We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset BBQ with Kon-Tiki @ Krabi”

Kon-Tiki Krabi Diving & Snorkeling Center - Krabi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kon-Tiki is the only 5 Star PADI IDC Instructor Development Center & Green Star operator in Krabi with several prestigious awards for our commitment to the environment. We hold the highest standards in regards to safety, quality and variety. We have operated in Thailand since 1989 and you will find us in Phuket, Khao Lak, Krabi and Koh Lanta.Every day we offer snorkeling tours for the entire family with professional snorkeling guides to help you get the most out of your snorkeling adventure. While snorkeling gives you a great chance to explore the ocean, the corals and marine life, there is really nothing that beats putting on SCUBA gear and experience the Andaman Sea from below! We offer a full range of PADI courses as well as diving tours every day to Ao Nang Islands, Phi Phi Islands, Shark Point Sanctuary, Koh Haa Yai and Hin Deang/Hin Muang.At our retail store you can find a great selection of diving- and snorkeling equipment. Here, you can also enquire about our tours and courses with our friendly and helpful staff. We promise to teach you something on every trip you take with us. We are open every day from 9 am til 9 pm, 9:00 to 21:00. For more information, please visit our shop.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked ourselves on the sunset bbq trip organised by Kon-tiki, before we got to Thailand, after looking up many options online in Krabi. We were snorkelers and did not have a diving certification and this trip looked good, esp the night snorkeling bit. We were picked up from the hotel & taken to the boat. We had friendly instructors & a nice crowd. We did 2 day dives 1-1.5 hrs each... we always had fruits & juices to have on the boat. Saw some beautiful marine life. After the 2nd dive, the bbq was kept ready....and we ate while we watched the sunset. Was a lovely experience. The night snorkeling was exciting and a lil scary:) make sure u get a good torch...or it will an issue. Was a great trip overall & would love to do it again! Highly recommended. Very good staff & were pretty organised. .

Thank ShilpaAppaiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More languages
All reviews
"dive master"
in 36 reviews
"phi phi"
in 85 reviews
"sun deck"
in 10 reviews
"underwater photographer"
in 7 reviews
"day trip"
in 30 reviews
"boat crew"
in 15 reviews
"moray eels"
in 5 reviews
"marine life"
in 18 reviews
"soft drinks"
in 16 reviews
"shark point"
in 7 reviews
"my advanced open water"
in 5 reviews
"dive group"
in 5 reviews
"these guys"
in 24 reviews
"lion fish"
in 7 reviews
"great dive"
in 9 reviews
"bida nok"
in 5 reviews
"big boat"
in 12 reviews

424 - 428 of 564 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Congratulations ...

On Wed 27 Feb we enjoyed the Phi Phi Experience full day trip from Au Nang. We had checked a few other trips and without doubt the Kon Tiki, although more expensive, was the best. The boat, crew, lunch and itnerary were excellent, but we were most impressed with the professionalism and 'customer care' by the Kon Tiki staff on board. In particular, Thess was our snorkelling guide and she was great. We are regular Thailand visitors and will certainly look for Kon Tiki again.

Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Booked a diving trip with Kon-Tiki while on holiday in Krabi. This was the first time I went diving and so was nervous. My husband hadnt dived in 20 years! We were both excited and nervous. From the time we stepped on the boat we knew we were in safe and capable hands. We had a full briefing on the health and safety aspect of the boat trip and diving before having our diving briefing. Our instructor made us feel very comfotable and was such an awesome guy! We had two fantastic dives on the day where we saw two leopard sharks, turtles, an octopus, puffer fish, lion fish, the whole cast of Finding Nemo and more. It was amazing! I cant recommend Kon-Tiki enough. All the equipment was in good condition, the intsructors were helpful, friendly and very professional! If you plan on going diving then this is the place to book!!

Thank CScholtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My girlfriend and me did the open water course in february with Kon Tiki Ao Nang. Wehad alreadydone the e-lerning course online sowe had 1 day in the pool and 2 days diving with kon tiki.

Confinded dive: this dive was in a pool with other peole using the pool simultaneously, We were 2 goups of 5 and 4 including instructor. This made the pool very crowded, inaddition the pool vas only 2m deep so it is difficult to do al the required excersises. Kon tiki provided free dringks and afree lunch at the restaurant next to kontiki. Our instructor Magne was very patient and friendly.

Open water dive day one: Wehad a new instructor Felicia since our previous instructor got sick. Felicia was wonderful as a instructor! This dive was next to Phi Phi. Kon tiki has 2 boats I believe, we where on the biggest one. This is a very nice boat, with all you need for a great trip. We were served food and freed mineral water. The first dive was amazing. Sinec there is no training exercise on this dive we followed our instructor and observed the fanstastic view. Visibility araound 15 meters!. Dive 2 this day was a little different. At this site there was smecurrent (not at the first) and we where suppose to be on the bottom doeing some excersises. In addition to the current which made it difficult to stay on the bottom, there sea floor was packed tiht sea urchins. Our instructor chose a site of 1,5x1m free om urchins and wanted all 5 of us to fit in this space. This was a rather unpleasant situation for some of the divers since we constantly had to fight the current not to be swept away and into the sea urchins.Other then that the dive was fine

Open water dive day 2: We had 2 dives on an area which they had warned us the day before had much poorer visibility, this annoyed us since we had hoped Kon tiki would provide dive sites with good visibility. The dives here was okay. Some jellyfishes, visibility 2-3 meters.

Overall the experience was somewhere between average and very good. The dive site with poor visibility puts this experience into the average. The staff and boat was very good.

1  Thank Stian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kon-Tiki T, Owner at Kon-Tiki Krabi Diving & Snorkeling Center - Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Fisherman83,

Thank you very much for your extensive review.
I am very happy to read that you were happy with our services, staff and facilities. Your kind words has been passed on to both Magne and Felicia.

We do feel it is a bit of a shame though that you felt you had to give us an average review, as the Kon-Tiki Tripadvisor page is meant for reviews of Kon-Tiki, and not the weather conditions, which we unfortunately have no influence over what so ever. As you yourself write: “Overall the experience was somewhere between average and very good. The dive site with poor visibility puts this experience into the average. The staff and boat was very good.”

We hope that you will enjoy using your diving certifications as much as we do, and that we will see you back here diving with us soon again - hopefully with some better weather then :)
Also, thanks for posting this nice pic’s from one of our boats, the Petchmanee 10.

With kind regards,
Stefan Andersson
Owner & CEO
Kon-Tiki Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Me and my wife have used the services of Kon-Tiki Krabi during all our trips to Krabi. Activities have varied from snorkeling trips to intro dives and finally to PADI OWD course. Every time we have been well looked after, and always felt safe when out in the water.

Personnel has always been helpful and attentive, they answer questions also via email actively and help you get the most out of your holiday.

Same thing again this year. Two pre-booked dive trips, two great dive masters and two enjoyable days in the sea.

I certainly could recommendKon-Tiki Krabi for everyone interested in having a great time!

Thank Tiltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kon-Tiki Krabi Diving & Snorkeling Center - Krabi also viewed

Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Krabi Town, Krabi Province

Been to Kon-Tiki Krabi Diving & Snorkeling Center - Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing