We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comparing with other Krabi Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Somkiet Buri Resort
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed October 31, 2007

I stayed in a Superior room on the 2nd floor for 2 days. I regretted for being greedy to change to another hotel (Duang Jai) for exposure of different Krabit resort. Let me praise:
1. Very spacious with big balcony (2 bed chairs) facing the "jungle".
2. No worries for mosquitoes (even when I am out at balcony for hours).
3. Spa is good (above THB1000). I enjoyed the 3.5hr Lila Luxury Spa(THB3200). It is in enclosed treatment hut where you enjoy the spa alone in peace. You also get to bathe in a private garden (a close touch of nature). I would advise you to skip the Facial.
4. Resturant food very expensive. But if you don't mind paying, must try the pineapple rice at THB250.
5. Swimming pool is ok
6. So close to nature that walking to my room has to pass by path of trees and a pond. But path light is a bit dim (bring your torch)
7. Staff speaks English (I guess only Asian understand) but they do understand your needs. Think! Why complain when you yourself don't know how to speak their country language?
8. Beach is near and not crowdy (maybe due to this low season)
9. Resturant and bar is near. Much cheaper.
10. The resort is so comfortable that I didn't move around, so I can't comment anything outside the paradise.
11. Try to arrange check-out an hour beforehand, because the queue will get jam with only English-speaking people.
12. You can get a tuk tuk to phuket town at the same price with the local bus. Ask the tour agency around.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TeSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 386 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2007

This resort was unbelievable.. set in a rainforest location it was magnificent. The rooms were spacious and clean and above average with good air con. The breakfast was average but had enough choice to keep you going till lunchtime, location was fantastic, nothing beats eating your breakfast outside surrounded by nature. We didnt eat in the restaurant at night but it looked very tasty, fresh seafood on ice etc. Staff extremely frienly and would do anything for you.
The pool was beautiful, very shaded by the trees but that adds to the atmosphere of the place.
The resort is about a 3 minute walk away from the beach/ main strip with restaurants, stalls, shops etc and where you catch the longtail boats to Railey etc. But you cannot hear a thing from your rooms, you wouldnt realise how close it is.
Would recommend to everybody!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank allyjoy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

My husband, son (age 9) and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid-August 2007. Fun hotel!

This place is located about a 5 minute walk from the beach in Ao Nang. It is off of the main road down a long driveway so it is quiet and secluded. It's right at the edge of a taro field so it really feels exotic! The landscaping is really jungley - trees with vines, ponds with lots of frogs and small lakes filled with lotus blossoms. The pool is large - since the hotel was designed by an artist the pool is very organic with stones arranged into seastar shapes and dolphins. They could use a few more chaise lounges but there were always some available if we wanted them.

Our room was very large, clean and quiet. We had a lower floor room with a balcony that was directly over a beautiful lotus pond. The sounds of the jungle at night were truly amazing - someone in an earlier post suggested the sounds were piped in through speakers - they obviously have never stayed in the jungle before! Everything you hear is really there! We found many frogs, cicadas and other insects that make this place their home.

The breakfast was fine - toast, eggs, fruit - nothing spectacular but it was all good. We also ate dinner at night in the open air palapa restaurant - the food was great and the price fair!

The service we received was excellent! We didn't have a reservation but were welcomed and given a tour of the hotel by a very friendly Thai girl who went out of her way to show us around. The only indication that this hotel is Muslim owned is the arrow on the ceiling pointing to Mecca if you feel the urge to drop to your knees to pray...everyone who works here is gracious and lovely.

The only reservation I would have in staying at this hotel would be if I had young children. Because of the jungle theme, there is a walkway to some of the rooms along the back of the hotel that has a very low railing - a young child could easily fall off into the taro field! Other than that, older kids will love this place. My son really had a good time chasing frogs, looking at the giant koi they keep in the ponds, swimming in the pool, and trying to find the insects that made all of the jungle sounds.

We recommend the Somkiet Buri!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anita40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We recently returned from Thailand (our 4th visit) where we spent 4 nights at the Somkiet Buri resort. I booked this hotel through Sawasdee.com (who were brilliant by the way!). I was really looking forward to staying there as the reviews on Sawasdee were good but the whole experience was quite dissapointing. Firstly, the room smelled really damp. This is not surprising as the resort grounds are completely overgrown with plants of all kind, which looks nice but it's not very practical when you build a hotel in the middle of it all. It felt like staying in the jungle! Unfortunately, the grounds at this hotel are not maintained at all and the paths and pool area are overgrown. All this jungle also means that there are creatures of all kinds living everywhere - we saw mainly mosquitos and cockroaches. The staff were quite miserable - very unusual for Thailand. Breakfast was awful and after first day we did not bother. Also, every evening the restaurant was empty (not surprising given the fantastic choice of cheap restaurants on the main strip where you will not get eaten by mosquitos) and the staff were just sitting around smoking or surfing the net - it really did not give good impression of the place! Overall, the hotel does not look bad and the rooms are nice but the whole place seems to be managed very badly. We saw so many nice hotels in Krabi so plenty to choose from - I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bambulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank dvt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2007

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Annafromsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2007

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank katy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.7 mi away
Timber House Resort
Timber House Resort
#69 of 111 in Ao Nang
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krabi Heritage Hotel
Krabi Heritage Hotel
#49 of 111 in Ao Nang
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
BlueSotel Krabi
BlueSotel Krabi
#28 of 111 in Ao Nang
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ava Sea Resort
Ava Sea Resort
#77 of 111 in Ao Nang
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aonang Silver Orchid Resort
1.3 mi away
Krabi Aquamarine Resort
Krabi Aquamarine Resort
#43 of 111 in Ao Nang
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somkiet Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somkiet Buri Resort

Address: 236 Moo2 | Ao-Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range: $43 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somkiet Buri Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and bedfinder AG so you can book your Somkiet Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somkiet Buri Hotel Ao Nang
Somkiet Buri Krabi
Somkiet Buri Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing