We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, traditional indian!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maharaja

Maharaja
Ranked #4 of 259 Restaurants in Ao Nang
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great, traditional indian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

During our 10 day stay in Ao nang we ended up eating here at Maharaja three times, having only discovered it a few days before we left! The staff are friendly (and persistent) the food is reasonably priced and the taste is spot on! We had a giggle when the staff said we would be back everyday, well he was right!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DaniBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    60
    25
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best curry in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here twice now and highly recommend this place.
The chicken tikka is to die for, the best I have ever had and the staff are friendly and helpful.
Give it a try and I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank andiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“sorry”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

sorry to say not happy
it is in main market where We live near my hotel Aonang Villa. to giving a chance to try but food was cold and tasted like stale, service is to slow like untrained, restaurant looks nice and situated at good view but expensive without worth.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Highly recommend this restaurant, easy to find off the main road, very authentic cooking with fresh produce and spices. They serve both indian and thai traditional dishes, i recommend the tawa sizzler but dont go over a medium spice level, staff was very helpful and entertaining, they also offer 20% off all indian dishes

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dazroyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Greg (South Africa)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

EXCELLENT

We ate at the Maharaja last night.
Our order was taken very quickly and the meal also followed soon after.
We have a fair amoint of Indian restaurants at home and wanted a break from Thai cusine so we chose Indian
We ordered 3 curry dishes a raita, a butter naan , the portions are generous and the food delicous I can honestly recommend the vegetable curry.
We had a couple of drinks and we were pleasantly suprised with a 20 % discount.
The bill amounted to 890 baht.
If you are keen on Indian food give Maharaja a try.

Helpful?
3 Thank Flaxymans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Maharaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing