We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Fun!!”

Thai Charm Cooking School
Ranked #1 of 4 Food & Drink in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We would like to welcome you to our school. You will learn to cook with our master chef, Heng and Yok they have been cooking Thai food for over 8 years now. You can learn to make your own delicious and healthy. You will be able to cook like a Thai! Come and have a good time with us! Timetable Morning Pick up : 8.30-9.00 Am Return : 1.00 Pm. Afternoon Pick up :12.30 Pm -5.00 Pm. Diner. Pick up : 4.30-5.00 Pm. Return 9.00 Pm. The class size is limited to 10 persons. Yon can choose your 6 favorite dishes. All dishes can be either vegetarian ,vegan,non spicy or as spicy as you like. THE COST IS 1200 BAHT/PERSON
Bruton, United Kingdom
1 review
“What Fun!!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Recommended to go by a work colleague who attended a few weeks earlier, so two of us went to the evening lesson. Such a great evening, which included all ingredients, easy to follow step by step instructions by Yolk [a very enthusiastic, knowledgable and friendly lady] who guided us through all stages of preparation and cooking. You don't need to know how to cook, but it is also suitable for experienced cooks want to learn more. Pick up and return was included and the proof of the pudding was in the eating - we felt so full at the end and the food was sooo tasty!
Will go again if I get the chance to return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frost1es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    29
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lots of fun, great food, learned lots!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We chose this school not only because of the good reviews, but also because there is a maximum class size of 10 and each student gets their own cooking station (some schools had reports of over 20 to a class!) and cooks their own dishes. Another plus is that our husbands were able to come along to observe and partake in the food for only 200 baht each (including a ride to and from the hotel), and there was even wi-fi to keep them entertained. The class is given outdoors but in the shade, so really lovely on hot days, I would not have wanted to be stuck inside with all that heat coming from the gas burners. The class was fun - they even made it fun to pound curry paste in a mortar for several minutes. Also the food was delicious - highly recommend the penang curry! If you cook with commercial curry pastes at home, seeing the difference when you use the fresh stuff is amazing!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Queen_of_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So much fun! ”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Went with four friends and had an amazing time. The teacher, Heng, is an amazing guy with tons of energy and alot of humour.

The cooking itself was great fun with a perfect combination of DIY and prepared ingredients. Would definitely go again!

Helpful?
Thank joeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Cooking Class Ever!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My friend and I decided to take a cooking class while in Thailand and as luck would have it we signed on with the Thai Charm Cooking School. I had never done a cooking class previously and this was a great first experience. The young woman teaching the class spoke excellent English and was easy to understand and follow along. The only problem was way too much wonderful food and we couldn't eat the last dishes we made....had to take some of it back to the hotel. I would highly recommend taking an evening cooking class at this school - we even got to take in a quick tour around the local market which was fun. A relaxing and tasty evening.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KellyPhDOtago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ao Nang, Thailand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We visited the school with 5 adults and four children aged 8 to 13 and had a fantastic time. Everybody chose their dishes individually and with excellent instructions we all cooked Thai food like it tastes in the restaurants.

It is run by a charming young couple who made our visit quite memorable.

Highly recommended for families or couples who wish to learn how to cook great Thai food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Charm Cooking School also viewed

 

Been to Thai Charm Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing