We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food but pricey”

Wine V Bar & Bistro
Ranked #17 of 283 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Italian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: CHILL OUT & DINE; Enjoy relaxed and romantic wining and dining in Ao Nang. One of the finest places to eat and drink in Krabi, Wine V Bar & Bistro introduces a contemporary venue to enjoy cocktails, lite bites and Thai and international favourites. Guests will revel at the open-kitchen where they can observe the chef at work. Whilst, the casual outdoor seating creates the perfect spot for friends to come together and chill-out with a wide selection of old and new world wines and creative cocktails.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We choose to come here for a special occasion knowing it was more expensive than many places in Ao Nang. However we obviously didn't notice the ++ on the menu! meaning this meal cost more than we expected. However the food was fantastic, and the staff and setting lovely, so worth it for a treat.

Thank Wasps214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Wine V Bar & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 276 of 516 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014

Interesting concept : Wine Bar in Thailand… after almost 3 weeks on water and juices, a good glass of wine seemed very tempting. The atmosphere around the Wine Bar was also very appealing so we were really looking forward to a nice apero.

After inspecting the menu, we decided to order 2 white wines (thai & autralian), 2 smoothies for the kids and 2 thai appetizers. After more than 15 minutes, one of the smoothies and one glass of whine were served. Apparently the other smoothie was forgotten (no prob, can happen), and the autralian wine was out of stock. So we switched to the wine to South Africa, which was also not available, as well as the one from Chili… 3 out of the 6 white wines on the menu were out of stock? I could only get the promotion wines of 99baht or the Thai wine or a wine from the USA.

So we chose the chardonnay from Thailand, which was pretty good (but served too warm). But with only 3 wines on the menu, you can hardly speak of a wine bar… Furthermore, the waiters don't speak English, which makes it even more difficult.

The appetizers were ok, but nothing like the rest of the food we ate in thailand (and which was delicious) : chicken on a stick (had to be warm, but was cold) and spring rolls (warm, but soaked in oil).

The bill ? 1000 baht for bad service (which by the way was charged separately !!), no wine choice and a poor kitchen? I suggest to go somewhere else!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BriersErik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Nice environment to dine in. Free very yummy bread stick. I finished them all. Service was good. Nice songs sung.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pui Leng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VogueResortNSpa, Manager at Wine V Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Pui Leng C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience about your dining with our Wine V Bar & Bistro. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed and liked our food and the restaurant environment.

So thank you again for your recommendation and we look forward to see your return to Wine V Bar & Bistro.

With best regards,
Wine V Bar & Bistro, Ao Nang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stumbled across this bar/restaurant whilst walking back to our hotel and decided to stop and have a drink.. The most amazing mango daiquiris!! Even though we were only staying for drinks once we were seated we were given free breadsticks with various dips... Which were lovely! We decided to come back the day after to have some food and without a doubt the nicest food we had whilst we were there!! I had the massaman which was absolutely gorgeous!! There is a wide range of dishes from burgers to Thai food... so something for everyone! There is also a wide range of drinks from various cocktails to numerous variety's of wine! We were served by a lovely man called Sripaug... He remembered us form the day before and asked how our day trip had gone which we had spoken about the night before and even remembered what we were drinking... Customer service at its best! New lovely modern bar with brilliant staff... everyone should pay this place a visit, even if its just for drinks!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Becki4684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VogueResortNSpa, Manager at Wine V Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Becki4684,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience about your dining with our Wine V Bar & Bistro. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed with the drink and food.

I had passed your kind word to Khun Sripeang regarding his outstanding service and he was enjoyed in knowing he exceed you expectation.

So thank you again for your recommendation and we look forward to see your return to Wine V Bar & Bistro.

With best regards,
Wine V Bar & Bistro, Ao Nang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had walked past this restaurant/wine bar for days as we were staying next door at Vouge Resort & Spa (same owners) & thought it looked to flash for our holiday budget. Yes it is more expansive then a pad thai at the local restaurant but so worth it.

After being seated we were given free bread sticks & a variety of dips while we looked over the menu. Our order was taken by a delightful staff member by the name of Sripaug Jundeekeaw. He had an extensive knowledge of the menu & a very pleasant, friendly manner. We had both entrees & mains being ribs & salmon. The best both of us have ever tasted. On complementing the chef to Sripaug we were pleased to be informed the chef was Thai trained. He deffinately has a passion for food! As the Wine V Bar is the restaurant for Vouge Resort next door we meet up with Sripaug again the next morning as he waited on guests at the breakfast buffet.

Of course they have a large range of wines with a bar area as well as the restaurant indoor & outdoor seating. It has a pleasant atmosphere, as much as it can being situated next to the main street, & a more up market look & feel. Do yourself a favour & have one night at least at the Wine V Bar.

Thank you again to Sripaug, staff & the chef for an awesome night. Hope all went well with the birth of your child Sripaug & we look forward to returning to Vouge Resort & the Wine V Bar in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bintang_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VogueResortNSpa, Manager at Wine V Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Bintang_Girl,

First of all we thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience about your dining at our Wine V Bar & Bistro. We are delighted to read that you liked the food, satisfaction with our service and enjoyed with the restaurant atmosphere.

Wine V Bar & Bistro is “Chill out & Dine” introduces a contemporary venue to enjoy cocktails, lite bites and Thai and international favorites. Guests will revel at the open-kitchen where they can observe the chef at work, whilst the casual outdoor seating creates the perfect spot for friends to come together and chill-out with a wide selection of old and new world wines and creative cocktails with reasonable price.

I had passed your kind word to the team and particularly to Khun Sepeng regarding his outstanding service and he was enjoyed in knowing he exceed you expectation and his wife has just given birth 3 week ago his baby is a boy name’s “Triton”

So thank you again for your recommendation and we look forward to see your return at Wine V Bar & Bistro soon.


With best regards,
Wine V Bar & Bistro, Ao Nang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine V Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Wine V Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing