We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Friendly place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Krabi La Playa Resort
Ranked #20 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We arrived 18th March to welcome reception, cool drink and flannel, much appreciated after journey from the airport. True not all the staff speak good english, but there is always someone who can help. We found Amporn the Restaurant Manager to be great, she not only spoke good english but helped give us advice on where to go. There is a market near the boxing stadium on a Wednesday later afternoon/evening which is worth a visit. Ok no bar at the hotel which was disappointing, but you don't have to walk far from the hotel to find a good choice, go either way along the main road, left into the main part of Ao Nang is where you'll find most bars and restaurants and we also thought it was a little cheaper in the main area near the Irish Rover. The food was fantastic at all places, even the pavement stalls, although we thought the Longtail Boat Restaurant overlooking the sea was the best and visited there twice, excellent food, friendly staff and great location. There are about 8 restaurants next to one another overlooking the sea, just walk down one of the alleyways from the main road and you'll walk through each one, known as seafood street, but this was our favourite and they do all sell more than just seafood, although the fish is on display and you can choose what you want to eat.

We hired a longtail boat to ourselvesand did a couple of the islands, cost 1500 baht for 4 hours, went to Poda Island, thought it was overcrowded and full of litter, not impressed, although Railay and PhraNang Beach looked nicer. The Tuks Tuks get you around the resort for 40 bht per person or 20 in the scooter Tuks. it rained heavily most days for an hour late afternoon but the hotel does provide umbrellas in the room - you'll need them, and they'll call a Tuk Tuk for you. Pool area nice and quiet during our stay so no trouble locating beds, just a few noisey chinese in the jacuzzi pool. Breakfast was fine, choice of cereals, fruit, pastries and breads, you cook your own bacon and there is an egg chef. You help yourself to tea/coffee and just muck in basically, obviously some reviewers prefer silver service! we found the staff helpful and obliging all round. Rooms were nice, clean and spacious, with balcony and ours had a sea view which was nice to sit out and see the boats tooing and froing to the islands. Overall a good hotel which made our stay very enjoyable. Last year we stayed near Cape Panwa, Phuket, and actually found Krabi much busier than we had expected, nontheless a most enjoyable holiday but next time would prefer somewhere a little quieter.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JAG1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,035)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2011

When we arrived, we were warmly received, with welcome drink. However, we were informed by the receptionist that the rooms we booked (pool access with jacuzzi) was not readied, hence we were given room 504, instead. We were charged 250Bht extra per child and all in all we have to pay 1500Bht for 3 days bfast for the 2 child. For the price we paid for the bfast, we were disppointed as the choices for bfast buffet was limited. There were no lounge in the evening. hence we have to walk out to the stretch of the streets in Aonang. For 1500Bht, we could simply eat out and splurge on seafood instead!.

On d 2nd day, after we came back from Phi Phi Island dary trip, we were informed that our baggage was not sent down to the pool access room (which the recept has promised that she will arrange for the transfer during our absence). It took quite a while for the hsekeeper to bring the baggage down. My husband went up with them to collect our items as well. The bed and pillow in room 504 was of better than room 118.

The 2nd room we stayed comes with jacuzzi as well, room no is 118, perfectly located far from the rest, its a the end of the building. We liked it as it was very quiet, no noise but full with Farangs.. The bed was terrible, with the springs sounded clearly, it must have been there for ages. The pillow was not plush and good enough (flattened even we rest our head)!

Overall, we dont have much complain but comes to think of the 17250Bht, i paid for, it was not really of much worth, totally disappointed with the breakfast. The cafe staff was puzzled when I asked for teaspoon, as it was not replenish at the coffee/tea corner. The waitress was just happily chatting among the 3 of them. I have to walk up to the other side of the buffet table and help myself with table spoon to stir my coffee! When I asked the waitress again, the 3 "amigos" still dont understand! Oh! the waitresses were so blur!! They only knows how to chat and gossips abt the hotel guests! Standing at one corner doing nothing! After explaining to another "passerby" waitress, she understood that all I need was 2 teaspoon to stir 2 cups of coffee! OOhhh.....!! It was so frustrating!
I simply find that the roadside, makeshift stalls sooks and servers along Aonang speaks better English than the hotel staff!!! What a shame for hotel staff!!

We went to the gym. It was a terrible shame, coz it has only one treadmill, 2 stationed cycle, one swinger. Weight corner was very simple. Its a very simple gym. So, dont expect much.

There's a saying, to make a guest happy, serve him/her with great food and with a warm smile and they will come back again coz they feel the warmness during. Dont make a guest frustrates, coz the word spread fast!

The only thing that makes me smile is the pool. Thats all.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SofyRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Room is clean & big with 2 bottles of complimentary drinking water daily. The only complaint I have may be is just the hair dryer...no hot air.. and its nothing more like u blow your hair dry with your own mouth (Even after I ask to change for a new one)
Location is just nice to have a quiet place.. about 100 meters away from the main road.
Breakfast was just alright, not to say a lot of choices.. but it gives what u need.
we had the pool access deluxe room, so its rather convenience just to open your door and jump into the pool.
Pools, best in Ao Nang I think.. big enough !

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sedberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Had stayed in La Playa resort during my 4 day stay in Krabi. Room was Deluxe room.

Checkin was fast and smooth. Each room only gets 1 set of room key. Would have preferred 2, in case me or my friend want to go our own way. Hotel room had a great view out the back that overlooked the mountain and the pool. Room was clean, and can't find much complaints. The water pressure in the shower had some problem, sometime, small, sometimes big... Location of the place was good, being very close to the beach, and there are a lot of eateries around. Breakfast came in a lot of variety but doesn't change each morning. So do your own mix and match to ensure u won't get bored of eating the same stuff. Overall, it was a great place to relax after spendin the whole day out.

Only major complaint i would have for the place is that room did not have wifi. This was already made known during the booking. However, Wifi is avail in the lobby area, but there are tons of mosquitoes in the evening, so only use WIFI at lobby during the day.

Overall, i will still consider staying here again for my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Basara13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

This hotel is in a nice quiet part of the resort but only a very short walk away from all the bars and restaurants. The bedrooms and bathrooms are nice and clean and have plenty of storage which we have found lacking in other hotels. The staff are very welcoming and we were given cool drinks and cooling towels when we arrived. Our room looked over the pool area and you could see the sea. Unfortunately another hotel painted orange has been built to the side of hotel and this partly blocks out the view. The breakfast was good although the same every day, and you could cook your own bacon on the grill so that you could have it how your liked. The pool area was nice with 3 pools. Beach and pool towels are provided clean daily. This is ia nice hotel and would have no hesitation going back there, It is a little bit tired but they are updating and have now put tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lulubelleEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Arrived there and was found staff not very helpful. They insisted that I had to pay for my child's brkfast but I had booked via hotelclub.com and they had already informed me that there was a promotion for kids and I needn't have to pay. I was smart enough to bring along a copy of my chat transcipt. They also tried telling me that I have to pay as my child is 5 years old, when in actual fact she is only 4 (she turns 5 only in nov). After showing them the transcript, they called to say that ok, I didnt have to pay. Room was so-so and we got one that was just facing some trees. Restaurant looked old and the whole place was really in need of a re-furbishment. The only saving grace was its location, which was close to the night market and their omelette at brkfast.
Also, on the 2nd night, around 9pm, a staff had opened our room on the pre-text to checkif we had checked out. He was completely taken abackand jsut made some excuse to deny. We didnt sleep very well that night!
In all, I wouldnt recommend this place---there are many others which looked better!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shals20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My husband & I stayed at Krabi La Playa for a weekend. The staff were very polite and helpful. We had a room with an access to the pool which is a gem. We went swimming at Midnight. Weather was beautiful and I loved their pool bar. The bartender was great and chatty he made a very good mojito. I had a massage in the hut by the pool. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reviews294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
1.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#25 of 111 in Ao Nang
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi La Playa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi La Playa Resort

Address: 143 Moo 3 Tambol Ao Nang | Amphur Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $43 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi La Playa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Krabi La Playa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi La Playa Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi La Playa Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing