We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money (overpriced)....hotel needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Krabi La Playa Resort
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2007

Location: We had a really great driver and even so he had a tough time finding the place which is situated sort of on a back alley way. The hotel is within walking distance to the beach but it is really quite a distance to get to the swimming area of the beach since the hotel is closest to the area where the boats are.

Room: The room was a standard room with a view of the pool. Other than that there was not much to speak of. This was the most expensive hotel on our trip and we stayed at the Baan Khao Lak, Karon Sea Sands, and Mercure Patong. For the extra money we got nothing! There was a stained shower curtain in the bathroom which was totally unappealing and that shower curtain remained during the entire stay. The beds were just as hard as all the others in Thailand. They did do the nice elephant towel arrangement on our arrival, which was cute. I must say that I was really concerned that they only gave us one roll of toilet paper and we almost ran out. This may have been because there is no place to store an extra roll. The hotel really needs a new coat of paint since it is cracking in a lot of places and there are quite a few rust stains. I realize it rains a lot in Krabi so this may not be avoidable. The photo the hotel uses for promotions are not what the hotel really looks like so the pictures must be older.

Pool: The previous reviewers are totally correct about the pool tiles. You really have to be careful not to stub a toe or cut your foot on the uneven pool tiles. I would not want kids swimming in a pool like that. The pool really LOOKS nice but those uneven tiles were annoying. That said, don’t waste money on the pool access rooms unless you really plan to use the pool.

Food: Breakfast was the standard fare. I do believe that some of the food was leftovers from when they had a BBQ. They did have a nice looking coffee machine.

Around Krabi: We did the 4-island speedboat tour…which is really 3-islands and a cove. This ½ day trip was a lot of fun and just what we were looking for. The snorkeling at Chicken Island was great and we saw a turtle and tons of different fish. I must say that the black and yellow fish get extremely annoying after a while especially when there are so many other things to see. There was also some soft coral and Nemo fish. We had heard some negative reviews about Phi Phi island and the crowds that do the day trips, so we decided against that and in the end we were happy with the trip we chose. After doing a full-day Similan Islands tour in Khao Lak and ½ day trip was perfect.

Took the shared van transfer from Krabi to Patong for pretty cheap and it did not take much longer than a private car and was much cheaper.

Souvenirs were advertised at a lower price than in Karon and Patong.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank JenD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
There are newer reviews for Krabi La Playa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 994 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2007

This hotel was lovely stayed 6 nights 16-22 Dec. Rooms spacious, immaculately clean, shower great, good mini bar, refilled daily. Poo; lovely, sunbed around pool, little huts to sit in to keep in shade if you need to. Pool bar lovely, restaurant food good and reasonably priced, breakfast great selection and covers over food to keep flies away.

Staff really friendly and helpful, great location, glad we chose here - not out the way at all, but far enough away to not be on the Ao nang strip, peaceful, serene and perfect....wish I was still there !!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2007

It is below expectations. Lobby is very plain and I was stung by mosquitoes. The breakfast is lousy with repeated food each day and there are flies over the food. Unhygienic. Room is average. Swimming pool is not as good as it is on the photos. Happen to be under renovations when i visited.

Also visited other hotels like Queen's Bay (Service is good, staff show us around the hotel even though we are only visitors and not guests) Facilities is very good and class. Can also consider Duang Jai, classy and nice.

Btw, you can rent motorbike and travel around the island. Very interesting and easy to navigate around Krabi.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank lphcps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

Well what can I say???? After a week treking and doing tours, a welcome break down in Krabi, and we were not disapointed! This is a great hotel, we had a poolside room ( if you can get it 107 - our room- on the end of the line, nobody can see you in the pool, and not from the resturant either, very private!) wonderful gardens, friendly staff, internet (payable!) poolside bar, clean pool, very clean room with dressing gown, slippers, flip flops, stocked mini bar, wonderful bathroom ( you could fit about 10 people in the shower its huge!) the nly downfalls are the prices in the hotel, very expensive ( well for thailand!) but you have to treat yourself to a cocktail in the pool once in a while! And the beach is NOT 150 meters away, its much further, but then Ao nang beach isnt the best and the longboats which are only 5 mins walk away take you to white sand, clear seas and total bliss!!!! The location is prefect for night life, loads of bars resturants and live music ( find Rockys' bar up a little alley its great, cheap friendly with live music everynight!) discos and even Elvis impersontors, Breakfast is a buffet, and very good, even though the queue for the coffee machine was quite long! All in all a wonderful hotel and great location, and well worth the price!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wawju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

Stayed for 3D2N during company trip of 23pax. Loved the elephant towels and the room setting. My Boss and his family who came along were impressed and commented that I know how to pick a value for money hotel. My colleagues enjoyed the pool and spent the rest of their time there after tiring city, tiger cave and island hopping tours. Staffs were helpful and not over zealous. Made us felt very much at home! My Boss occassionally spoke Malay to staff as he has forgotten that where we are in Thailand. Just like home!

Stayed: November 2007
Thank Indrawana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

This is our first time in Thailand and Krabi, we are really impressed with beautiful white sand beach and untouched nature. We spend 4 nights in the resort, but only last day we spend whole day in the resort. It was peaceful and relaxing. Staff are friendly, room’s quite big and clean. Pool is really huge. On Monday night, they have a buffet dinner with live music…. Unfortunately the rain fall in the middle of the party but we move to the restaurant and things going on quite well with live music also!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BARLOW01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Just wanted to share a less than positive experience. My family and I booked 3 nights at the Krabi La Playa 5 months in advance through their Bangkok sales office. 2 weeks before our trip to Krabi we called Krabi La Playa to confirm our reservations and they didnt have one for us!!! We have confirmation details in writing from the Bangkok sales office of our reservation! When we informed them of this they did nothing for us, they didnt even apologize. They basically told us we were out of luck, even with written confirmation!!!

Book with them at your own risk!!!

I dont recommend it.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank getcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,271 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi La Playa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi La Playa Resort

Address: 143 Moo 3 Tambol Ao Nang | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $27 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi La Playa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Krabi La Playa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi La Playa Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi La Playa Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing