We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aonang Villa Resort
Ranked #17 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good service and centrally located”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in June and enjoyed the location and hotel. It is very clean, tidy and directly opposite the beach (separated by a narrow local shared pedestrian/car/scooter access road). We had a Grand Superior Sea View room which was very spacious.

When we arrived the receptionist said she had checked our room and confirmed it was non-smoking and had a seaview, which impressed me. All staff were very friendly and efficient. The largest of the two hotel pools is huge and has a magnificent view. We ordered meals through room service twice and they were reasonably priced and quick to arrive. The buffet breakfast was very good.

We had a third floor Superior seaview room with a nice view and small balcony. There are no lifts in this hotel, so my wife did struggle with the stairs in the heat. I could occassionally hear the longtail boats zipping around out the front but this was very minor (it added to the character of the place).

The beach is great to swim at and the main Ao Nang shops are 30m away. There is another hotel closer to the shops, so I liked the separation which Ao Nang Villa had from the shops.

The highlights from this hotel were the pools, local shops, walking over 'monkey trail' (10 mins walk from the hotel) and taking a long tail boat to Railay Beach (good for a day trip) from just outside the hotel. We didn't eat dinner at this hotel and instead eat at the hotel next door (Golden Beach). We would stay here again.

Room Tip: A Grant Superior Seaview room is a larger one than a straight 'superior seaview' room. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevAli1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear KevAli1962

Auckland Region, New Zealand

Thank you for valuable feedback. Your positive remarks for our resort and its location are greatly appreciated. It is always a pleasure to see people sharing their travelling and holiday experience using this platform with useful tips and advises. This certainly helps other travelers to make their trip easier and more pleasant. Thank you for posting this review.

I hope we will have another opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager

rm@aonangvilla.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    570
    208
    78
    35
See reviews for
332
627
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was a lovely place to stay. The staff were so helpful and we loved the position right opposite the beach and close to everything. The photos we took of the pool are so stunning it just doesn't look real!! We stayed in a delux superior room and it was fine. Bit outdated in the decor and the shower over the bath was a bit old fashioned... But this was not really important to us as the grounds are so divine and the pool is magic!!! Loved the beach with all the massage places down one end. Would stay here again as it is in the best position in our opinion.

Room Tip: Get one with a view to the pool and near the adult pool not the Dolphin pool if you are a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thejohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Thejohns
Auckland

Thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review on this platform. Our resort’s swimming pools and green environment are indeed of the highlights we can provide for our guests. As well, It is always a very positive sign for me when a guest points out the positive attitude of our associates as this truly sets any hotel apart from the competition and I will be delighted to share your compliments with my team.


Refer to your feedback on our rooms facilities; Our guest rooms features a contemporary design gently blended with Thai style, in fact each year, the resort carries out such soft refurbishment to refresh and repair our product and facilities that are affected by the high humidity and weather from this region, to meet today’s guest ‘needs. In this year, we are planning an extensive maintenance program addressing all the issues in the upcoming green season starting from July until Mid October.

Once again, I would like to thank you for your review and feedback that helps us to improve our resort. I do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back again

Warm Regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager

rm@aonangvilla.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We really couldn't fault this hotel. Nice big room with a good powerful shower, comfortable bed and mini bar. Very clean. Lovely big pool, very clean with lots of sunbeds. Great breakfasts with plenty of choice with tables overlooking the sea. Staff very polite and attentive (apart from from 1 receptionist who clearly doesnt enjoy her job and it shows all over her face!). Wonderful location for restaurants, long tail boats and the local dive centre. And last but not least the pool side massage treatments are a must and such good value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loobs72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Loobs72
Torquay, United Kingdom


I am very pleased to read your review and to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort, particularly the resort’s peaceful and convenience location. This is also benefit for guests’ staying with us is that despite the relaxing, and peaceful in the resort, as well within Aonang walking distance there are some bars, restaurants, and shops.

Thank you also for your feedback in regards to the attentiveness of our team; your comment will help us to improve our services and resorts, I can ensure to share shared your observation with the team.

Again thank you for positive review, and I hope we would have a chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager

rm@aonangvilla.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Wonderful location with plenty of eateries right outside the hotel. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful, though communication in English can sometimes be difficult. The rooms are spacious and cosy with a balcony. You can also reach the beach from the hotel.

There are two pools in the hotel and also a spa centre. Try booking the spa appointment in advance as they have limited manpower. There are also game rooms where you can play pool (for a small fee) and table tennis. A playroom is available for children as well.

The hotel lobby serves complimentary tea and cakes in the evenings (can't remember the exact timing, somewhere from 3 - 5pm). This is wonderful after a long time playing at the pool.

The complimentary hotel buffet breakfast isn't much to rave for, with almost the same fare everyday. Don't expect really high quality food (eg. the bacon is limp and the hot plate to fry it isn't very useful), but enough to pass for a hotel.

I have mixed encounters with the staff service. For the good: I once approached the front desk in the middle of the night looking for a cockscrew for my wine bottle (I wasn't very hopeful I'll get one) and 10 min later someone delivered the cockscrew to my room. For the bad: the airconditioning did not work well upon check-in. The front desk replied that they will be sending a repairman up to check the system. Nobody came and I was left wondering what was happening. I later realized that they must have fixed something because the room's airconditioning started improving. The front desk should have at least inform us that the problem had been resolved.

As a side note, if you ever venture to look under your bed, don't be alarmed to find a bowl of charcoal underneath it. It is meant to ward of evil spirits - a touch of superstition reminding you that underneath the modern facilities, the people running the resort are still conservative and traditional.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ligand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Resident Manager at Aonang Villa Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear Ligand
Singapore, Singapore

Thank you for taking the time to write and share this detailed feedback on this platform. We are delighted to hear that overall you have enjoyed the hotel facilities and services. As always, we share your valuable feedback with our management and pass on special recognition associates.

Please accept my sincere apologizes for all the inconveniences caused you have experienced during stay at our resort. Our resort operates where we hire many locals in order to support the local communities. Most of them have never worked in a hotel before and yes, we do face some challenges in the English communication but we doing our best to help them to improve.

I have also taken note on your opinion our breakfast, and have share to our Executive Chef to look into this matter and make the necessary improvement where required, as we are value our guests comment , in the mean times, after recevied our guests feedback, I would like to share you that from 1st July our culinary team is preparing breakfast to serve our guest by ensure food rotation is changed daily.

Refer to your review regarding of the charcoal bowl under the bed, this is not meaning of evil spriits as you understood. The charcoal bowl is the local knowledge which local people is using to get rid of smell, which sometimes our housekeeping would added menthol or pandanus leaf on the charcoal to create the atmosphere in the room.

Once again thank you for your comment and we truly hope that you will be given another chance to us to welcome you to Aonang Villa Resort again.

Warm Regards,

Rattavadee Vachaviputt
Resident Manager
rm@aonangvilla.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had 6 nights at the Aonang Villa in May - we also experienced a surly receptionist but weren't too bothered once she informed us we'd been upgraded to a superior room (I think this could have been due to us booking with Kuoni - it happened everywhere we went!) The room was fine, but if it were superior, I wouldn't have wanted a standard. It was spacious, and adequately equipped but quite rustic. We were most pleased that we got a kettle out of the upgrade tbh!

We had a sea view, just. Our room overlooked the breakfast area and a few square inches of sea were visible over the trees. I hope this isn't being sold to anyone else as a sea view room!

The free coffee and cake at 4pm each day was a nice touch, especially since it thundered at that time of day every day of our stay.

The larger pool at the resort was lovely, we had it virtually to ourselves most of the time. It's got a great view of the cliffside, and there was never a problem getting a sunbed, no matter what time we went down. The other pool didn't look so special - much smaller, and horrid, plastic sunbeds, we didn't bother with it. Try the massage hut there though, an absolute bargain with massages and treatments for a pittance. The massage hut by the beach was also really good.

There is an amazing Indian restaurant just around the corner from the hotel, near the 7-11. Possibly the best Indian food I've ever eaten. It was also an Italian restaurant, they seem to do the joint speciality thing in Krabi. Don't let that put you off, the food was fantastic. We also bought lunch from street vendors up towards Starbucks which was great value, especially the fresh fruit smoothies.

Railay beach is absolutely stunning and a short boat ride from AoNang. Make sure you buy a single ticket, and then another single once you're there, to come back. We got stung by buying a return, and then finding that the return trip wouldn't take place until they had a minimum of 8 people waiting. We sat there for 90 mins while another operator sent lots of boats back, and then bought another single ticket with them so we could get back to AoNang.

We'd defnitely return to Krabi, and possibly to this resort, as it's so conveniently situated next to the beach and just off the main street. It is a tiny bit commercialised, but the benefit is that anything you need is within easy walking distance, and once you're back at the hotel, it's quiet and calm.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

If you've traveled around Thailand much, you'll find this place far above average. Great pool, good breakfast, good location, up-to-date decor, wonderful staff! Now for the reasons I can't give the place a perfect score: broken shower that changed temperature from lukewarm to scalding every 10 seconds. Didn't mind at first but it got old quickly. Bed is uncomfortable and the non-breakfast fare is average at best. Overall a good experience, and I'm still undecided as to whether I think it's good value for money. It is very kid friendly and safe.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great hotel, friendly staff large well maintained rooms, good breakfast, 2 min walk to the beach 10-15min walk too restaurants and bars, great for families with kids, have been to phuket a couple of times and krabi is by far much better, would recommend this hotel to anyone and will be returning for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andy1970Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.6 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 108 in Ao Nang
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonang Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Villa Resort

Property: Aonang Villa Resort
Address: 113 Moo 2 | Aonang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#10 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Villa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonang Villa Resort, the stimulating destination situated on the unspoiled natural scenery by soaring limestone cliffs and lovely tropical environment, as well as just minutes away from lively shopping and restaurant district of Aonang Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Aonang Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Villa Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Hotel Krabi
Aonang Resort Krabi
Ao Nang Villa Resort
Aonang Villa Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing