We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Krabi La Playa Resort
Ranked #14 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We only stayed there for a night, due to the resort is overbooked and upgrade us to another resort, we didn't feel angry as the staffs are very patient to explain the situation, the front office manager Katie is really helpful and give us all the best like complimentary massage as compensation, the room is huge and facing the nice pool, very thoughtful design with a beach basket and towel for those would like to go to beach, location is good, just a short distance walk to the main street and the beach, breakfast is great, the only cons is the wifi only in lobby, the complimentary massage is so so, as we were the last customers and the staffs seems to be tired and talk so loud when doing the massage. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngsiewcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    450
    128
    40
    28
See reviews for
174
504
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed at the La playa for ten nights in June 2013 on a Premier / Travelzoo half board basis holiday, for what we paid we were not expecting much however the rooms were clean spacious and well equipped, the three large swimming pools were clean and water inviting with ample sun beds.
The food although repetitive was well presented and tasty, we found out after a few days if you want bacon for breakfast you have to ask, they do not have it on display in case it offends certain religions, we opted to eat out on quite a few nights as the food in the nearby restaurants was reasonably priced with plenty of choice.
The hotel is in an ideal location for both shoppers and beach lovers, a mere ten minute walk finds you in the middle of both.
Ao Nang is quite a vibrant resort with lots of shops bars and restaurants to suite all tastes,because it was low season when we were there they were most were offering extended happy hours and discounted food prices, the people are friendly and helpful we would certainly return to this resort.

Room Tip: All similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philleeds405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My partner and i spent two weeks in April at Krabi La Playa Resort. Upon arrival we were welcomed with a refreshing fruit drink by very friendly staff.
As we arrived early our room was not ready but we were happy to leave our bags and go and find our bearings.We found a bar just around the corner called Easy Bar were we were able to chill and relax before checking in to our room. We would recommend this bar as the prices are reasonable and the food is good.
We had booked a deluxe room and were delighted to find our room had a pool entrance with a jaccuzi.
The room was comfortable ,clean with plenty of hot water in our walk in shower.
The dressing gowns,slippers and beach pack were a lovely touch.
Breakfast was adaquate with enough choice for a good start to the day.
Lovely pools with a very relaxing atmosphere and we met the nicest people ever.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing stay but close enough to the night life of Ao Nang.
We would also strongly recommend the Food centre just up the lane from the hotel. Good food , strong cocktails,great prices and lovely company especially Nan & Anwar at Nans Burgers (lovely people).
We are looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: We would recommend pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fadgefar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Our room is located on the first floor. Room is spacious and we also have a mini garden (it would be a balcony if you stay higher levels). Do be careful of the mosquitoes that might get into the air-conditioned room. Each room is provided with a beach basket with beach towels and beach mat that you might want to bring to any nearby beaches. The breakfast is a sumptuous buffet. And the swimming pool area is big and nice. Service staff always have smile on their faces.
For WiFi, it is only free access in the lobby area. Further more, payment would be necessary.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed for 10 nights on HB bases. This trip was one of Travelzoo bargains and we didn't expect much but were pleasantly surprised! Our deluxe room was massive with balcony overlooking the sea, perfect for sunset watching. Bathroom looked a bit tired but had big shower+bath and was spotlessly clean. As per previous reviews rooms are well equipped and mini bar's very reasonably priced. The garden & pools looked lovely and well maintained Breakfast was ok, we could always find something to eat. Evening meals were hit and miss-we ended up eating out a lot-so cheap! There's a Food market place just round the corner from hotel (busy with local) selling freshly cooked food at bargain prices. Considering the cost we thought La Playa was great value for money! We didn't spend much time at the hotel as there's so much to see/do in this area. Avoid Sunset snorkelling with Pranang Travel&Tour-waiste of time&money, NOT as advertised in brochure. We were also a little underwhelmed with Phi Phi islands, far too busy and too much rubbish for paradise. Can highly recommend visit to Railey beach, Hong Islands (do hire private boat-it's much better and cheaper if you can get 8 people ), Tiger Temple and Thai Charm cooking classes. One of my favourite beaches was the one opposite Centara Grand Beach resort. It’s at the far left end of Ao Nang beach and you have clime over the hill (wooden steps) to get there. Beautiful and completely deserted!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mizzy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just got back from 11 nights in the Krabi La Playa. We stayed in a third floor superior room and had everything we needed. Room was clean and comfortable, complimentary water, beach towels, beach bag, torch, umbrellas. Cleaned every day to a good standard. Complex was well maintained with 3 separate pools - never a problem to get a sun lounger. It's a good location for exploring both locally and beyond - boat trips available to other islands very close by. We were staying on a B&B basis and I'm glad we weren't committed to other meals there - breakfast was adequate. It was a short 5 - 10 min walk to other restaurants and bars which offer more variety and better value food.The main downside to the hotel was the service - staff were friendly enough but often appeared lethargic and unmotivated. Having stayed in other parts of Thailand before and experienced nothing but great service, this was a disappointment. Not many of the staff members spoke/understood English very well - if you had a problem it was difficult to communicate and resolve it easily. It's a shame the hotel is let down in this way by some of the staff (cleaning staff were good as was Paweena who cooked the eggs at breakfast) but because of this I would not want to stay here again and would choose somewhere else where customers were more valued.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz0864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were in a 5th floor deluxe room which was comfortable and had everything you need, with free water and pool towels, slippers etc. The room safe was free and there was a satellite TV and DVD player. As hotel rooms go, great. Top notch housekeeping and clean, maintained grounds throughout.

Everyone has a smile, which is nice, but - smiley, happy faces can't hide the somewhat lacklustre service we experienced at times. We had a daily set evening menu in the restaurant and found the service inattentive. We often had to ask for the basics, like enough cutlery for our table, for plates to be cleared and to re order drinks. In Reception, some of the staff spoke very minimal English, which is the hub of the place and was occasionally a bit frustrating. There is also nowhere to sit and have a drink, other than the lobby. Shame, because it meant we went out every single evening and the hotel could do so well out of having a bar! This made the place feel somewhat soulless.

Room Tip: Go deluxe if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.6 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi La Playa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi La Playa Resort

Property: Krabi La Playa Resort
Address: 143 Moo 3 Tambol Ao Nang | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi La Playa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Krabi La Playa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi La Playa Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi La Playa Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing