We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bird of Paradise

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Oven, stove, hood, microwave, toaster, coffee maker
Master bedroom- King bed
Bedroom 3- shared bathroom
Bedroom 2- private bathroom
Bedroom 2- Queen Bed
Bedroom 3- King bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Krabi Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Russian first
Any
English first
mightyhei...
Kelso, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed March 31, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Staying in Tukta’s Bird of Paradise was just perfect for our big family of seven. It is set out in the country among pineapple fields, rubber tree and palm oil plantations. It is beautiful, quiet and peaceful. The home is spacious with three bedrooms and three bathrooms and a full kitchen. Great water pressure and great hot water. Each bedroom has a king sized bed and one bedroom has a big king AND additional bunk beds in it as well. So 4 could easily sleep in that room. She has very comfortable sectional that my children loved to nap on. Tutka has done some amazing landscaping and the yard is filled with bird’s of paradise, sweet smelling gardenias and lovely varieties of plumeria that my daughters would pick up off the ground in the morning and put in their hair. She also has banana and papaya trees. Gorgeous mountains off in the distance make mornings there breathtaking. We loved getting up before sunrise to see the mist on the mountains, hear the birds, cicadas and jungle animals reach a crescendo before those first rays of light.
Tutka is the perfect host. She met us upon arrival and showed us around. We were so weary from our 30 hours of travel that we weren’t quite coherent. We met with her later to plan our excursions and get advice for fun things to do. She spent an hour with us helping us plan. She lives near by and sometimes we would meet her out on the road when we went for a walk and she would give us suggestions and answer questions. She is just delightful. She came in to clean one day when we were away and left fresh papaya from the tree outside in the refrigerator for a sweet treat. She also saved the day when our daughters locked themselves out of their bedroom and adjoining bathroom.
I really wanted to visit Hong Island and she set up the most amazing excursion for us. We were picked up by a tuk tuk and taken by longtail boat to Hong. We were pleasantly surprised when the driver stopped at a remote island and passed out snorkels. We jumped out into the lovely warm water to have the best snorkeling experience EVER!!! We went to Hong, which was busy, but we also went to several smaller more secluded islands for amazing snorkeling as well!! It was much better than I had anticipated. The islands are incredible!!
The house is situated 5 miles from Ao Nang. Tutka recommended a taxi or tuk tuk service that could be there in 10 or 15 minutes to take your group anywhere. They were excellent. We are more spontaneous though and opted to rent a car (12 passenger van) the second day. Tutka was brilliant and put the house on google maps so you can navigate very easily. Word of warning for all you big American Families, driving in Krabi for first time is terrifying. First you are driving on the left side of the road, second there are scooters everywhere drifting in and out of their lanes not really paying attention to you and most are straddling toddlers and school age children. Most scooters don’t have tail lights to seeing them at night is vital. My husband is more adventurous and thought it was fun to drive but is was super scary at times. If you have more than 5 people, the only option at the airport car rental is a 12 passenger van with manual transmission. So decide for yourself, but probably calling a tuk tuk is safer and cheaper than the renting a van. Don't let the distance detour you, If you have a big family or a big group and don’t hesitate, Bird of Paradise is the perfect place to spend your holiday .

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunzlFiel...
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Magical and Memorable Stay in Paradise”
Reviewed February 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

Our family of four rented teh Bird of Paradise from Tukta and Ryan from September to December 2015. The place is everything described and more. We felt at home and relaxed in a lovely setting, watching the sun set over the palm fields, walking to a nearby yoga class, soaking up the ambiance of the Thai countryside and enjoying the people. Ryan and Tukta were kind, generous and responsive hosts, they helped us care for our pets when we traveled out of town for the weekend, Ryan took us hiking to a hidden cave, and he also took our two boys, ages 12 and 9, rock climbing.

We found both Tukta and Ryan to be warm people full of great advice and they also take great care of their place which is simply but well appointed and very comfortable. As a family the time we spent there -- with it's great access to fabulous beaches and local restaurants and activities -- one of the best times we have shared as a family. We miss it still. Note that we rented a car during our stay which was great (motos would do as well) as the house is out in the countryside and it was good to have our own transport. The quiet and location were one of the great benefits of the experience so it was totally worth it. THANK YOU TUKTA and RYAN for a memorable and magical experience.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great neighbors, beautiful location
Liked least: we loved it all.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody N
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place, Great People, Great Stay!”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My wife and my best friend stayed at Bird of Paradise on the recommendation of my brother. He is a very adventurous soul, so we were not sure what to expect. But when we got there, we were pleasantly surprised. The accommodations were VERY clean and modern and the location was great as well. Ryan and Tukta are amazing. They are friendly, welcoming and do a superb job at maintaining the grounds. They also have good suggestions of where to go, what to see, where to eat and anything else you can think of. Tutka is also a wonderful cook! We loved our time at the Villa and would highly recommended it!

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds and the hosts!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redletter...
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Vacation Rental!”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at the Bird of Paradise Villa for 5 days from the end of December into early January, over New Years. We had an amazing time at this beautiful property. With 3 bedrooms, private bathrooms in each room, large kitchen and beautifully landscaped yard, this property suited our family perfectly.

Ryan and Tukta were so friendly and accommodating! We were there with a party of 9 people, which meant we had to have our kids sleep in the living room. Ryan and Tukta provided extra mattresses and bedding to make this work for us.

Upon our arrival, they offered to pick us up from the airport and provided good directions to the property. They also gave us recommendations for good local tourist hotspots, beaches, and restaurants.

Their service during our stay was exceptional. Each day when we were out, the house was cleaned up, new towels and linens were provided and the dirty dishes were even cleaned for us. Upon our departure, they even gave us a parting gift. This far exceeded our expectations!

I would strongly recommend Bird of Paradise Villa for anyone staying in the Ao Nang/Krabi area.

Date of stay: December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigtails...
Provo, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Escape with Honest and Helpful Owners!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We just can't say enough about this amazing house and its owners! We had 7 people in our party (3 adults and 4 children under 9) and this house accommodated us all beautifully. The house is newer and very clean and was the first place we stayed in with a softer bed! Yes! It also had a bathtub, A/C in every room, a nice kitchen with a larger fridge, and the views of the forested area around it are so awesome! There are two rooms with king sized beds, and one room with a Queen bed and all bedrooms have their own bathrooms. There is a fenced in yard for the kids to play in and the location was perfect for what we wanted to do. We had spent most of our time visiting beaches and islands, and wanted to do more exploring in the National park nearby (going to the waterfall and doing some Elephant Trekking), visiting the Tiger Temple, shopping at the local markets in Ao Nang, getting massages, and kayaking in Ao Thalene. This place was right in the middle of everything and attractions were all between 5-45 minutes away. We ended up renting a economy car for $23 from the airport (which all 7 of us squished into) and had it delivered to the house for an additional $6 and then we drove ourselves to all the attractions and then drove ourselves to the airport to catch our flight back to Bangkok (about a 20-30 minute drive). We loved having the freedom to go where we wanted, (no international drivers license needed), but if you wanted a taxi, I'm sure Tukta would be more than happy to call one for you (I think she quoted us 600 to the airport for a mini bus which was way less than others had quoted us at other hotels for our large family). Tutka also gave us great recommendations for places to get massages, and even offered to take our luggage to the airport for us so we wouldn't need to make two trips since she was picking up her husband there anyway. We couldn't have been more pleased with the level of service from Tutka and we really enjoyed staying at this home. It was a great end to a great vacation!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location, size of the rooms, free wi/fi, bathtub, and kindness of owners.
Liked least: Its a little hard to find if you are driving on your own, but Tutka gave our driver good directions on how to get there.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bangkok
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing