We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room for improvment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Beach Resort
Ranked #33 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Room for improvment”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here back in January, and the overall experience was OK. I’ll start off with the highlights; the location is great, beach front, in probably the best area for Ao Nang. The backdrop view from the swimming pool is breathtakingly beautiful and you feel like you are in a truly exotic location. As for the other things, the room I stayed in was the “deluxe” room, it was OK, and very clean, however it was somewhat old and tired looking, and as often with SE Asia is had a very musty smell. After cleaning the air conditioner filter myself, and use of an air freshener it was not too bad, (however this is obviously something one does not normally wish to do whilst on holiday). As for the food, both the décor of main semi open dining area together with its food (breakfast buffet) were very tired and completely uninspirational , something that would have been more acceptable back in the 1980’s. Given the huge demand for hotels like this, in such a location, it seems that the owners can successfully can charge their own price, but actual value for money, it’s rather poor; well during the peak season anyway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asia_expeditions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    382
    150
    68
    50
See reviews for
229
368
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I are extremely easy going, but this hotel was a complete rip off for what we paid. We stayed 5 nights at $240 a night in an "executive bungalow". We booked 3 months in advance and thought that these rooms were in a row facing the water. Only 3 are, and ours wasn't one of them. We had reserved a king bed, and received two singles. The room was always filled with mosquitos (there is openings in the bathroom) and no net was supplied like in the photos on their website. The whole area reeks like sewage, it wafted up our drains in the bathroom, and even the pool area stank. The beach is completely littered with garbage, obviously none of the hotels pay to have it cleaned up. None of the staff speak ANY english, everywhere else we stayed in Thailand that catered to tourists did. The hotel does not care about customer satisfaction, and did absolutely nothing to help make things right. It was hands down the most expensive place we stayed in all of south east asia, and is by far the worst place I have ever stayed and I really wish I hadn't.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Westcoast4866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is located right next to Ao Nang Beach, just across a pathway. It is also close to the shopping area and restaurants. While the beach itself is nothing great, it is the starting point of the boat tours to Hong Island, Lading Island etc. Our pavillion suite was located on the 1st floor of a round villa and it was an extremely comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Definitely the Pavillion Suite.... two rooms to a Bungalow... one on the ground and one on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Yes, the location is good, and the grounds are lovely. The breakfast is pretty decent actually. That is where it stopped for me. The first night a huge puddle of water had leaked into the room and the staff threw up reasons that i could not switch rooms. I asked for the manager on duty and was told that she had gone home for a while! So, the manager on duty, was NOT on duty. Yike. It was very difficult to get moved! The room i moved to was only fair and it had roaches. Yes, it was on the first floor. I didn't like that but i just decided to let it go. Also: you have to claim your spot at the pool EARLY in the day if you want a place to lounge. Plus, the infernal sounds of the longboat engines are not relaxing at all. The hotel is STILL continuing construction so be advised! I definitely have mixed feelings about this place, ugh.

Room Tip: Stay away from the first floor roaches. Ask for a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyTraveler324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is old, beach dirty and stuff rude. We booked the deluxe bungalows which supposed to be nice but we were shocked what we saw. Our room had dirty bed sheets, bathroom floor covered in mood and old carpets on tv table. When I asked for new sheets the reception sent a men who did not speak any english. It seemed as he was drunk as he entered the room smoking a cigarette. We did not even touch the brekfast as there were ants on the table. We checked the beach and it was very dirty with shells instead of sand. Not a beach you would like to have in Thailand. We were there with 2 other families and their rooms were as bad as our. Next day we decided to move out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerIS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The location of this hotel is pretty and the grounds are lovely, although the room and amenities are substandard for the price paid. This is one of the few resorts actually on the beach in Ao Nang and within walking distance of the city's shops and restaurants. That means that you do get a view of the beach while eating breakfast, which may be taken outside on the resort's large patio. However, the beach itself in front of the hotel is not that pleasant; there is a sewage drain not far away, and you can smell it in the air. I also smelled this from my room in the back of the property on certain days when the wind was unfavorable. Note that a small sewage treatment facility is right behind the hotel, and the first day I was there, a bunch of white foam was oozing out the top of it. This really is not the hotel's fault, but it is something to think about, as you may smell this when you are outside your room. You can also smell sewer at various points around Ao Nang at any given time, but this may be the case in many other places in Thailand. In terms of accommodation, I stayed in one of the deluxe rooms and found it to be very basic for the price paid. The flooring is old, there is little decoration, the chairs inside the room are not that comfortable and the bed is hard with only minimal bedding. Everything is run from an older central unit that is beside the bed. Some of the lights in my room did not work. That said, the bathroom was clean and the balcony was very pleasant with chairs, table and a view of palm trees. The pool was very nice and relaxing, although the chairs could fill up pretty quickly. Breakfast was decent and palatable but not fantastic. Staff at breakfast were friendly, but I did not feel as though staff at reception really cared that much. I found their procedure of looking over the room at check-out to ensure you haven't damaged or stolen anything to be rude. Overall, I would recommend the place for its location (fantastic views and no need to take a taxi to town or to go to the longboat launch). However, you should be aware that your initial perception of the place is likely to be unfavorable if you are used to staying in nicer hotels.

Room Tip: Paying extra for a bungalow or a nicer room might be a good idea if you can afford it; I would look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stp0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in one of the chalets right next to the beach and it was heavenly.. the hotel is right by the beach and only a few mins walk to all the shops and restaurants in the Ao Nang area.
The hotel offers some great tourism services and activities and rates on par with tours/activities rates elsewhere so you don't have to look around for better rates which was a great plus for Golden Beach.

The beach to the front.. loads of spa and massage parlours to the left.. shops and restaurants to the right.. mountain at the back (you can go up via a staircase.. a long one).. and all of this at a few mins walk.. you can't ask for much more..

The main restaurant offers great thai food.. one of the best we had in all of Krabi..

The only negative which can be ignored is that they can offer better breakfast.

ps. I would recommend getting the chalet then a room in the main building

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Moeez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#27 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.4 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#37 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Aonang Top View
Aonang Top View
#71 of 107 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Resort

Property: Golden Beach Resort
Address: 254 Moo2, T.Ao-Nang, Muang,, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Hotel Ao Nang
Golden Beach Krabi
Golden Beach Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing