We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night life in Ao Nang”
Review of Ao Phra Nang

Ao Phra Nang
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.13*
and up
4 Islands Tour to Spectacular Divided Sea by Longtail or Speed Boat from Krabi
Ranked #16 of 55 things to do in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With an exotic climate, a fantastic climbing site and a nearby beach, Ao Phra Nang is a magnet for visitors to Thailand.
Ao Nang, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Night life in Ao Nang”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have yet to find a review on the night life in Ao Nang. I had just been to Centre Point and it was amazing. You could get any flavour of entertainment be it a chill bar, live music or a dj spinning a party anthem. We started of at the Little Longhorn. It attracted us due to it's unique cowboy style setting and a live band. Pretty decent band and you could also jam with the band. Then we went up to the 2nd floor to KR Bar (another live band pub) before hitting the dance floor at Chang Bar, where the DJ don't see, to stop spinning the music. A good night out I must say.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank azid11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    166
    72
    27
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chonburi, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“climbing in krabbi thailand”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

in 2011 me and my youngest son went to thailand and as he is a rock climbing instructor in the uk. he wanted to visit there for the first week . we had a connecting flight from bangkok to krabbi town about 1 hour, when you arrive in krabbi just get a taxi or baht bus to ao nang , which is a nice resort mainly families with much to do there . if you as the driver where you are going he will take you to the beach where you get a long tail taxi around the headland about 15 minutes . once there you will see it a quiet place with beach hut accommodation . with pathways leading up the slope with small restaurants and a few small bars . a good beach and a good place to swim too! the beach ends at the cliff face where all the people come to climb it is quite famous in the climbing world . for me i was taking pictures of my son and watched in awe as the climbers started their accent. not for the faint hearted i can tell you . but a good place to stay as you can go to ao nang as most do for the evening and there are many places to visit if you take the time to research the area like the islands and hot water springs caves and markets . it is so beautiful all around . . so take a look and see for yourselves regards john

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“ao nang”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

it was great for shopping down two sides of the street open till late

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank marilynwale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Famous and spectacular beach with long tail boat traffic and without services.”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a very beautiful and famous beach in Ao Nang. You can see all the to the Chicken and Poda Islands from here.

Next to the beach is a small island. As a big downside I'd mention the long tail boat traffic between the beach and the little island. It doesn't make you feel very safe and comfortable if you're in the water. Also, the beach doesn't have very much services such as its neighbor, the Railay beach.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A good base, quiet but not much to do in the rain!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We went to Ao Nang in June 2012. This was in the rainy season so we were expecting some rain but it was much wetter and windier than we expected which ruled out diving and most of the snorkelling (which was v v disappointing). This also meant we weren't able to do many of the boat tours - island hopping etc. With these out of the equation there wasn't that much to do.

Ao Nang appears to have become more touristy looking at recent reviews. We were always approached by people wanting us to come into their shops (there are only 4 types - tailors, tourist information (people selling tours), bars/restaurant and souvenirs) which was a bit tiring, but they did leave if you said no.

Tours - there are at least 20 places selling trips, and only about 4 companies actually running the tours. You can negotiate prices down easily, but there's not a lot of variation in the actual tours. The tours are often busy - there were about 50 in one of our speedboat tours and there were 4-5 other boats at each location. There are apparently many more in the high season so there is not a lot of space.

We got to Railay and Phra Nang cove via a wet longtail boat journey (cost 100 Bath for a single journey - about £2 each). They were nice beaches - although Railay East was quite smelly around the mangroves and better than the main Ao Nang beach.

We also went to the Tiger Cave temple (1237 steps but a great view) and Siam Thai cookery course which was good fun.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank gardner_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ao Phra Nang also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Ao Phra Nang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing