We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cliff Ao Nang Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cliff Ao Nang Resort
Ranked #84 of 106 Hotels in Ao Nang
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

First of all, i would like to start off by saying that my partner and i booked the Cliff Ao Nang resort as a three day treat to ourselves after staying in budget accommodation in Bangkok and Phuket. However, from the minute we arrived, things started to go down hill very quickly. The drink we received upon arrival was nothing short of foul tasting. We then were taken to our room. And that is exactly what it was... a tiny tiny room. The room was extremely dark and had an overwhelming smell of mould. Within five minutes of being in the room i was bitten at least three times by the mosquitos flying everywhere (There was a mosquito net for the bed but it was pointless as there were large holes in it everywhere). Not able to handle the overpowering stench of the musky mould or the mosquitos, we decided to order lunch and retreat out onto our not so private porch. after twenty mins, our food arrived and we began to eat. After a few minutes, i looked down at the ground (and thank god i did) and saw a huge two metre snake about thirty centimetres away from me! We immediately alerted staff and after about ten minutes of trying to communicate to them what the problem was they said everything was fine and that they would handle it. My partner and i then waited at least twenty mins before someone unenthusiastically came over to inspect the snake. They finally removed it and we retreated back inside. The next day we spent some time by the pool. Trying to relax, we were continuously interrupted by a woman that was sweeping the pool area over and over again (there was nothing to sweep)! There were even several instances where she would come right up to you and start sweeping right under our deck chairs while we were reading/ sun baking. The pool is also right next to the reception desk so we constantly were hearing the chatter and laughing of the staff. This was a real shame because otherwise, the pool area would have been quite a nice relaxing spot. By the third day, i felt so sick and heavy chested from the repulsive and overwhelming smell of mould in our room (i can not stress enough how bad the mould smell was) that me and my partner would do anything just to stay out of the room. Overall, this place was extremely run down and not well kept (there was rubbish everywhere in our outdoor showering area) and we found the staff not very welcoming. This was a real shame because we received much better facilities and service at our budget accommodation in Bangkok and Phuket. My partner and myself are not fussy people but we did not have a nice experience and the facilities are nowhere near the standard of the price that they are charging. We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms stink of mould and are swamped with mosquitos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Luke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    101
    49
    29
    39
See reviews for
27
176
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is my first visit Krabi and stayed 4 nights in Ao Nang.
Good location in An Nang and walkable distance to the pier.
Smiley staff there. All of them are so courtesy and willing to provide any travel information to you.
Good hotel accommodation and comfortable environment.
Set breakfast can be served in room or in their restaurant with enjoyable view however a little bit lack of choice.
The only small problem is the mosquito when take shower in outdoor bathroom (hahahahaha~)
Don't forget to bring mosquito repellent there!
Generally speaking, this hotel provide good quality and warmest service, highly recommend to all visitor and I will definitely go back next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunlunshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

First of all, the staff are excellent! Always helpful and smiley!!! Good location in Ao Nang, walkable distance to most eatery and bars.

Like many reviews mentioned before - please remember to let the staff know the night before of your breakfast choice. It is understandable as The Cliff is a boutique hotel, they want to be prepared and cater to their guests to the best that they can.

I was in room 108 (if i'm not wrong), the right corner unit behind the suite (left side of the pool). I killed at least 9 mosquitoes in the 1st hour - I'm obessed because I have an allergy to some of the mosquitoes where the area bitten would swell and turn into a bruise mark which will take ages to fade. I've requested for mosquito coils that I can burn in the semi-open air bathroom (where most of the mosquitoes come from). Be careful of your conversations in the bathroom as your neighbor can hear word for word if they are in the bathroom at the same time or left their doors opened.

My partner loves the mattress on concrete concept.

Walls were thin, I can hear the guests just arrived next door in the evening as we were getting ready to head out for dinner and I was dozing off after dinner after a big day out on the islands when the guests next room were talking, giggling, laughing etc. I had to call front office to let them handle it.

The hotel is showing its age, maybe time for some touch up- improving the bathroom: water heater system, fan to keep the area cool- it's an oven in the day (from the sun and the A/C compresser), sound proofing the walls between rooms and toilets, PLEASE do something about the mosquitoes (you get bitten for sitting on the throne in seconds).

In short, The Cliff is a charming boutique hotel, good location with a great backdrop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liz_t83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Love love love this hotel. This is a great hotel that I highly recommend. I'm sure there are other hotels in Ao anang that are just as nice or nicer, but the staff can't compare. I highly rate the staff, who are extremely courteous and helpful, (Thank you Nou). Like another reviewer mentioned communication is not an issue. The place looks exactly like the photos. I found the bungalow to be on the small side, but very very comfortable. I didn't find mosquitoes to be an issue while I was there ( I also used the net around the bed). I really loved the bathroom on the outside (one of the reasons why I chose this hotel), its of course private and secure, and I found it a novel experience. Breakfast was great, I enjoyed it every morning. The hotel is a short walk to the restaurants, shops and the beach, the shuttle to the airport is directly across the street. Highly recommend! I would def. return. I went solo but I saw quite a few couples though so I guess its a good honeymoon spot.
I did find it odd that the front desk closed at 11pm, why is that? But staff is still on the grounds.
Oh, I spend 4days, 3night

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fancylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my honeymoon. Really nice style little bungalows. Not the largest room but fine for us as you dont come to thailand to spend it in a room. Clean rooms. They serve breakfast to your room and the staff are super friendly. Highly recommend to anyone staying in ao nang. Short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed for 3 days 2 nights at this resort. We bought a package that includes longtail boat tour, 30 mins foot massage and 1 dinner for two. What i can say is, it is worth the money i paid. The room was quite small but we dont have problem with it. The room was clean, the outdoor bathroom is cute and unique. The tour was fun, and we had foot massage after came back from tour, which was really relaxing. We also had fun during dinner at the resort's restaurant. Food was tasty and service was excellent. The only problem we had only during when i made the booking for airport transfer. The management didnt reply my email and i had to call them to make sure they noted my arrival time. And another problem we had was, there were a few bees buzzing around the lamps at the bathroom but was easily solved by turning off the light. Overall, the staff were helpful, they served our breakfast in front of the room every morning and i got nothing to complain about this resort.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azmnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just returned from a 4 days/3 nights stay at The Cliff Ao Nang. There are some aspects that we liked and some that we didn’t.

Aspects that we liked about this resort:
1. The warm hospitality and quick service of all the staff there. They were courteous and communication wasn't an issue. The GM, Pimchana Kaewpadung was prompt in replying my enquiries through email. I need to mention that Mai in reception was very pleasant, friendly and helpful.

2. The natural and peaceful ambience of the resort- natural designs and lots of greens and lovely orchid flowers around. The fact that the hotel was away from the more happening area of Ao Nang beach worked well for us. As the hotel is situated away from the late night restaurants and bars, we weren’t disturbed by any loud music at night.

3. The resort’s location- We didn't mind that the beach was a 20 minute leisure walk away (or 15 minutes brisk walk). At least we got our daily dose of exercise and had to chance to do some souvenir shopping along the way. There are also many foreign exchange counters, restaurants, bars and taxi and tour companies along the route to the beach.

5. An assorted variety of TV channels- 25 channels all in all, not only Thai programmes, but also programmes in various other languages such as English, French, German, Italian, Dutch. There were 3 channels for children (one was in Thai), and mostly news and others like Bio, CI, Universal and travel channel. They don't have any sports channel though.

6. The food- The daily breakfast we had was tasty and sufficient. Three breakfast variety to choose from (Continental, American or local). All includes fresh fruit juice (orange/watermelon/ pineapple), coffee/tea/hot chocolate and fruits. We tried all three types and they were good. The continental breakfast portion may look small, but the pancake was filling. The 3-course dinner we had on the 2nd night was a little spicy but delicious. The portion was just nice for us.

7. Wifi connection- Upon check in, we were given the password for the Wifi access. The Wifi connection was excellent. No complaints there. For those without Wifi devices, there is a PC near the reception/ restaurant area with Internet connection. The Internet connection is also good there. The hotel also has printing services. If you use the PC, just beware of the mosquitoes around, especially during the late evening.


Aspects that we did not like about the resort:

1. MOSQUITOES!! There were so many of them every where. We tried to swat as many mossies as we could when we got to our room. A tip is to ALWAYS leave the room door and bathroom door close to reduce the chance of mosquitoes entering the room. We didn’t get bitten in our room as we did this. Bring along mosquito repellent as well and make sure you apply it before you go outside the room or around the hotel compound. Beware of the Aedes mosquito especially at dawn and dusk.

2. Uninvited guests in the outdoor bathroom and roof top- beside the pesky mossies, I saw a rat scuttling away when I was showering. That certainly made me jump! After this incident, I was wary when using the bathroom. On the second night, I heard them moving around on the roof and squeaking. Good thing is I didn’t find any rats faeces in the area. A unique looking frog also made its home at the corner near the toilet bowl, but I didn’t mind that so much as compared to the rats.

3. The water heater- It was inconsistent. Sometime it would be working and sometimes it shuts off itself. Because the shower is outdoors, it can get a little chilly when the wind blows. Make sure you have your bathrobe nearby.

4. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. However, I requested from the reception for a kettle and they sent a Thermos water dispenser to our room. Glasses were already provided in the room.

Some other tips:
-It is true that the room itself is small. However, we didn't mind as we didn't have a massive suitcase. However, those with huge suitcases would find it hard, but what you can do is unpack some stuff into the cupboard provided and then leave your suitcase upright.

All in all, I would say, for the price we paid and the service we received, it was a good stay. I would recommend this resort for a short getaway for couples. The room is just nice for two and it is ideal for a peaceful night’s rest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD_JT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.3 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#10 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
BlueSotel Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phranang Place
Phranang Place
#85 of 106 in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#22 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
#35 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliff Ao Nang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Ao Nang Resort

Property: The Cliff Ao Nang Resort
Address: 85/2 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 106 Hotels in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff Ao Nang Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff Aonang resort was Vote one of the top 50 most beautiful resort in Thailand by Tourist Authority of Thailand. Once you step inside, the staggering Cliff views will make you suddenly realize why this boutique resort cold not have another name. Here , the comfortable vintage style resort which has 21 luxurious guest rooms set among the lush tropical garden. Discover the truth of Krabi natural beauty, experience real serenity and tranquil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cliff Ao Nang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Ao Nang Hotel Ao Nang
Cliff Ao Nang Krabi
The Cliff Ao Nang Resort Krabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing