We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value great food”
Review of Wanna's Place

Wanna's Place
Ranked #43 of 270 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: Asian, European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wanna’s Place Restaurant located direct at the beachfront of ao nang with breathtaking view to the andaman seaproviding varieties of Thai and Swiss dishes.SPECIAL"STEAK ON HOT STONE"
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great value great food”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

visited this place twice well in aonang would have used more often but always busy. quality food and not expensive you can eat from 100 baht and a realy good steak is 600 more than likely the best value restaurant for this standard of food in aonang

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stuonefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    164
    75
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The steaks that we had here were delicious and it was fun to cook them ourselves. The fishfingers we got for our kids were great too!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NickyFairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This restaurant was ranked number 1 so we were excited to try it out. But, we're not sure why it's number 1..... I'm guessing it's because people didn't try many other restaurants and feel the need to have food they get back at home?? The food was fine, service was fine - no complaints, but we choose not to come back because the other restaurants on the strip had better flavor/spices in their food, better prices, better drinks and better atmosphere. So, in all, nothing against the restaurant, but maybe it should be ranked as number 15..... not number 1.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seatsaleseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanscheidegger, Owner at Wanna's Place, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We were a little surprised to note that you rated our restaurant 3 stars for Value, Atmosphere, and Food (thank you), and even a 5 star rating for Service. But slightly bemused as to why your overall rating was 2 stars?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food but not blown away”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went to Wanna restaurant based on it being the best rated restaurant in Ao Nang so was expecting great thing which sadly did not live up to expectations.

The food is good but not that authentic, we ordered Green Curry for example and compared to others we had eaten before it did not deliver in the aromatic flavour, everything was cooked great, no fault there at all. But did not feel like I had just had the best curry in Thailand. The other dishes kind of fell short as well apart from the Squid Spicy Salad which was a revelation.

Service wise we seemed to get served by every member of staff there, which clearly confused them, some staff did not know what the food was that we were ordering which proved confusing for us as the menu is Swiss / Thai combination and not very well described in English, plus it really lacked dishes for appetisers.

We had seriously good cocktails, so these are a must.

We did not try the sizzlers, but we saw the being delivered to other tables and they looked awesome, maybe we should have tried them.

Anyway for me a slightly over rated restaurant compared to other Ao Nang restaurants.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the L Resort, and unfortunately overlooked dinning at Wanna's Place until our last night. Silly. The entire experience was first class. Wanna, Stephan and their staff were very accommodating and attentive. Food is fantastic! We struggled to find any cold champagne at any of the local shops one evening, prior to setting off on a boat ride to a nearby island. Stephan was kind enough to supply us with with a few chilled bottles from the restaurant. Super convenient. Thank you very much Wanna's Place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wanna's Place also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Wanna's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing