We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Service and Cleanliness”
Review of Aonang Smile Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aonang Smile Hotel
Ranked #12 of 122 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
267 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 971 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Service and Cleanliness”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was great value for money. It was average price and excellent location, close to the beach and shops and everything just a short walk away.

The room was large enough and the bed comfortable. The breakfast so-so...nothing was outstanding but the point was we came to explore and spent all our time at the beach, taking tours and seeing the sites.

For value-for-money this place filled the spot. The beach is what you come here for anyway, and this hotel is fine for the average traveller.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Captain_Rob_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    88
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
91
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked for only 3 nights because we thought we'd check out other hotels once we arrived. We knew when we arrived that we didn't need to look around (although we did, just to be sure). The first thing you notice is the truly friendly staff. This friendliness only increased throughout our stay. The hotel is spotlessly clean and bright. We had 2 different rooms (since we extended our stay) and both were a very generous size with a king bed. Good wifi, English movie channel, lots of hot water, fridge and kettle made it just right. The location is less than 5 minute walk to the beach. Included breakfast was very good. We had to leave early on our last day, so they opened the kitchen early so we could have breakfast before we left. These people are great!
I would definitely recommend the Aonang Smile Hotel
Sorry, there is no pool or fitness centre but I was unable to correct this mistake.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ronnie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night before heading to East Railay. We booked through agoda and did specify we were coming in late from Phuket. Didn't anticipate how late after a four hour delay! Place was a little hard to find for the driver but eventually found it after some help from the locals. The lobby was in complete darkness but we spotted a man sleeping behind the desk who checked us in. Room was clean with hot water and aircon. Bed was a bit hard but that's usual for this part of the world. Was perfect for our needs to find a place to crash close to the long tails to be able to start our holiday in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mojoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had just amazing time on our vacation, thank you to his hotel staff! We had taken a last minute flight in the busiest travel time Christmas and New Years. And we had no hotel! After a while we found this place and the staff was just so sweet and went beyond their meets to serve us- the owner even drove us after a bus (we missed) for miles that we could go shopping, there were coconuts and fruits several times for us, books to read, sunhats to barrow.. And the price is so great! Always clean rooms and we had this amazing view from the room (even though it was the backyard or the bungalows below)- it looked like a jungle, I loved waking up to seeing the trees!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Siru T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had originally booked in at the Goodwill hotel the week earlier but were taken down to stay at the Smile hotel instead as Goodwill was fully booked and Smile was owned by the same people. The location of Smile was actually much better being only a 5minute walk to the beach so we were really happy.

The room was pretty basic but had a TV and fridge and it was clean with a comfortable bed so was absolutely fine. We also had good WiFi in the room so we could Skype with our parents on the balcony.

The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough. We had quite a lot of clothes laundered here and it was super cheap and we got them all back, lovely and clean later that day.

The location is superb. Literally just down the road from the beach and just off the main road where there are some great bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked 8 nights at the Aonang Goodwill, because it has a great reputation on this website. Imagine our surprise when we were were picked up at the airport by Goodwill, and then driven to this place, Aonang Smile. The same owner owns both properties and said Goodwill was fully booked (never mind that we booked 3 months early!) so we had to stay here. With all of our luggage, and it being peak season (we arrived on Christmas Eve) what could we do? It wasn't an obvious dump, so we checked in.

The first day sucked. There was no hot water, the wifi was down for more than a day (we wanted to talk to our families on Christmas!), the room was full of mosquitoes, the neighboring hotel was loud, and the room had a major ant infestation. Like hundreds of ants marching right into our fridge!

The room is very basic. That's okay sometimes if it's clean, but bug-ridden is not clean in my books. The furniture and TV are old and unattractive, but the bed is comfortable and the AC works well. The location is pretty close to the beach, so we were happy about that.

When we checked out we were annoyed once again by the amateurish staff. We had booked a taxi to the airport for 10:15, but the taxi driver wasn't available until 10:30. The staff didn't bother telling us this information. When it was time to pay the bill we were told that we had to go up to the Aonang Goodwill to pay it! So we're checking out to catch a flight and they don't tell us our cab would be late OR that we have to go 10 minutes up the road and back to pay our bill. It was ridiculous. We had a flight to catch. If they'd told us this the night before we could have taken care of it no problem.

The worst part was coming home to find out that the hotel had charged our credit card three times for the stay! The hotel could have been fine as a very basic place to stay, but the amateur staff really affect your stay too much. With all that, I'd say for a little over $50 a night (or $150 if those charges don't get refunded!) it was our most unimpressive and the most expensive room of our 3-week southeast Asia trip... you could find something better... or at least something better run!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eatsvegetables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

A really nice hotell, started out with two nights but ended up staying for six. It's clean, got comfortable beds and large bathroom with shower. Friendly but slightly confused staff, probably due to lack of english. Would definietly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yasminarafat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.0 mi away
J. Hotel
J. Hotel
#57 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#20 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#10 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#27 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vogue Resort & Spa Ao Nang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Smile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Smile Hotel

Property: Aonang Smile Hotel
Address: 23/4 Moo 2, Aonang, Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aonang Smile Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aonang Smile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Smile Hotel Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing