We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Thai food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wanna's Place

Wanna's Place
Ranked #40 of 259 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wanna’s Place Restaurant located direct at the beachfront of ao nang with breathtaking view to the andaman seaproviding varieties of Thai and Swiss dishes.SPECIAL"STEAK ON HOT STONE"
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We tried a few restaurants during our 4 day stay in Ao Nang. This is the best one we've been to. The ambiance is nice. We tried Thai food. I had Tom yum soup with seafood, and my mom had pad Thai. They were both very good. We also ordered a Thai vegetable stir fry, it was very very delicious. Juice is fresh squeezed and beautifully decorated. The staff is also very friendly. Try it, and you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manolo213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    159
    72
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
krabi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Better & Better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I don't know how they do it but Wannas Place just gets better every time I go, it did recently go through a patch of shady cavern style decor which didn't improve the sea views or the atmosphere, now that that's gone and the focus is back on the food and the fantastic local island views (both of which are outstanding) the atmosphere is great, service is quick and friendly and it's a pleasur to visit.

Do yourself a favor if you're in Ao Nang and stop in at Wannas early on during your stay, you'll probably end up coming back several times to try out things on the menu that you missed out on the first time.. Top notch Thai food and if you're feeling like a taste of home, a good selection of Swiss and European food to enjoy while watching the sun set over the ocean.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarcasmatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Margaret from Canada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I first visited Ao Nang in 1986 and met Wanna who had a few bamboo bungalows and a food stand in a very peaceful and quiet Ao Nang. Over the years, I have lived in the area on various occasions and visited at other times. Over all these years, I have always enjoyed the wonderful Thai food at Wanna's Place and I have watched the place grow and change into the restaurant it is today. Because I do not eat meat, I cannot comment on the European dishes served although I certainly always enjoy the cheeses and yogurts. I have always been very efficiently served and the staff, in my experience, has always been friendly and helpful. Wanna and Stephan always want the best for their guests and if you ever have a complaint, a quiet word with either of them or the management should take care of any problems.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank matsOttawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ao Nang, Thailand
1 review
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We come many years to this restaurant and the food is great, Thai food as well as Western food, the staff is very friendly and the location is perfect. You have to try it yourself and i am sure you will enjoy it.
The quality of the food is the same as many years ago and they allways have new ideas, now they have the hot stone with great Australian Tenderloin or Ryb Eye and you can cook it as you like.
This is the place where you take your friends for an evening out, relax and enjoy the drinks and food and you have a great evening.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeterST274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Restaurant with all day island views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This place is fantastic, you are right on the beach front (separated by the interesting array of vehicles to keep you further entertained) and have a great view of the local islands in the area. The meals are cooked and presented to a high standard as you would expect to match the perfect location. I have eaten there many times during various stays in Ao Nang and Krabi, the most recent in August 2012, and find the staff and management to be very attentive as well as professional.

I have also stayed in the L Resort which is attached to the restaurant, or the other way around if you like, and Wanna's Place is a great place to sit and have a snack or main meal and perhaps a few beverages while you watch the sun go down or at any time of the day to enjoy the entertainment going on in the streets of Ao Nang.

Definitely worth visiting more than once and make sure to try the coffee!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Icenamkeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wanna's Place also viewed

 

Been to Wanna's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing