We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hotel in good position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Krabi La Playa Resort
Ranked #14 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Ossett, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Basic hotel in good position”
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We stayed for 9 nights at this hotel and it is a clean fairly modern hotel, It has a lift if needed. The pool area is nice but is not that big and beds could be in short supply some days.

We had breakfast each day and found a reasonable amount of choice but cooking your own bacon was a novelty which soon wore off.

The staff at this resort were nice and friendly. There did not seem to be a lot of staff for a hotel this size and they seemed to be stretched a bit thin.

The hotel is down a little side road which is a bit scruffy but the grounds themselves were fine. Having stayed in Ao Nang before we found this to be a quieter area but only 2/3 minutes away from shops, restaurants etc. We would jump in the local tuk tuks and go to the other side of Ao Nang (near McDonalds) which was much busier. This was a very cheap journey.

The beach area nearest to this hotel is beautiful (not main Ao Nang beach) you can walk for miles and catch the long boat excursions, it is a national park so no sun loungers are allowed, but the rock formations in the sea are a sight to behold.

Krabi town is a working town and not particularly pretty but well worth a visit just to look around. The traffic lights are something else! (catch local buses, much cheaper than taxis)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    448
    128
    40
    28
See reviews for
174
502
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I stayed at La Playa with a large group of friends and found the staff incredibly friendly and helpful - we celebrated a birthday there and they were very accommodating and offered to make special arrangements for us (eg for a cake, drinks on arrival) without us having to ask. They also arranged speedboat trips for us and had many suggestions as to what to do in the area. The rooms were lovely, especially the ground floor rooms that open into the pool, and the towels shaped like elephants were a great touch. We spent plenty of time at the swim-up bar and having massages by the pool, overall it was a great and relaxing trip with no hassles, for us La Playa more than delivered on its promises. I have been to Thailand many times and stayed in similar places, this is by far the best value for money that I have come across. I would definitely stay there if I were to return to Krabi for another trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend-on-sea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2010

an ok hotel that is in need of a good makeover the staff were very good at reception as was cleaning staff not enough sunbeds or umbrellas and those that are there some in need of repair and pins are missing on some that hold up parasols reasonable selection for breakfast did not eat there for dinner as there is a good selection of restaurants at the resort which is only 10 min walk would recommend los-sputino over looks the sea does a great steak it is next to where you get boats to ralay beach also kor-bua restaurant about 10 mins in taxi but if you get hotel reception to ring them they will pick you up and bring you back free of charge agood selection of food at reasonable price

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simsySouthend_on_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Just went to Krabi during mid Dec 09 with a friend and we were expecting for the worst considering of our last trip to Phuket. We were pleasantly surprised. All rooms had pool views and the plus point of this hotel is definitely the pool, although it's divided into 3 sections. There were multiple channels on TV, breakfast - not too bad either. We had a leaky kettle in the room and we called to get that replaced. Initially had challenges in explaining ot the technical dude as he doesn't speak English very well, however, we managed to get that changed eventually. Hotel is right in the middle of where the shops/restaurants are, so everything is within walking distance, no complaints there. Rest of the staff was helpful to us. They also have a very nice garden, and I don't think a lot of guests are aware of the garden which is tucked away a litte. The only issue was the shower in our room which fluctuates friom super hot, cold and back again, when you have the dial on 'hot.' Overall we had a fantastic stay at this hotel, it really depends on what you're looking for at the end of the day. Most hotels are not exactly right on the beach, which means no sea view, unless your hotel is perched on the hills or on the beach itself .

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We booked a delux room with queen and were steered to a twin bed room. We had to wait awhile to have it changed. This was late and after a long day's travel. Rooms are spacious but fixtures, esp bathroom, very old and need updating. Our room, so ordinary, I wondered what the superior rooms were. They informed me the difference was that the 4th floor and up were delux as they had an ocean view. I hardly understand the view from 3 blocks away. We only got a tiny view and distant at that. Hardly reason to charge $20 extra per night. My recommendation ; don't ask for a delux room. It's a rip.
Pool was wonderful and breakfast were great. Restaurant and pool staff were friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venusalberta33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

We have just come back from a great time at this hotel. We had heard about it from friends and received a warm welcome on arrival from Singapore. We were lucky to get rooms opening out to the pool with our own private jacuzzi area. The room was large and spacious and everything worked well. We loved how they present all the towels, wrapped into shapes like elephants.

Its in a good location for going out to restaurants, and walking to the boat area where there are loads of trips to be had - Phi Phi island in particular was good.

The food was reasonable though perhaps not varied enough for our taste. However, as the hotel was full it didnt seem to phase anyone. We also loved the swim up bar.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterManHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

The deluxe room is clean and comfortable. It is a spacious plus a balcony with a set of chairs and table. Unexpectedly, the floor of the balcony was very clean. Toilet is also clean and quite spacious, however the water pressure and temperature of the water fluctuated when showering.
Quite a few channels available on television however some international channels are broadcasted in Thai language. There is also a dvd player in the room.
A clean and quite big swimming pool which is not very crowded people.
The resort is off the main shopping street. Quite a quiet and convenient location. There is also a mini-mart near the resort.
Staff of the resort is friendly and helpful.
Breakfast selection is not wide but sufficient. There is an omelette counter, bacon had to be cooked by ourselves which I like as I could control the level of crisp. There is also ham, sausage, porridge and noodles. Some selection of beverages, bread, fruits and cereals.
Overall, a relatively good place to stay at in Krabi, not top-notch but good enough.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ying_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.6 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi La Playa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi La Playa Resort

Property: Krabi La Playa Resort
Address: 143 Moo 3 Tambol Ao Nang | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi La Playa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Krabi La Playa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi La Playa Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi La Playa Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing