We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Authentic Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Troy's Pad Thai

Troy's Pad Thai
Ranked #116 of 265 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Authentic Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

It's good value for money. And as it's off the main road, it's quite quiet and a nice place for chill out too. Food was excellent. Cooked with great effort by the mom (I presume).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Xinxuan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
thomovicky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Thai in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

After walking past this place several times from our hotel we were curious as to why it was so busy.

From the outside it looks nothing special however the amazing smells as we walked past finally lured us in.

The food is is a lot cheaper than the usual array of restaurants in town but the food itself could not be faulted.

The food was the best we tasted in Ao Nang & the service is excellent.

Definitely recommend choosing something from the BBQ & also the banana fritters are amazing!!!

Helpful?
Thank thomovicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were just exploring on our first day and chanced upon this place. Family-run business with friendly service and what tastes like home-cooked food. Nothing fancy but an authentic Thai eatery that local people seems to visit as well. The mango shake was a little bland.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stupidsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must go here, amazing home cooked Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Forget your commercial seafront restaurants, this is a place to eat! The place is very simple but yet the best food on the island! Family run business, very friendly and warm!
Most dishes are around 100bht, money well spent! We have been twice so far and coming again tonight! Drinks are cheap too! 100% recommend this place, our favorite so far! Xx

Helpful?
Thank Leafy786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
167 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best authentic Thai in Ao Nang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Was so disappointed in food quality and authenticity in Ao Nang until we found Troy's. Ate here 4 times and tried most dishes. Family run husband wife combo. All food was made from scratch and proper thai.

Location: on the hill road away from central Ao Nang. Directly across the road from Pakasai resort. Doesn't look like anything from the road but food was super.

Food: Thai food was excellent. Red and green curries were tasty, salads were proper spicy and fresh, sauce in pad Thai was tasty. Broth on soups and noodles were made from a great stock with so much flavor.

Values: all dishes were around 100 baht. Portion size was fairly sized for this price. Excellent value.

Service & place: chef came out and asked how you wanted your food. Old school Thai place with old school setting and friendly service.

Loved this place! Definitely give it a go.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Iloveshoesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Troy's Pad Thai also viewed

 

Been to Troy's Pad Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing