We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Krabi La Playa Resort
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Here nov 11th till 25th 2nd time. This is a great hotel staff are lovely our favourite girl is Pom so friendly. Had a great stay again this hotel is in a great location very quiet.. Rooms are lovely and big with nice balconies. Would not hesitate in staying here again

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chrislondon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
There are newer reviews for Krabi La Playa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 994 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had yet another fabulous stay at Krabi La Playa. I have booked my husband and I into a pool access room. Last time we didn't but were lucky enough to get an upgrade. I just didn't want to take a chance this time! The reception staff were most friendly, helpful and courteous. I noticed they spoke more fluently English than our last stay. They had our records in their file so checking in was swift and we were escorted into our room by a chatty bellboy trying to improve his English. There was a fruit basket in our room but we ignored and changed quickly to our swimwear and went straight to the pool bar for Happy Hour and were not disappointed. We had started to wind down. We went out for dinner in Ao Nang which was about 15 mins walk from the hotel and had a great meal. By the time we came back to Krabi La Playa even though it was well past the swimming time, we changed into our swim gear and jumped into the pool. There were no one around. The pool was clean, water not cold. It was dark but fun and refreshing. We loved it. A great pool to totally unwind. Breakfast was a fight for a table by the pool, but it worth it as we love being outdoor. When asking for some more fresh fruit, the waitress just went in and brought out more with no fuss. We didn't eat lunch at the hotel but had dinner on Sunday night after our long day out to Koi Phi Phi which turned out to be very good compared to our lunch at Koi Phi Phi. I would recommended Krabi La Playa to anyone. It is well situated, friendly staff, big room, good breakfast and a clean pool. Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reviews294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 11 nights at the beginning of November and found the hotel and staff excellent.
Upon check in, we were delighted to find that the hotel had upgraded us from a Superior Room to a Pool Room, which was a lovely surprise. Moments later we were greeted by a spacious room with a vast double bed, plenty of wardrobe & drawer space, and luxury air-conditioning! The bathroom (wetroom) was a good size with a big walk in shower & western style toilet. The room also had a well stocked minibar fridge, with snacks above it (Peanuts, Monkeynuts, Pringles, Crisps, etc). After checking the price list, we found that (unusually) the drinks from the minibar were cheaper than those served from the pool bar, even before the taxes & service charge had been added.

Through south facing sliding patio doors, our balcony had a table and chairs on it, perfect for watching the sun go down with a nice cold drink. A gate on the balcony led via steps directly into a pool shared with rooms 107 - 111. Most of the time we had it to ourselves, which was very peaceful. Like the pool attached to the pool-side deluxe rooms (112 - 117?), they over spill (infinity pool-ish style) into the main pool, forming a Y shape layout. Unsurprisingly, the pool bar was accessed from the main pool.

Sadly we were late to discover the delights of the on site restaurant, Spice, as we had preferred to venture further afield for food. When we took the plunge one lunchtime on a down day, we were astounded by the quality of the food (excellent Pad Thai), and promptly set about kicking ourselves for the delay.
We were pleased to find that the restaurant served excellent food in the evening too. A large group had arrived on our last day, so on our last night, we made a reservation just to make sure we could fit in. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the staff had made up our table beautifully, outside by the pool, decorated with candles and bows on the chairs. It was a perfect end to our stay there.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MelA2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Booked 2 rooms, one for me and wife, another for 17 year old son. Upgraded the lasso was on same floor.
We found the location perfect. Just at the start of the main beach area but set back from the road so no noise.
Rooms great, pool great, staff wonderful, spa good too. Breakfast is fine too. We did have lunch but not dinner and again it was ok. Food in Krabi area is pretty much the same so the hotel was pretty much on a par with most places we ate at.

We thoroughly recommend this place. I work in Thailand a lot and so use many hotels, for value this place is second to none!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Mikeogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during the rainy season so I think it might have been a bit quieter than usual. We booked a pool access room and are very glad we did. We had the last room in the row so it was very private and we were never bothered by noise or other people. It was great to be able to come back from a day of touring and just jump in. The pools are nicely laid out and always clean. The room was a good size with lots of space to unpack and relax, although we didn't spend much time there. The bathroom was decent, with a big walk in shower, although as another reviewer mentioned the floor is crazy-slippery. I have no idea why but you do need to be careful not to wipe out.
We only had breakfast at the restaurant, and it was decent. Not a great meal but good enough that we never bothered going elsewhere. I should mention that the restaurant is outside by the pool and a few mornings we were really hot so try to get a seat under a fan!
As for location, I have to say I was a little disappointed. You are definitely within walking distance of Ao Nang and Nopparathara but not as close as I was expecting. Maybe since it was low season, but Nopparathara was pretty dead so we stuck to Ao Nang. To get to the beach was about a ten minute walk, not bad, but there were many hotels closer.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LisaT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

After arriving in the evening at the krabli la playa resort reception we were greeted with the usual happy smiling thai greeting sawasdee. We were checked in quickly and went for the usual familiarization tour of the hotel which led us to the pool bar , which was closing but stayed open for us, whilst having refreshments, the barmen Ali baba gave an impromptu fire dance, the whole family loved it and for the rest of the trip the staff were just happy to attend our every need, breakfast was very good and had a good vriety of cuisines for all tastes. Rooms were made up every day on request. Hotel was in a quiet little spot off main road close to all the shops and restaurants. Will definitely stay here again and recomend if you are looking for a well priced resort for the whole family to stay in krabi overall a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side room if avaiable
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MelbourneSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a very good hotel, and with a little more effort could be an excellent one. The location is great - just a few minutes walk from the main drag in one direction, Noppharatara Beach in the other, and Ao Nang's main street food stalls are on the doorstep. The hotel rooms are spacious and well appointed - flat screen tvs, a huge double bed, generous balconies. We were upgraded to a pool-access room which we were concerned would be noisy, but wasn't, and is a highly recommended option. The three swimming pools are great - one is long enough for doing laps, and the others good for lazing around in, and there are plenty of loungers and a generous deck space. The gym and spa appeared to be minimal - but we didn't use either.

Where the hotel lets itself down is the service, particularly housekeeping. One day we were left without toilet roll, another without towels; one day the room wasn't cleaned until 7pm, and on another they left the balcony doors open. The buffet breakfast is okay but not great and the selection rather limited, and the staff don't clear the plates during the meal. The staff are all very friendly but the whole service aspect needs an overhaul.

We were there in low season (late October) so prices were reasonable - making it great value for money overall. If they up the ante on service, it would be a great hotel all round.

Room Tip: Pool-access rooms are quieter than you'd expect - especially during low season.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theyoungsoulrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,271 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi La Playa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi La Playa Resort

Address: 143 Moo 3 Tambol Ao Nang | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $27 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi La Playa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Krabi La Playa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi La Playa Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi La Playa Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing