We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No where else can touch this for watching the sunset!”
Review of The Hilltop

The Hilltop
Ranked #43 of 279 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, Uk
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No where else can touch this for watching the sunset!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The best view in Ao nang bar none- book it at around 5pm to watch the sunset. They put some tables on the lawn and others are on the top mezzanine for the views. You need to book ahead and they will pick you up and drop you off (by the beach or elsewhere if you request)
Food is great- very large portions and consider just ordering mains. the seabass and duck are highly recommended. Only gripe was no fresh milk for coffee (only condensed)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank deadlift_damo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    316
    174
    69
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hilltop is the TOPS!!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The views and the atmosphere is amazing at this place. Definitley will have to arrive well before sunset to see the views in daylight. Then, you can enjoy a cocktail or two whilst taking great photos of the sunset.. Later, settle down to some Thai food and imported wines, and get entertained by a young Thai guy singing and playing his guitar. Yes, his English is not the best and he doesn't sing them like a native speaker would but, he means well and does his best...The food is not the greatest, but still good if you stay away from "beef" (Thai beef is tough!!), and prices are really reasonable for this type of a restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mckrungtep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan G, Overseas Marketing Manager at The Hilltop, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear MCkrungtep,
Thanks for the compliments & feedback. We received similar comments on the beef we serve being too dry. We have thus changed the supplier for our beef and the chef recognises the lack of quality in the stir-fry beef dishes and are currently adjusting the cooking techniques and preparation for the meat. We hope to serve you better beef dishes on your next visit!
Best Regards,
The Management Team
The Hilltop Thai Restaurant & Bar
Tel: +66(0)75637195
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent evening”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I ate here after seeing it recommended on TA.

The restaurant sent a free shuttle to our hotel to pick us up, we were given a great table right at the edge of the restaurant overlooking all of Ao Nang.

Food was delivered quickly, all delicious and accurately priced.

Staff were all very friendly, especial Ivan the co-owner who had a long chat with us and then dropped us off back down in town after our meal.

Get there before the sun goes down to fully enjoy food and if they say a dish is spicy, they mean it.

Not sure what else to say, very impressed. Will eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taffymoto22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan G, Overseas Marketing Manager at The Hilltop, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Taffymoto22,

It's Ivan here! Nice to see you popping in with a response on tripadvisor. I really enjoyed the long conversation with the both of you. I hope you guys are safe & warm back home, because it should be really cold right now. Merry Christmas in advance & I hope to meet you guys real soon!

Best Regards,
The Management Team
The Hilltop Thai Restaurant & Bar
Tel: +66(0)75637195
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat with amazing view!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Eat here a few times during my stay, it was wonderful really. Good place for a romantic dinner or just a few drinks at the end of the day. It's a bit up the mountain, but really worth coming!

Prices are slightly up, but seriously, still extremely good value for money, the place is amazing!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan G, Overseas Marketing Manager at The Hilltop, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hi Jacob,
It was a pleasure serving you and your group! Appreciate the positive response & accommodating heart! Please re visit us and try out the new dishes in the menu which will be launched by January next year!
Best Regards,
The Management Team
The Hilltop Thai Restaurant & Bar
Tel: +66(0)75637195
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location. Food just so so”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This restuarant has the best location in Krabie and well worth a visit at sundown.

Enjoy cocktails and drinks on the funky orange couches prior o a meal.

Food good but nothing you'll rave about.

Staff friendly and they even come and collect you from your hotel.

Live singer was too loud and murdered every song sung. A bit too in your face for such a beautiful location and needs toned down a bit!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan G, Overseas Marketing Manager at The Hilltop, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Wykesey,
It was very kind of you to provide both negative and positive feedback, so that we have something to work with to improve the services in our establishment. We would have liked to know which of the dishes you had and what were the problems with it, so we could specifically fix the problem then.
We have also informed the singer about your feedback and he has toned down a lot on the volume of the music he produces since then.
We hope you would give us another chance to serve you again in future. Thank you.

Best Regards,
The Management Team
The Hilltop Thai Restaurant & Bar
Tel: +66(0)75637195
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hilltop also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to The Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing