We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quiet stay with excellent service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Krabi Thai Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Krabi Thai Village Resort
Ranked #55 of 105 Hotels in Ao Nang
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice quiet stay with excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed at Krabi Thai Village Resort in apparently the best time of year. The place was a ghost town. At most we saw maybe 4 other couples during the 4 days we were there. At breatkfast there were about 6 staff with only about 4 of us guests eating. What more could you ask for?

The hotel is very nice, excellent pool with bar, nice rooms with bathtubs which open out to the view. The room had all the amenities of a modern hotel, fridge, tv, etc. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Location wise, they're a bit off the beaten track. They're about a 15 minute walk from Ao Nang downtown and the beach. It's an easy walk and not really a big deal. One nice benefit is there is a travel agency across the street and just down a little ways towards town called Starlight Travel & Tour. They have the best tour prices we found (and we checked at least a dozen places in town). We booked the Phi Phi island tour for 800THB and it was a great tour!

The only food we ate in the hotel was the buffet breakfast which was included in our package. It was a standard buffet with omlet bar, meats, breads, cereal etc.

Only bad thing I can think of is the ants... Thailand has these little micro ants that you can barely see. They seem to be everywhere. They were on the buffet tables (although we didn't see them actually touching any food), they were in our room, and on our porch. The only time they caused a problem was when we were trying to boil water in our room. Whenever we did that, we found ants floating in our water... But I seriously can't fault the hotel for the ants. I think it's just part of Thailand and I'd rather have a few ants than a bunch of toxic spray to kill them.

Shopping...we've been to a few places in Thailand, Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Phuket, but Ao Nang has the best prices anywhere. We actually waited on a few things to see if prices would be better in Bangkok at ChatuChak Market, but they were higher. If you see something you like, bargain it down and buy it. Don't wait.

I would recommend this hotel. I'd stay there again.

P.S. Fun hint, at night, pay attention in the stairwells and you sometimes see little bats flying through. Really cool!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sigepotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    280
    143
    56
    36
See reviews for
136
379
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Just stayed here for 6 nights , nice quiet hotel with 2 swimming pools .

Food good , just round corner from loads of restruants as well

Rooms were very nice , very clean , and staff were very friendly

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martin310Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

This is the second time we have been to KTV and this time it was much busier in Feb than it was in May. Having said that, the place is big enough that everyone can find a quiet corner to sunbathe and we never had problems getting loungers.

The food is very goo too with a huge range of buffet food at breakfast. It can get busy at peak times but its never a problem.

We rented a car this time and has great fun exploring along the coast, finding deserted beaches to watch the sun go down. The tour desk in reception organised the car which was new and air conditioned.

The rooms are beginning to look a little dated now but everything works and its spotlessly clean and well maintained.

Its a short walk to the main road where restaurants and bars are but we like that as we could walk off our supper! Tuk Tuk ride is about 20p if you are feeling lazy!

Room Tip: be brave and have the curry for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stagman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Stayed here last May but forgot to write a review :/

The hotel was lovely! The pools were beautiful, the grounds were stunning and the rooms were great too.

The location was perfect, tucked away- 10 minute walk to the beach. Ao nang beach was beautiful, so was raleigh beach.

We did several trips, 4 islands, maya bay, hot springs, Tiger temple. Tiger temple is not for the weak. 1237 steps (steep steps) up a big mountain. I'm still debating whether the view was worth the physical torture!!

We also rented mopeds and had them for 24 hours for £5! Well worth it- the roads were fine. Just make sure you're insured!

Make sure you go out for food as all the restaurants we ate in were amazing. We had B&B at the hotel and ate out everyday. The fish restaurant on the beach was our most expensive- £40 for 2 of us for so much food and drink. We also ate the food from the side of the streets as it was lovely, and at the night market- that was worth a visit.

All in all our trip was the best I've ever had and the hotel was excellent. I'd recommend Krabi to anyone! It was pure paradise!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BRUCIE_lucy_Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2011

We were looking for a beautiful place to stay that was going to be a real Thai experience.
The room was large, the food and sevice was excellent. The staff just couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable.
The swim up bar was great for an afternoon cocktail.
Will recommend it to all of our friends.
Not as noisy as Phuket or Koh Samui, they are getting really crowded and busy.
We wanted a great holiday and Krabi Thai Village and Resort was perfect.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caz255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

we were a group of five. we had three rooms on the top floor (2nd floor) in block 1. no elevator but the stairs were easy to walk. the rooms were all spacious, clean and comfortable. the hot water shower was very good. the air-con was powerful but the temp control seemed to be out of control (too cold). we had to shift to the ceiling fans to 'warm up' the rooms from time to time. good amenities and tranquiile ambience. swimming pools were small but they were clean and well kept. Adequate sun chairs and pool towels. there was a decent clothes hanging stand on the balcony. There were trees everywhere. we saw quite a lot of exotic birds in the trees in front of our room doors. we even saw humming birds on two occasions!

Things we didn't like: two of the rooms got a stench from the drain hole in the shower frequently. the perfumed candles we brought along could not cure it. we ate our breakfast and had one dinner in the restaurant. the restaurant staff were pretty slow in clearing plates on the tables. most of them had the 'i don't like this job' look on their faces. breakfast was provided up to 10 a.m. on one occasion, we stayed after 10 a.m, chatting away. there was also another table of six. the impatience on the face of the restaurant staff became obvious. as soon as we finished the coffee, a male member of staff came up and took away the cups. he was murmuring something to himself. although we did not know the language, we could understand what it was about. so we left at 10.20. that said, we noticed all staff outside the restaurant were courteous and friendly. they never failed to greet you with a hearty smile and hello. the location was not so convenient but that was part of the price for the tranquility.

i had made enqs about the safe when i booked the rooms. the management replied in an email that the safes inside room were electronic safes. but when we checked in, we were given a heavy lock with a key for the safes and were told a charge of 3,000 Baht would be made in the case of loss of the key. we were advised that we could deposit the keys with the reception if we went out. (so what was the point of having a safe inside the room?)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MKNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

Thai Krabi Village has a nice 'Thai' feel to it, the gardens are beautiful and the pools are wonderful - (especially the swim up bar!) the rooms are spacious and comfortable and house keeping is immaculate.
We were on our honey moon, and they had a cute little cakes and drinks for us in our room.

The position is great as it is only a 5 - 10 min walk to the shops/food and beach, but that means it is away from the noise of the streets. The first bit of the walk is along is un kept with a little rubbish but that didn't bother us, it was just part of beautiful Ao Nang experience.
The breakfast was great, a mix of western and Thai, I enjoyed freshly cooked Thai omlettes each morning, my husband ate the curries, their western food was not so good, but the Thai food certainly made up for it!
The staff were very sweet especially the swim up pool staff who were always smiling, and happy to have a chat.
There was a 'whafty smell' every now and then, sometimes through the drains in the room but all in all it was a comfortable great value for money place to stay. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank NInbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Krabi La Playa Resort
Krabi La Playa Resort
#15 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#17 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.2 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
0.6 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Thai Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Thai Village Resort

Property: Krabi Thai Village Resort
Address: 260 Moo 2 Tambol Ao-Nang | Amphur Maung, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#18 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#22 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Krabi Thai Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Krabi Thai Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Thai Village Hotel Ao Nang
Krabi Thai Village Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing