We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Krabi La Playa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Krabi La Playa Resort
Ranked #13 of 106 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nites frm 26 june to 30 june..we booked 6 rooms and honestly u can't any beta room wit reasonable price thn la playa resort..hats off..nearest to shops n restaurant's..pool was huge & clean..pool bar was convenient but hapy hour shud be extend..beware of drinks prices before ordering coz mineral water wil cost u mor thn a bottle of beer...kip ur rooms sliding door closed ol the time otrwise u will spend more time wit mosquito during nite..language probs in front desk..apart frm tat..La Playa resort is worth 4 every single cents u paid..highly recommended..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    431
    121
    39
    28
See reviews for
167
479
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Was due to stay here but due to the standard of the rooms and service did not bother.In fact looked for another hotel and paid again.Inferior rooms dismal awful bathroom definately not 3 star no welcome carry your own bags.If you want nice surroundings and good service stay elsewhere

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank POWJAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed at Krabi La Playa for 10 nights from 15th June on a Travelzoo deal.
The hotel is reasonable but In my opinion it is more 3 star.
The rooms are large and cleaned everyday. They provide a beach bag with a beach mat and clean beach towels everday which was a nice touch.
Free wifi in the reception area only and umbrellas in the room for the torrential downpours!!
The breakfast is average and the set Thai dinner (If you are HB) is ok for a couple of nights.
The pool bar was the only bar open when I was there, from 10:00-20:00 hours.
There is no evening entertainment and nowhere to get a drink after 20:00 hours at the hotel.
The gym was ok but very dated.

The mini-market is a couple of minutes walk and the bars and restaurants are very close by.
Lots of Happy Hours along the main strip and a choice of 2 beaches.
We booked a Thai cookery course with Mrs Ya, well worth the money and time, incredible lady and so funny.
We took a taxi into Krabi Town market which was an experience 800 THB for a wait and return.

Try a hot stone steak at Wanna's restaurant opposite the beach - Amazing!
The Blue Dragon Ladyboy show was a bit of a letdown but cant complain for 500 THB.
Massages are very cheap and plentiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a Jacuzzi room or a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertsLaracroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have just returned from a Travelzoo offer for this hotel and a 2 night stay in Bangkok.
I’m going to be as honest as possible about this...We eventually arrived at the hotel after little sleep and couldn’t wait to just get into the hotel. We pulled up at the front of the hotel and my heart sank! The place looked basic to say the least. What had I done! We got inside the very basic lobby which was open sided and not air conditioned and waited to check in. This took at little time but they brought us out cold fruit cocktails which were lovely. We were shown to our room and things started to look a bit better. The room was clean and very large. Yes the bed was a bit hard but this was fine for us and the bathroom had a bath and a shower. There was a flat screen TV and a DVD player. The TV had 2 English movie channels so there was plenty to do if the weather turned!!
The pool was lovely and very large. There were plenty of sun beds and the parasols were being replaced during our time there. The pool and pool area were very clean and well maintained.
We found the staff extremely helpful and very friendly. Most spoke better English than I speak Thai! Yes they are young but so are most of the staff throughout Thailand.
Breakfast was a little repetitive but just ask for bacon and boiled eggs and they will do them to order.
We ate out most of the time and only tried the food in the hotel on the first night. It was tasty but the portions were small. Hey, it was free in the package so who can complain about that?
The beach bag and beach towels were a nice touch. If we needed anything we just asked and it was sorted.
We ended up having a really great time at Krabi La Playa despite the initial impression of the hotel. Go with an open mind and relax and enjoy. The Thais are laid back people and so keen to help as much as they can.
The only criticism we had was there was no real bar area. The pool bar was ok but closed early and there was not a proper seating area to socialise. I do feel they are missing a trick here as I’m sure many of the guests would have popped in for a drinks on their way out or way back from town and it meant that that the hotel lacked a little atmosphere in the evenings. Ao Nang is quite small so you will always bump into other guests at the hotel anyway in one of the bars or restaurants in the main drag.

Room Tip: Choose a swin up pool room if possible as these are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluemoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed 12 nights from the 4 th June.
We had room 509 which had a great view, the room was a little tired but large and clean with plenty of wardrobe space.
There is tea/coffee making facilities ,2 free bottles of water daily.
There is also a beach bag in the room with towels and beach mats.
The hotel grounds are lovely with a great pool split into 3 sections.
The hotel is a short walk to the bars and restaurants in ao nang.
We were on the travelzoo deal which meant we were half board, breakfast was good great eggs and if you want bacon you only need to ask and they cook it for you.
Dinner was a set menu for 2, we only ordered from the Thai selection and the food was very nice, service not the best but we only ate and then went out for drinks as there was no bar in the hotel.
Our favourite bars were little longhorns saloon, great staff and great live music, the bar is located in centre point which is just set back from the Main Street in ao nang, we also went to Aning restaurant where the food was good and the house wine was very nice and good value at 90 bhart a glass, also we went to a small bar to the right of the hotel about a 10/15 min walk called the tree top.
We also tried the 2 hill top restaurants lae lay and the hilltop, both were excellent great food, service and views, and they come and pick you up from your hotel and drop you back after.
We didn't spend any time at the beach as the weather was unpredictable and the sea was rough, they are not the best beaches I have seen in Thailand but look nice all the same.
We are going back to Ao nang in December and were due to stay at a different hotel but have swapped to go back to the Krabi La Playa as we really enjoyed the pool area and location was good.
The free wifi was available in the lobby/restaurant and pool areas.
All staff we came across we friendly and helpful, Katie the manager in reception was a very nice lady.
Unfortunately when we left we left 2 pairs of Sony headphones in the room, I have emailed the hotel 3 times and no reply which is disappointing.
We also spent 2 nights in Bangkok at the Pathumwan princess which is a lovely hotel.
The overall trip through travelzoo/premier holidays was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeleyh1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is located at one end of Ao Nang, therefore it is far enough from the buss from the city centre but near enough to the city centre to make shopping and buying food conveniently. There are some street food stall right across the road from the hotel entrance. The food there is cheap and fantastic.

The staff there are friendly and they speak good enough English for us to understand.The rooms are also spacious and clean. We had the pool access rooms. It is great to have direct access to the pool and we jumped into the pool whenever we have the chance to. It is a pity that the pools are only open from 8am-8pm even though there is no life guard around. Do not understand the rationale of closing the pool so early if there is no lifeguard on duty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peixi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Nice rooms, lovely swimming pools, breakfst was ok but the evening meals were very good. Good location for all the shops and market stalls. Cheap to get to Krabi using local trnsport. Weather was not very good, too much rain. Hotel staff were very helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackpool2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.7 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#17 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
1.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi La Playa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi La Playa Resort

Property: Krabi La Playa Resort
Address: 143 Moo 3 Tambol Ao Nang | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi La Playa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Krabi La Playa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi La Playa Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi La Playa Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing