We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tha best place to stay in Krabi!”
Review of The L Resort Krabi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The L Resort Krabi
Ranked #2 of 107 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tha best place to stay in Krabi!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

The L resort is located in a perfect position, just in front of the longtail boats "pier" and in the middle of AoNang beach road so that you just have to decide to turn left or right! The rooms are quite and clean, the personnel is very nice, the breakfast is made of a wide selection of fresh food. We had dinner in their restaurant The Wanna's Palace and we loved it! The swimming pool is amazing!!!! Free wi-fi in all resort. Generally speaking there is no reason to spend a night anywhere else in Krabi than The L Resort.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SerenaSerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    174
    55
    25
    13
See reviews for
133
265
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The L resort was a quality place to stay - providing good clean rooms, helpful staff and most of all a central location to all of the pubs and restaurants. Only minor improvement would be improved service at the pool bar.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

A lovely welcome to the Hotel although it was raining very hard we were greeted by a friendly Concierge with umbrella, given a drink of dragon fruit juice and a room upgrade. Fantastic facilities (iPad given to you at reception, free wifi, large HDTV, remote control curtains and a nice pool) very friendly staff. Breakfast was ok but the eggman overcooked my fried egg but apart from that everything was great. The beach immediately in front of the hotel is near the road and narrow but if you walk 300m to the end of the beach the road curves off and the beach widens, you will find there are sun lounges, bars, massage etc. You also might be lucky enough to find a monkey.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is right across the road from the beach, although its not like a beach that I am used to, perhaps it could have been the time of year, not sure. Its not a beach you can lie on and sunbath, it was just a small stretch of beach.The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the owner was also a a great fellow. It was low season so they upgraded me which was fabulous, however the room that I had originally booked was I feel overpriced and very sad, I spent one night in it and all I could smell was mould, the floor moved when I walked. The breakfast was the same every morning which becomes a bit boring after the first 2 days. For location it really is terrific, however, looking around Ao Nang I would suggest staying somewhere else. The meals in the restaurant were expensive and the advertised price for breakfast was exorbitant as well.

Room Tip: Go out of season
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mollymoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLResort, Owner at The L Resort Krabi, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Mollymoo_10,thank you for your visit and taking the time to review our Resort.I am sorry that we were not able to meet all you're expectations.Thank you also for your comments regarding our breakfast buffet which we will certainly take into consideration for the future. We are a small Resort with 29 Rooms,but we try to offer a large selection of food at our breakfast Buffet.As we are always eager to improve,may i kindly ask you to contact us at eam@thelresort.com to advice us, what you where missing at our breakfast buffet?

Warm regards from The L Resort

Wanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

This kind of hotel is usually out of our price range but we found a great 2 night deal online. We loved it, the staff were do friendly and helpful. A guy (the owner?) is Swiss and speaks fluent english, German and Italian, but all the other staff were pretty fluent in English too. We decided to stay another night and as our original room was booked they
Moved us to an amazing room for only an extra 10 euro got the night. The hotel is right opposite the beach in the centre of ao nang. Staff helped us book day trips and gave us great advice for our onward travel plans. Love it!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniekh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Small Hotel but very good and efficient staff!! Only area where staff was slightly poor was in the restaurant.

Overall Hotel is going through a facelift so the bungalows we got were older and not very modern but they are in the process of renovations.

Excellent Location, bang opposite the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunilSambtani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and 2 kids (ages 13 and 10) for 6 nights in early april. Having read the "Terrible! I hated it!" review right before we left, saying that I was very concerned is an understatement. I am pleased to say that my experience was far different.

The resort is located right across the main street in Ao Nang from one of the two primary spots to catch boats for transport to the magnificent outer islands. It is walking distance to dozens of bars and restaurants, and all types of stores. It is right in the middle of the action. I heard many people that were staying out of town (the Ritz, the Sheraton, the Soffitel and others) complain that they quickly got sick of going back and forth from their isolated hotel to the fun of Ao Nang. I loved the location.

The entrance to the resort is open air. It is a huge open courtyard with no doors. It is modern, clean and welcoming.

Check in was quick and friendly. In fact, I found everyone who worked there to be extremely friendly. They rushed to greet my family at every opportunity. On the other hand, there is not a concierge, and I did not find many of the front desk people to be sufficiently knowledgable. If a resort is going to forego a formal concierge or tour office, their people should be better informed.

A prior reviewer denigrated the breakfast buffet as lacking in choices. That is clearly subjective because from any reasonable objective standard, there was a plethora of options, including made to order omelets, eggs, pancakes, different potatoes every day, hot meats, cold meats, fried rice, stir fries, various fruits, juices, teas and coffee, breads, yogurt - I could go on and on.

We stayed in an ocean-view "larger" room. It had a large master bedroom with king size bed and a wall mounted flat screen tv, and a separate air conditioner, and separate door to the bathroom. It did not have a closet or any storage in the master, which was annoying. The main room had a futon, which folded out into a nice bed, and they brought in a roll away bed as well. The mattress on the roll away was laughably thin. This room had its own large flat screen television as well. There was a kitchen area, but no sink, which was wierd. It was also a bit annoying to be right across the street from the ocean in a tropical environment and the windows did not open. But our biggest criticism is the bathroom. The shower and bath were great in design, but the sink area was all sink - a huge rectangular thing, and there was far too little room for bathroom stuff. My wife and daughter were frustrated by this daily. But the biggest problem was the total lack of water pressure and minimal hot water. The hotter you want the water, the lower the shower pressure. Taking a truly "hot" shower results in just a few drips of water. This needs to be remedied immediately if this resort wants any shot at moving up in the rankings.

The room came with a complementary I-Pad, with free Internet, which was awesome. This is a great touch, and we used it to plan our daily activities everyday.

The room was cleaned at least once a day, and it was always made up by the time that we returned from our morning activity. I have not one compliant about the housekeeping.

A prior reviewer also called the pool "small". Maybe it is small compared to the Atlantic Ocean, but when compared to a typical pool in a modest sized resort, it is way above average. There is a bar area, plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas, and three, yes three, different water features. Granted, it is not like the Four Seasons, but for a smallish resort in town for about 250/night, it is better than good. Towels tended to be in short supply, but other than that, the pool area is good. If you are a pool person, have no fear.

We do have one big complaint. While at the pool, there was a thailand wide tsunami warning. We walked into the lobby and were told to grab what we could and head to "high ground". I grabbed our passports and some other stuff, and headed back to the lobby where we were escorted to the very back of the resort. After we got there, no one from the resort could be seen. Nobody knew what to do so about a dozen of us (including a pregnant woman and a three year old) climbed up the mountain behind the resort, where we sat in the brush for several hours, enduring a storm so heavy that it knocked out power to the entire city. Hours later, we slid on our butts down the muddy mountain, and eventually made it back to the hotel. This advice was extremely poor. There is a well marked tsunami evacuation route using the roads which would worked much better. Instead of sitting in the dirt we could have sat in a restaurant or bar enjoying a cocktail (at least until the lights went out) rather than risking my family's safety by climbing a mountain.

But all in all, I like the hotel, really like the staff, and love Ao Nang/Krabi.

The L Resort still has work to do. But I would not hesitate to stay here again. If you chose to stay in Ao Nang as opposed to an outward resort, I encourage you to give the very reasonably priced L Resort a try. Hopefully they will figure out the bathroom water issue before you go!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. They have small bungalow rooms, "larger" rooms, and a huge &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bagoda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
1.0 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 107 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The L Resort Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The L Resort Krabi

Property: The L Resort Krabi
Address: 31 Moo 2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Wanna's Place Andaman Sunset Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The L Resort Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The L Resort Krabi completly renovated and reopened in december 2015 is located in the Ao Nang Beach area of Krabi right in the middle of the town's main promenade with its restaurants, bars and shops. The beautiful beach of Ao Nang is also just in front of the hotel. This lifestyle property includes newly built superior rooms, deluxe rooms and suites. Our rooms are equipped with all superior amenities such as 43" LED TVs, Air-condition, Coffee Machine, Complimentary Wireless Internet Service, Safe,fridge and many more.We provide a personal iPad in every room, which enables our guests to order all days room service, Excursion booking, and many other services required. The hotel offers an outdoor pool with drinking quality water, as well as culinary highlight with its Thai-Swiss Restaurant " Wanna's Place Restaurant " offers breakfast in a buffet style and all days dining with Chef Recommendation " Speciality on Hot Stone " The L Resort with its style and unique experience will raise your expectations for future hotel to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The L Resort Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The l Resort Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Wannas Place Andaman Sunset Hotel
The L Resort Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing