We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafront hotel with good staff”
Review of Aonang Buri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aonang Buri Resort
Ranked #62 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Seafront hotel with good staff”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Nice size rooms just the right distance from the centre of town and near the boats to go to tonsai and railay beaches. Strange smell from the swamp behind the resort but otherwise was happy with the resort. It is not on Ao Nang beach and you need to get a tuk tuk to get into the centre.

Room Tip: Ask for one up high for a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caoimhinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    118
    72
    24
    26
See reviews for
37
118
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We were arranging this booking via AirAsiaGo so you could say that it was a pretty random choice and there was only hope that we chose a good one. And thankfully it was an alright choice.

Ao Nang Buri Resort is situated along Nopparathara Beach and NOT along Ao Nang Beach as most online users have mentioned.If you'd like to be in the most happening spot, I would suggest you to get a room somewhere along Ao Nang Beach (where most of the markets and the happenings are).

We stayed at Ao Nang Buri for four nights, somewhere in mid August. Staffs were really friendly, assisted us with wherever we wanted to go, breakfast was alright (not much of choices) but really delicious, especially their Thai food. Room was really well done up, even romantic, unfortunately the pool felt quite lonely. It seemed like us and another family were among the ones splashing around.

All in all, it was alright value for money. Massage parlours and bars are just a few minutes by. Beach is almost by the doorstep, but doesn't seem like it's the famous one. But the mini transportation are everywhere! So don't stress about moving about so much, they will bring you wherever you want to.

Just make sure you're comfortable with what you're paying :)

Review from : http://jacqkie.blogspot.com/2011/09/krabi-ao-nang-buri-resort-2011.html

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel. The room was very nice and comfortable. The pool is nice as it offers some shade most of the day. We had a room with direct pool access which surprised us a lot - there are only seven or so such rooms in the hotel and we booked a standard room. Perhaps the hotel was full and we got an upgrade when checkin-in early (before official check-in time so maybe „our” room wasn't cleared yet and we got a better room as we were staying for one night only)?

The service is very good. The reception supervisor is very helpful. However we had trouble communication in English with some other woman at the reception when the supervisor was not around.

We didn't have a chance to check the breakfast as we were leaving 6:30am to the airport. They were so nice that they prepared a take-away sandwich + yoghurt + fruits breakfast for us which was waiting for us at the reception. They also organized us transport to the airport at a standard taxi rate.

We really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b79pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Best Place to relax at Krabi for a perfect holiday. Book a scooter for as many days as you are there and visit the nearby location for a excellent dining experience. Expecially the dinner locations right next to the beach.The breakfast spread at Aonang buri was also a good experience. Very affordable, good location, good service, good food.

Room Tip: Opt for the delux rooms which open up to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayan_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in the Buri Resort, would probably remove the word "Resort" from the title. Stayed on the 3rd floor. We had a room with a good pool view. I had to carry my own bag up 3 floors on arrival as the bell boy walked in front of me. There are no elevators in this hotel so the lower the better. The rooms were clean but a bit worn out, especially the bathroom. You can't flush the toilet paper down the toilet. Freaked my friend out having to put it in a bin but I have seen this before. Still not ideal. The pool has a funny green haze, I stayed out of it. The location is about 5-10 min walk away from the main strip. There are a few bars and restaurants across the road from the hotel but nothing flash. You can jump on the long tail right outside the hotel. If I went back to Aonang I would probably go somewhere else but if you are looking to travel on the cheap it is a decent choice.

Room Tip: Pool room access were by far the best looking as you had your own private deck. The rooms are all ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We picked this hotel because we got 3 nights free with some credit card airmiles and it seemed the best of what we had to choose from. We stayed at the end of Nov/beginning of Dec. 2011. We got upgraded to a Deluxe room on the main floor with a patio and easy access to the pool. Our room had a funky/swampy smell to it the first night probably due to the fact the hotel was not very busy and room hadn't been used for awhile. This issue cleared up (or we would have left). The room was mostly clean, if you didn't inspect it real hard or look in the corners. The aqua tile in the bathroom does give it a dated feel and the hot water seemed a bit spotty for showers. Bed was a typical Thai bed, kinda hard, but there was no real issue with it (it was better than some of the others we slept on). The pool was nice-no issues. All the people at the reception were helpful and very nice. The beach right across the street is not the best one in the area since there are lots of shells everywhere, but when we were there there was nobody on the beach so it provided a great walk--we walked all the way down to the national park where there is a good sheltered swimming area.

Aonang is a little on the crazy tourist side and we were very happy once we saw it that we were staying outside of this main craziness. The walk from the hotel is about 10 minutes and a Tuktuk only costs 20Baht if you don't want to walk.

There are two long tail boat operations--one directly across from the hotel and one just a little ways down the beach towards Aonang. The drawback is that they won't leave until they have at least four people if not more for Railay. We also could not get a boat back to this location--only to Aonang. So if you are going to Railay I would just get a one way ticket and buy another one way in Railay. (There are about 5 or 6 different companies and they wear different shirts. Some companies are better at getting people than others, which is important because you can be waiting a long time to fill your boat up.)

We found this hotel good enough as a base camp for what we wanted to do. If you want to be close to town but in hustle and bustle of town, this is a decent option. However, if/when we go back, we will skip Aonang all together and just head to Railay, which we preferred.

Room Tip: I think rooms higher up probably have an ocean view--but don't know for sure since we were on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodswoman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Agreeing with other reviews, its not a super cool super luxurious hotel but nevertheless its not bad either... i kind of liked it. We went to Krabi on christmas weekend to celebrate our anniversary. So the hotel provided a little decoration with rose petals and all... we took the standard superior room with a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Actually I dont think one needs to spend a lot on a room when you are going to stay out visiting islands and doing things for good 10 hours a day. All you need to do is come back relax in the balcony, take a shower and go to bed, eh?
Nice clean room, no stinky toilet, air condition worked fine, sliding glass doors to the balcony. they provide good quality slippers in room, can wear the same to the beach, no need to bring your own. Breakfast included everything like fruits, sausages, eggs, rice, noodles, juice, coffee, croissants, atleast one type of each, no variety though. But who eats that much at 7am in the mrng. Coz you better leave for island tours and rock climbing at 8am everyday if you want to do it all at a relaxed pace.
Not to forget the location of the resort. Its right in front of the Nopparattara Beach, not that good for swimming but quite a view when having breakfast. two beach bars right there, one of them sells amazing coconut water also. Not far from the main ao nang beach, 40 bahts by tuk tuk. You get down anywhere on that straight beach road which runs along the beach in 40 bahts. Just five minutes to good food, beach markets, tour booking shops, etc. I think the resorts which are in front of ao nang beach are a little more expensive and noisy as compared to ao nang buri.
They even had a christmas gala dinner organised with food and thai dance though we preferred going out on our own. Just dont get tours and taxi transfers booked from any hotel, coz they charge more when you can bargain better out on the street.
All in all no regrets staying here.

Room Tip: rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the swimming pool which can be a little discomfortin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray_Of_Hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Aonang All Seasons Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
#38 of 108 in Ao Nang
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ao Nang Beach Resort
Ao Nang Beach Resort
#70 of 108 in Ao Nang
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#27 of 108 in Ao Nang
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ananta Burin Resort
Ananta Burin Resort
#40 of 108 in Ao Nang
608 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Buri Resort

Property: Aonang Buri Resort
Address: 118 Moo3, T Aonang, Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aonang Buri Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonangburi resort is located close to Aonang and Nopparattara beach, consisting of 70 air-conditioning rooms, facilities include balcony, colour satellite television, bathtub with hot and cold water, telephone and mini bar. Each room is convenient full option surrounding by swimming pool and sea view. It is the perfect choice for relaxing,we are also provide all local trip, diving, elephant-treking, canoeing, etc to serve you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aonang Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Buri Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Buri Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing