We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful hotel in quiet location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort
Ranked #93 of 104 Hotels in Ao Nang
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel itself is designed beautifully in typical Thai architecture. The rooms in the Ayodhaya wing especially those with pool access are fabulous. The rooms in the old wing (Success wing) are in need of a refurbishment but still comfortable. Recommend the rooms in the lowest floor with private terrace and stairs to access the pool area. The swimming pool seems one of the largest pools I ever saw in a hotel. Breakfast is basic and simple, the cutleries used sub-standard. The WiFi needs a boost but is accessible at times even in the room, otherwise by the abandoned pool-bar. Overall, the location to the sea is not far but to the lively Ao Nang township need to use Tuk Tuk transport (cheap though!) as it takes about 10 minutes on the road.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the lowest floor with pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    41
    20
    25
    59
See reviews for
50
80
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ra'anana, HaMerkaz, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

First of all, notice the exterior - it's based on a real castle (according to one of the managers).
We stayed a couple of nights in the cheaper "success" wing, and another two nights in the main wing. In both wings the rooms were big, but in the main wing (deluxe room) it was the biggest we encountered thus far, and very luxurious.
The service was top notch from check in to check out, and the staff went out of its way to help us with whatever problem came up. For example, in the success wing there is no kettle in the rooms, but we asked for one and it waited in our room when we got back.
The only problem I had was with the breakfast. It was ok, but could be much better. If you arrive late and there aren't many guests, there is a good chance that some of the food you see was there from the early morning. We decided to get a room without breakfast in our last two nights since they were way cheaper, so we just went out to eat.
One last thing is the swimming pool - the one in the main wing is big and impressive. There is a bar in the middle of it (you sit inside the pool), but I think it's only active in the high season.
All in all, we had a good enough time to want to come back. Also, did I mention you get to sleep in a freaking castle?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoval T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is totally run down which you will notice as soon as you enter via the front entrance. Buffet breakfast is disgusting and if you like mosquito's there will be plenty of them to accompany you in the dungeon which they call a restaurant for dining. Rooms are big and clean but fittings are cheap and nasty. Bed was so hard, so if you value your sleep dont bother even contemplating. The hotel is away from the main city centre so it will cost you whenever you want to go in which will be pretty much be everyday because there is nothing of interest near this hotel. Try and find somewhere else closer to the city centre to stay.
My partner and I do not recommend this hotel at all. BIG thumbs down!

Room Tip: There are better quality hotels within the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very well equipped hotel, but very confusing.
Accommodation was OK and they had adjoining rooms for the kids too.
made things a lot easier.
Door security was old, as you had "keys".
Inside, we had an old crt television.
The place looks like two worlds meet. One is a year 2000 hotel and the other is a year 1960 hotel. I guess we got the '60's one.
Staff were OK.
Walking distance to the local shops and night-time activities.
REALLY BIG pool area.
We were there in the lowest of the low season and there were not many guests there, except for the fully loaded quick-tour Chinese or Korean or Japanese bus of 50 or so who only stayed there to sleep.
If they attend to a few managerial problems, they may get the place back up to where it should be.

Room Tip: No real difference between any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked my Krabi holiday via Airasia Go flight and Hotel.
Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort & Spa is 10mins to Aonang town by tut-tut, if by foot about 30mins. At night not much activity near by except some local bars and restaurants. For better food you can drop by at Aonang. Basically the hotel facility is good the staff is friendly.

Room Tip: There is 2 wings at this hotel, Success Wing the room rate is much more lower compare to the main wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quekkaiheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our Stay in this hotel was absolutely luxurious and all the staff were very kind and friendly to us. We loved the room and all it had to offer!
We would like to thank all of the staff who made our stay so pleasant!
Krabi- Beautiful!

Thankyou very much!

Todd and Verity x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

stay 1 night with my husband for a little get away. The rate was cheap but to be very honest, I would rather to pay a bit more to stay somewhere else.

When we arrive and try to check in, we walk into the main lobby, and the staff very coldly pointed to the back and ask me to check in at the different wing. At night, when we finish dinner and want to return to the room and try to walk through the man lobby, the staff ( seems to be the manager??) rudely stopped us and asked us where we are going and when finding out that we stay at the superior room, he then told us we are not allowed to go through the lobby and pool area to go back to the room. Staying in the superior room in the success wing, being treated like a second class citizen is definitely one of the worst one can experience.

Also, we bought some drinks and snack to take back but we forgot to get some ice. When we ask the hotel for ice, they charge 100THB for it!!!!! what a ripe off!!

The hotel definitely calls for a serious renovation. The bathroom door jammed, the shower head clogged, pool dirty and etc....

The breakfast is mediocre. It serves the purpose but no satisfaction or anything about it.

I honestly think the previous review giving it a 4 star is just being way too kind.

Honestly, pay a little more, stay somewhere else.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank mylittlecrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ao Nang
0.7 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.7 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 104 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Nakamanda Resort & Spa
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Srisuksant Resort
Srisuksant Resort
#55 of 104 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort

Property: Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort
Address: 112/2 Moo 3 | Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Ayodhaya Suites Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#26 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Aonang Ayodhaya 5 Stars Luxurious accommodation that blends Thai legendary hospitality with the old era of Siam tradition, Aonang Ayodhaya consists of 2 wings separately. Main wing " Ayodhaya suite wing " offer suite room type while "Success Wing" offers superior room,superior family room, deluxe room room, deluxe family type. Our Success wing is 3 floors high, there is no elevator in Success wing. We only have elevator for Ayodhaya suite wing. All the rooms provide true international features and services with a fascinating historical setting to ensure all guests a stay in absolute comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayodhaya Hotel Ao Nang
Ayodhaya Suites Resort And Spa
Ayodhaya Hotel Krabi
Ayodhaya Resort Krabi
Aonang Ayodhaya Beach Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing