We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hilltop

The Hilltop
Ranked #44 of 265 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shocking service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Went here with my girlfriend, cousin and her boyfriend for the view / sunset. We booked the day before for 6pm and were told they would pick us up from the hotel at 5:45. Ten past 6 and still no sign so we phoned them. They picked us up and when we got there there was a table booked for 7pm for the same hotel with a similar room number (we just assumed they had got it wrong).

When the waitress finally came to take our order, it took her about 15 minutes (no exaggeration) to write everything down. This was as the sun was going down so we had about 30 seconds left to take photos before the sun disappeared (the whole reason we were there).

When they cleared our table (about half an hour after we were finished our starters) they didn't even take all the plates away together.

Our main course came over an hour after that. Thankfully, we didn't have anywhere to be and were quite content to just sit and chat and have drinks.

To be fair when we did complain the manager came out and apologised and gave us a round of free drinks.

The only saving grace is that the food was quite good, though by no means the best we had on the trip.

To top it all off we got a call from reception at the hotel the next day to say the taxi from the Hiltop was there to pick us up (they'd clearly got the date of our booking wrong).

If you want to see the sunset, get a taxi to the top of the hill and have a nice glass of wine on the hill before going to one of the much better restraunts at the bottom (Carnivore Bubassa).

Helpful?
Thank Richie_Paton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    303
    171
    66
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unfortunate”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I had arranged for a hotel pickup. They came early and because we weren't in reception they didn't wait. Luckily we had a car so drove.
We were greeted by a young European man with almost no English and had difficulty being able to have a drink to watch the sunset on the lawn/bar. A beautiful setting and views of the bay and hills. But spoiled by the large in you face signs advertising the restaurant. The cocktails were very good.

Our table for dinner was in a nice location. The menu is good. We had Satays to start with a very good peanut sauce but the satay were only warm. The main course of fish curry and prawns in lime and chilli were almost inedible due to the chilli heat. We always eat hot food but this was too much and ruined the meal.

Overall the staffs lack of English and unprofessionalism was unexpected. It is surely the view and location of this restaurant that keeps it at number 20 on TA. We were disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan G, at The Hilltop, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Ana Legge,

Thank you for the review. I believe you have made a reservation online with us for a transfer in front of your hotel at 1745hrs. Our driver arrived at 1740hrs and waited for about 15 minutes before leaving for the next pick-up location. I believe you have been informed that the transfer is complimentary and we do have many guests who have arranged to be picked up as well.
Therefore, our driver has also informed your concierge to call us when you are ready for the transfer.

Our new European employee, speaks good English and this is the one of the main reasons why we have hired him to assist in the daily operations and in the event of a communication breakdown between the local staff and our guests, so we find it ridiculously surprising to receive a comment from you that he speaks little English.

With regards to your comments on the "warm" chicken satay that you have ordered, we believe that it might have been that the temperature wasn't up to your expectations as we have not received any complaints whatsoever with regards to it. It has been one of our most popular dishes in the restaurant.

We have also indicated on all our pages in the menu to inform our guests that it is advisable for them to let our servers know the level of spiciness you wish to have your food prepared. Our servers are also trained to ask the guest on his/her tolerance for spice, so we are confident that if you had done so, the food would turn out to be mild spicy. However, some of our guests have really low tolerance for spice and and yet orders something medium spicy. We are unsure if you fall under this category.

In general, Southern Thai food is prepared fresh, full of flavour and contains spices with a kick to it. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food and if the dishes were to spicy for you and had you inform our staff about it, we would be more than happy to change it for you.

Nonetheless, thank you for your time on giving us a review on tripadvisor. We accept negative feedback so that we can constantly improve ourselves. This was not worth our time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“stunning views and great Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Beautiful restaurant with amazing views over Ao nang bay. The Thai food was great, the view at sunset is amazing, a must go. The owner and his son are lovely people, and speak perfect English.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top Notch and Amazing Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Was invited there for Business reception and honestly got stun by the location and the professional welcome. Met the Manager/Owner, Thai Family with Business in Hong Kong. Investment here is quite substantial and this is a very special place that we highly recommend to any kind of people that want to exit the Ao Nang ground and take off a little bit higher for some kind of romantic evening and whatever you are aiming for when seeking something different. The food is delicious and you can basically forget everything when watching such staggering sunset.
If you have a Love...just take her there, it's worth it !!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peters1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good food, great view, spectacular sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

To be honest, this isn't going to be the best meal you'll eat at a restaurant, the food is good - but what really makes this restaurant stand out is the view.

We had unobstructed views of the bay whilst dining, which were stunning. Then as the sunsets the bay is covered in a beautiful orange glow.

The service is good, and pricing reasonable.

This restaurant is good for all occasions, we were a group of friends, but it's ideal for couples and families.

I'd recommend arriving 1h30 before sunset - it'll give you chance to take the free shuttle to the restaurant, to get drinks, photos and then take in the sunset when your food arrives.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hilltop also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to The Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing