We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting good food but expensive”
Review of The Hilltop

The Hilltop
Ranked #40 of 279 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great setting good food but expensive”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hill top is a great setting for dinner and we had a nice meal but for the cost (near £130 for 2 people) the food was good but not outstanding and yet again the resort seems to justify the big price tag for the view alone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matnalix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    316
    174
    69
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Magical view and surreal! Beautiful restaurant with great view”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We came and dine In this restaurant on our last night in Krabi. Free shuttle from our hotel. And the view on the hill was simply exquisite. Service was great and grilled seafood was just to die for! Ambience of this restaurant just made us want to keep coming back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JacquelineInstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty food, Good customer service!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We spent the christmas last year at this restaurant and bar. All our thanks to Ivan and his team , for the delicious Thai meals - very authentic and most importantly the customer service is excellent.
Thank you for the birthday celebration, it was more than what I expected! We enjoyed the food, the ambience and most of all the open mic sessions- it was great fun and memorable!
We will definately visit your place again when we're in Ao Nang next and would not forget to recommend your venue to our friends.

Thanks again and Happy New Year to all of you!

Jasmine

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jazz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Nice view - during daytime I guess”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We visited hilltop restaurant around 8pm on a Wednesday and found the place nearly empty, apart from a group of 10 drunk Brits celebrating a birthday. That wouldnt have bothered us that much - it is a holiday destination after all - except they were given access to the PA system and started playing songs and singing bar hymnes thus spreading the joy across the entire restaurant.

The food was ok but rather expensive. I would understand the extra money if the view had been great but as it was already dark I can not give feedback as to the quality of that.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rianbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, fabulous views”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We visited here early afternoon which was a great time as we got great seats as hardly anyone else there.

The place is very nicely done and typically thai with lots of wood.

The menu choice was ok and the food was really nice.

The staff were very attentive and helpful with good English. They loved our little boy and he enjoyed the attention.

We wouldn't hesitate to visit again. Well worth a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moogle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hilltop also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to The Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing