We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Great value hotel, convenient location””
Review of J. Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
J. Hotel
Ranked #61 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Good hotel for one nite. Hotel strategic is good, locate center, easy to get food,spa, tour guide, tuk tuk, shopping and just walk 5 to 10 minutes to beach. The hotel room is big. Just the service will be a bit bad and toilet have the bad smelt.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlackCloudly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 275 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here two nights, 1st to 3rd of January. We booked from England back in November and prepaid the stay through Agoda. On arrival the girl at reception was not friendly at all like most places in Thailand. This is our 10th consecutive trip to Thailand over Christmas so I can say at least that I've seen many hotels in the course of this time, anyway... We were given a room at the fourth floor, with twin beds. We are a normal man/woman couple so this is the first thing to try to understand. I went downstairs and asked to be changed room, as we saw that next door room had a double bed. Unwilling but they changed it. On the way down to reception they had left opened the doors of two rooms at the third floor, which obviously were empty. We entered to see the rooms and they are much better than the one we had. Obviously they keep them for people coming looking for a room as they are nice and if someone sees them would surely like them. As we prepaid we were last priority and for as much complain they wouldn't care. Positive is the view from that terrace in the fourth floor and the location of the hotel as it is right in the center of Ao Nang. I asked to have a late check out paying the difference, actually I wanted only 3 more hours, and they denied it. On the positive they allowed us to use a bathroom on the ground floor to have a shower before heading to the airport as we were coming from the beach and it was very hot so we needed a shower. I won't say do not stay here, but surely I do say DO NOT PREPAY IN ADVANCE.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edolondon1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

J hotel is the strategic hotel for us to explorer or to spend our holidays in Krabi as we easy to get transportation, muslim restaurant, cle and near by all the shopping area. It also can find 7 eleven near by. From this hotel only 5 to 10 minute to the beach.From the hotel we can see nice view at night from the balcony.Around this hotel, we can also find travel agent and spa for us to book with reasonable price. If we have 2nd chance to Ao Nang, we will choose the same hotel for our stay. We also recommend to all the family or travellers to stay here as the rate is not expensive and staff is helpful

Room Tip: Recommend to have room with balcony as this room is big and facing to the view of night life
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imah-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Good hotel for one or two night. We arrived in ao nang beach without any reservation and we found j hotel. As we were the 1 november, the high season began but the lady at the reception gave us the room with the low season rate as we stayed only one night. It was very nice, so we paid 700bath instead of 1200. We got a room on the rooftop (4th floor) which was nice as we got a good view of ao nang beach. The room got the air conditioning but it doesnt really refresh the room as we got window door and the room is pretty small. It was ok for one night

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kahiyouki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights earlier this year. It's very basic but nice and clean, the staff are nice and helpful and its located just a short walk from the beach and shops. The room charge was 600 Baht per night for a large double room so all in all its excellent value for money. There's plenty of things to do if you like to be active and there's nice beaches and restaurants if you just like to relax. The best Resturant we found was called Tanta and you go past it when walking from the hotel to the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This has been the worst of the hotels we experienced during our 14 days in Thailand.
At our arrival on a november rainy day (fourth in a row) ,the receptionist welcomed us with a cold smile and assigned a fourth level budget room. The sea view was pretty fine,but the room terrible..hair everywhere on the floor, the sensation that the room hasn't been cleaned for long time.
After my complain they gave us a ground floor twin room which seemed to be slightly better, but after few seconds we realized it was a kind of rubbish deposit : old and dirty furniture, awful smell of rubbish, soft beds with ants, flies,mosquitoes..
Please avoid this place, it's very close to the beach (5mins walk) but there are plenty of other budget options all around.
I have no idea how it's possible to give so many high rates to this hotel/.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mytheprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Got everything we needed staying at J hotel.
Good location - very close to Ao Nang beach (you can also take the boat to Railay beach), shopping area (yet its quiet at the hotel), food, travel agencies etc.
The hotel rooms are spacious (even bathroom), spotless, including WIFI, A/C, daily cleaning and water supply. Staff is polite and helpful, all this for great price.
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
4.2 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#35 of 111 in Ao Nang
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Nakara
The Royal Nakara
#47 of 111 in Ao Nang
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#75 of 111 in Ao Nang
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green View Village Resort
Green View Village Resort
#53 of 111 in Ao Nang
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sabai Mansion
Sabai Mansion
#49 of 111 in Ao Nang
215 reviews
0.7 mi away
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
iCheck Inn Ao Nang Krabi
#37 of 111 in Ao Nang
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J. Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J. Hotel

Address: 23/3 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $22 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — J. Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your J. Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
J. Hotel Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing