and a luxuriant national park, this five-star beachfront resort is a tropical paradise for those seeking a romantic hideaway or a relaxing stay with their family. The resort instils an air of understated luxury with generously-sized rooms and private villas ranging in size from 72 to 399 square metres and offering the option of garden or ocean views, an outdoor Jacuzzi, or a plunge pool. Designed in modern Thai style, with high ceilings, spacious living areas dominated by wooden accents, stone features and soothing colours, the rooms and villas are calm oases. Accessible by boat only, the resort offers an abundance of opportunities to relax and explore. To name a few: unwind with blissful spa treatments at Spa Cenvaree, savour Thai, Japanese, and International cuisines at one of the four restaurants, enjoy complimentary water sports (kayaking, sailing, paddle boarding – the first hour is free), lounge with one of the swimming pools while the kids are kept busy at the kids clubs, enjoy carefree days on the white sands of Pai Plong Bay. With warm waters with extraordinary underwater visibility, beautiful coral formations and an exotic marine life, the Andaman Sea is a tropical paradise for diving enthusiasts and those with with a longing for more holiday thrills. The experts at the resort’s PADI dive centre provide everything that is needed for beginners, those with medium skills, and expert divers. Krabi International Airport is 40 minutes away from Nopparatthara pier which is approximately 15 minutes from the resort by boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort And Villas
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Ao Nang
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Centara Grand Beach Krabi
Central Krabi Hotel
Central Krabi Bay Resort
Central Bay Resort Krabi
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing