We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Siru K
Helsinki, Finland

How super can the staff be!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 22, 2013
We had just amazing time on our vacation, thank you to his hotel staff! We had taken a last minute flight in the busiest travel time Christmas and New Years. And we had no hotel! After a while we found this place and the staff was just so sweet and went beyond their meets to serve us- the owner even drove us after a bus (we missed) for miles that we could go shopping, there were coconuts and fruits several times for us, books to read, sunhats to barrow.. And the price is so great! Always clean rooms and we had this amazing view from the room (even though it was the backyard or the bungalows below)- it looked like a jungle, I loved waking up to seeing the trees!
Date of stay: January 2013
Trip type: Traveled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$33
  • travelup.com
    $79
  • Agoda.com
    $27
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Aonang Smile Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$149
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
    $116
  • travelup.com
    $140
18.0 miles from Aonang Smile Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Phi Phi the Beach Resort is a dream location for any visitor looking for either an eventful or relaxing holiday. Situated on the quiet Long Beach, which overlooks the stunning Maya bay island, our hillside villa views are unbeatable.
Booking.com
$65
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    $59
  • Priceline
21.2 miles from Aonang Smile Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $59
  • Agoda.com
    $46
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Aonang Smile Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
travelup.com
  • Expedia.com
    $122
  • Agoda.com
    $61
  • Hotels.com
    $122
0.1 miles from Aonang Smile Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $42
  • Agoda.com
    $36
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Aonang Smile Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $102
  • Agoda.com
    $98
  • Priceline
19.1 miles from Aonang Smile Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $53
  • Agoda.com
    $51
  • Hotels.com
    $90
20.6 miles from Aonang Smile Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Ao Nang
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
61
98
30
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
61
98
30
6
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 199 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had originally booked in at the Goodwill hotel the week earlier but were taken down to stay at the Smile hotel instead as Goodwill was fully booked and Smile was owned by the same people. The location of Smile was actually much better being only a 5minute walk to the beach so we were really happy.

The room was pretty basic but had a TV and fridge and it was clean with a comfortable bed so was absolutely fine. We also had good WiFi in the room so we could Skype with our parents on the balcony.

The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough. We had quite a lot of clothes laundered here and it was super cheap and we got them all back, lovely and clean later that day.

The location is superb. Literally just down the road from the beach and just off the main road where there are some great bars and restaurants.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GemmaB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked 8 nights at the Aonang Goodwill, because it has a great reputation on this website. Imagine our surprise when we were were picked up at the airport by Goodwill, and then driven to this place, Aonang Smile. The same owner owns both properties and said Goodwill was fully booked (never mind that we booked 3 months early!) so we had to stay here. With all of our luggage, and it being peak season (we arrived on Christmas Eve) what could we do? It wasn't an obvious dump, so we checked in.

The first day sucked. There was no hot water, the wifi was down for more than a day (we wanted to talk to our families on Christmas!), the room was full of mosquitoes, the neighboring hotel was loud, and the room had a major ant infestation. Like hundreds of ants marching right into our fridge!

The room is very basic. That's okay sometimes if it's clean, but bug-ridden is not clean in my books. The furniture and TV are old and unattractive, but the bed is comfortable and the AC works well. The location is pretty close to the beach, so we were happy about that.

When we checked out we were annoyed once again by the amateurish staff. We had booked a taxi to the airport for 10:15, but the taxi driver wasn't available until 10:30. The staff didn't bother telling us this information. When it was time to pay the bill we were told that we had to go up to the Aonang Goodwill to pay it! So we're checking out to catch a flight and they don't tell us our cab would be late OR that we have to go 10 minutes up the road and back to pay our bill. It was ridiculous. We had a flight to catch. If they'd told us this the night before we could have taken care of it no problem.

The worst part was coming home to find out that the hotel had charged our credit card three times for the stay! The hotel could have been fine as a very basic place to stay, but the amateur staff really affect your stay too much. With all that, I'd say for a little over $50 a night (or $150 if those charges don't get refunded!) it was our most unimpressive and the most expensive room of our 3-week southeast Asia trip... you could find something better... or at least something better run!

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eatsvegetables
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

A really nice hotell, started out with two nights but ended up staying for six. It's clean, got comfortable beds and large bathroom with shower. Friendly but slightly confused staff, probably due to lack of english. Would definietly stay here again!

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yasminarafat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 26, 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews