We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, But Some Niggles”
Review of The L Resort Krabi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The L Resort Krabi
Ranked #2 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Very Good, But Some Niggles”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and 2 kids (ages 13 and 10) for 6 nights in early april. Having read the "Terrible! I hated it!" review right before we left, saying that I was very concerned is an understatement. I am pleased to say that my experience was far different.

The resort is located right across the main street in Ao Nang from one of the two primary spots to catch boats for transport to the magnificent outer islands. It is walking distance to dozens of bars and restaurants, and all types of stores. It is right in the middle of the action. I heard many people that were staying out of town (the Ritz, the Sheraton, the Soffitel and others) complain that they quickly got sick of going back and forth from their isolated hotel to the fun of Ao Nang. I loved the location.

The entrance to the resort is open air. It is a huge open courtyard with no doors. It is modern, clean and welcoming.

Check in was quick and friendly. In fact, I found everyone who worked there to be extremely friendly. They rushed to greet my family at every opportunity. On the other hand, there is not a concierge, and I did not find many of the front desk people to be sufficiently knowledgable. If a resort is going to forego a formal concierge or tour office, their people should be better informed.

A prior reviewer denigrated the breakfast buffet as lacking in choices. That is clearly subjective because from any reasonable objective standard, there was a plethora of options, including made to order omelets, eggs, pancakes, different potatoes every day, hot meats, cold meats, fried rice, stir fries, various fruits, juices, teas and coffee, breads, yogurt - I could go on and on.

We stayed in an ocean-view "larger" room. It had a large master bedroom with king size bed and a wall mounted flat screen tv, and a separate air conditioner, and separate door to the bathroom. It did not have a closet or any storage in the master, which was annoying. The main room had a futon, which folded out into a nice bed, and they brought in a roll away bed as well. The mattress on the roll away was laughably thin. This room had its own large flat screen television as well. There was a kitchen area, but no sink, which was wierd. It was also a bit annoying to be right across the street from the ocean in a tropical environment and the windows did not open. But our biggest criticism is the bathroom. The shower and bath were great in design, but the sink area was all sink - a huge rectangular thing, and there was far too little room for bathroom stuff. My wife and daughter were frustrated by this daily. But the biggest problem was the total lack of water pressure and minimal hot water. The hotter you want the water, the lower the shower pressure. Taking a truly "hot" shower results in just a few drips of water. This needs to be remedied immediately if this resort wants any shot at moving up in the rankings.

The room came with a complementary I-Pad, with free Internet, which was awesome. This is a great touch, and we used it to plan our daily activities everyday.

The room was cleaned at least once a day, and it was always made up by the time that we returned from our morning activity. I have not one compliant about the housekeeping.

A prior reviewer also called the pool "small". Maybe it is small compared to the Atlantic Ocean, but when compared to a typical pool in a modest sized resort, it is way above average. There is a bar area, plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas, and three, yes three, different water features. Granted, it is not like the Four Seasons, but for a smallish resort in town for about 250/night, it is better than good. Towels tended to be in short supply, but other than that, the pool area is good. If you are a pool person, have no fear.

We do have one big complaint. While at the pool, there was a thailand wide tsunami warning. We walked into the lobby and were told to grab what we could and head to "high ground". I grabbed our passports and some other stuff, and headed back to the lobby where we were escorted to the very back of the resort. After we got there, no one from the resort could be seen. Nobody knew what to do so about a dozen of us (including a pregnant woman and a three year old) climbed up the mountain behind the resort, where we sat in the brush for several hours, enduring a storm so heavy that it knocked out power to the entire city. Hours later, we slid on our butts down the muddy mountain, and eventually made it back to the hotel. This advice was extremely poor. There is a well marked tsunami evacuation route using the roads which would worked much better. Instead of sitting in the dirt we could have sat in a restaurant or bar enjoying a cocktail (at least until the lights went out) rather than risking my family's safety by climbing a mountain.

But all in all, I like the hotel, really like the staff, and love Ao Nang/Krabi.

The L Resort still has work to do. But I would not hesitate to stay here again. If you chose to stay in Ao Nang as opposed to an outward resort, I encourage you to give the very reasonably priced L Resort a try. Hopefully they will figure out the bathroom water issue before you go!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. They have small bungalow rooms, "larger" rooms, and a huge &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bagoda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    184
    58
    26
    13
See reviews for
142
282
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bern
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

End of March we were in the L-resort All renovations are completed. We stayed in a new suites Gardenview overlooking the pool area top class.Perfect for a family Certainly, the L-resort is a great hotel on the beach here. Special feature we had our personal Ipad that let us manage our activities in the hotel like in room dining or massage.We liked also the morning buffet. Is offered as both European and Asian buffet, the "Parisian croissant" tastes like a Groissant and cheese selection is impressive in Asia. The rooms are very clean, nicely decorated with flowers and equipped in addition to the usual kettle with a modern coffee maker. George Clooney sends his regards. The staff is very nice and accommodating for us it is clear that we look for next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I am a guest at this place since many years. When I've heard about the redesign and ****-upgrade i was not sure what to expect. But i must confess I was fairly surprised!

A modern roomy looby with lounge, big Flat-TV, Internet-Access on Apple Computer with big-screen.

the pool area turned out nicely with a huge pool, an architecturally outstanding Pool-Bar and a Spa.

The Bungalow where i stayed in was totaly renovated, equipped with a noiseless A/C, a big TV, a Nespresso-Maschine, and a huge confortable king-size bed an an additional bed.

The services of the Management and staff is now evidently on a higher level. Rooms were cleaned twice a day, pool-towels provided, and many more amenities made may stay a pleasant one in a oasis of one of Thailands nicest spots.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleptosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I went their last month (Feb 2012), it was simply terrible.
They call themselves the L resort, the luxury lifestyle hotel
Let me explain:
Resort: yeah well they have a small pool, but that's not what I call a resort
Luxury: if you are a luxury hotel you should be attentive to details. The rooms are not clean, the decoration was bad, the lightning in the room horrible, the bathrooms are as if they were not finished.
Lifestyle: i really don't know why they call themselves like this!!

The breakfast was so so. At least there was a nice waitress the only nice thing.

I had read a negative comment of someone who came at their opening so I taught it might be because every hotel opening is hard, but no it is as if they hadn't done any efforts!

DONT GO THERE!

Room Tip: none! don t go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minoushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Hotel resort was not finished with renovations. The lite bungalos have recieved a light renovation. New flat screen with satilite tv that hacks, nice(not). New paint. older bathroom. a little bit of a disappointment considering the photos show only the best rooms in the resort. when choosing the rooms one should be able to see exactly what your room should look like. How ever they didn't make the main door totally sealed at the bottom, so we found crickets and other bugs every day in the room. the pool area unfinished as well as construction noise all day long.when they do finish it will look good though. A simple radio or music in the back ground would help.The reception and restaurant look good. We had problems with house keeping the secound day, we left early came back several hours later left some things, house keeping came we said give us 5 minutes than they could clean the room.Left the room to the front desk, telling the front desk that they could clean the room. Came back 5 hours later to no house cleaning. Told the front desk went for dinner and a walk, came back to a very quickly cleaned room. A little disappointed. When leaving in the morning we had tremendous problems with getting a receit for our stay even arguing with the staff asking for a manager 3 times even our taxi driver asked them in thai to get thier stuff in order. After over a half hour and no receit or manager we had to leave to the airport. To say something positive it's beach front right on Ao nang beach, and ya that's about it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tank__69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLResort, Director of Sales at The L Resort Krabi, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
First of all thank you for the review and we regret that your stay was not satisfactory. We try always our best to improve our service and hotel facilities and to provide our guests with an excellent experience, which is the reason why we went through a major renovation process. Due to unfortunate circumstances (flood in Bangkok) we had to open our resort not yet 100% complete. As you stayed at the beginning of January this may have been the case. I can assure to you now, that ALL WORK IS FULLY COMPLETED. Pool area is finished (as you can see in our pictures) and the Bungalow bathrooms were also remodeled by now. I also apologize about the misunderstanding in communication with our staff. For a brand new hotel with new personal it is maybe understandable but not acceptable to us and we will surely take action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at L resort 2 nights in Lite, however, when we request to view the rooms (at 2nd level of the Lobby), we fell in love and paid for upgrade,spending another 3 nights in Larger.

We were very impressed of the friendly service, the front desk remembers the hotel guests. while sitting at the lobby one night, a group of girls walk in, the front desk stop them and ask if she is of any help. we've seen a security personnel patrolling the place at night (

it wasn't crowded at the pool, which is a plus. But the Jacuzzi is not ready during our stay. the in room ipad services was also not working.

overall we will give them 4 stars instead of 5.

Location of the resort is excellent, mini mart jus next door. ample restaurants surrounding it.

We will recommend this resort

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waxie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

3 unforgettable weeks in the L-resort. A resort with palm trees, flowers and beautiful nature. The newly built swimming pool invites you to swim, and if you want to go on one island, one need only cross the road and you're in the boats. Thank the friendly stuff for the nice and friendly service. I'm looking forward to next december, I'll be back in the L-Resort. Sawadee Kap

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
1.0 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,473 reviews
1.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.2 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.6 mi away
Deevana Plaza Krabi Aonang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The L Resort Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The L Resort Krabi

Property: The L Resort Krabi
Address: 31 Moo 2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Wanna's Place Andaman Sunset Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The L Resort Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The L Resort Krabi completly renovated and reopened in december 2015 is located in the Ao Nang Beach area of Krabi right in the middle of the town's main promenade with its restaurants, bars and shops. The beautiful beach of Ao Nang is also just in front of the hotel. This lifestyle property includes newly built superior rooms, deluxe rooms and suites. Our rooms are equipped with all superior amenities such as 43" LED TVs, Air-condition, Coffee Machine, Complimentary Wireless Internet Service, Safe,fridge and many more.We provide a personal iPad in every room, which enables our guests to order all days room service, Excursion booking, and many other services required. The hotel offers an outdoor pool with drinking quality water, as well as culinary highlight with its Thai-Swiss Restaurant " Wanna's Place Restaurant " offers breakfast in a buffet style and all days dining with Chef Recommendation " Speciality on Hot Stone " The L Resort with its style and unique experience will raise your expectations for future hotel to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The L Resort Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The l Resort Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
Wannas Place Andaman Sunset Hotel
The L Resort Krabi Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing