We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Shame about the available facilities.”
Review of Krabi Tipa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Krabi Tipa Resort
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Shame about the available facilities.”
Reviewed September 16, 2008

The Tipa resort has the potential to be a great resort but it fail to reach this potential by not providing its customers with the services they require when they book this hotel.

When we arrived at the hotel the first sign I noticed was the one which said that pool access denied as the pool was undergoing renovations. This, as far as I am aware, was not posted on their website otherwise I would have booked. elsewhere.

We stayed in the luxury units overlooking the pool and it was quite clear to us that swimming could still have taken place as it was only the outer surface of the pool that was been retiled. So in fact we paid for a pool and we were not given one and no alternative was offered.

The american breakfast was less than adequate and on a number of occasions only offered after personally requesting them to provide us with fried eggs. No bacon was available.

The hotel is built on a hill so it is not for the unfit. We were lucky we were only on the second tier so the climb up was managable but there are units higher up which would pose a challange for the old or the unfit..

The staff were very friendly but they their friendship did not extend beyond smiling as they offered no solutions to the lack of pool access and the stingy american breakfast.

It is the little things that can make or spoil a holiday and unfortunatly for us this holiday experience was spoilt.

  • Liked — the accommodation unit
  • Disliked — lack of pool access and stingy breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaBunyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    279
    110
    32
    37
See reviews for
143
273
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

My partner and I stayed in one of the bungalows up in the hills surrounded by trees and bushes. It provided us with a delightful and relaxing stay. The bungalow inside was a little disappointing however, especially the bathroom which had heavy mould signs around the toilet and shower (no bath). The bed was quite comfortable, there were tea/coffee making facilities available and we loved sitting out on the veranda just listening to the silence. If I were staying here again I would upgrade from the standard bungalow as the deluxe ones around the pool and on top of the hill looked beautiful – from the outside anyway (I didn’t look inside). From the reception area it is about a five minute walk up a hill to the bungalow, so those lacking in fitness or with walking difficulties please beware. They do have a little electric golf buggy unit but it may be a hassle calling them all the time to hitch a ride. The pool area is very nice and apparently they have a poolside bar during busy periods (we stayed in low season so hence no bar). The staff at the resort was very friendly but only one could speak reasonable English which was frustrating at times. The buffet breakfast was average and for some reason every morning the fried eggs were cold. The resort is very central to the beach area of Ao Nang; we could walk down to the beach in about ten minutes. Overall we had a wonderful stay and at 6000 baht for four nights it represented tremendous value.

  • Liked — Solitude
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We stayed at Tipa Resort in May and thought it was wonderful. The rooms were excellent, huge beds, 2 bottles of free water every day, rooms serviced every day. The pool is very nice, although there could be more sun beds.
Breakfast was very good, with a wide veriety of cold and hot items available. The staff were also very good.
The location is perfect for everything in Ao nang.
Be careful if you get a taxi from Krabi Airport as the diver had no idea where it was and we arrived after dark, so try and have a map or ask the hotel to send written directions in Thai.
Would definatley stay there again and recommend Tipa to anybody

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gazzawinsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We stayed in a bungalow for 5 nights in March 08. These are great rooms, set in the bush (thankfully we never found any of the wildlife inside our room), the rooms are cleaned each day & we were given free water. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English. The pool area is excellent for relaxing, although some what crowded when we were there, however the resort is in a fantastic location – walking distance to anything at AO Nang beach.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhIWishIWasOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2008

Myself 29 and my girlfriend 31 stayed at Tipa from February 18th through 21st 2008. I will start by saying when we arrived we were tired as hell, starving and generally just wanted to check in a get something to eat! As soon as we arrived the agrivated feeling of hunger etc, went away! We were served a welcome drink and a cold towel and told to sit down, within 1 minute a wonderfull woman came with our keys etc and told us they would drive us up to our room in their golf cart. Our room was a deluxe room at the very top of the hill. When we arrived the room was perfect, clean and the view was to die for! The balcony served as a great place for a night cap almost every night we were there. The breakfast was pretty good, not oustanding but it was free so who really cares! Overall this resort blew us away, we wish we could have stayed longer! Another note, while we were at Tipa a young couple came to front desk with their baby, they were in need of a hospital, the staff at Tipa immediately took charge of the situation and off they went to the hospital, this was on our first day and I was truly impressed with how this was handled and reflects the staff at Tipa truly amazing!!!!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gerthy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
902 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 535 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

We stayed at Tipa for one night and we found it better than the other hotel we stayed in which was near the beach.

The cottages reminded as of provincial life.The rooms were spacious but the bathrooms need renovating.

Breakfast was so so and there was a lot of bees in the dining area.

The price of the hotel is value for money specially if you reserve through the internet.

  • Liked — The surrounding greeneries
  • Disliked — too steep pathway to cottages
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

The Good Things
1. Check- in was smooth. As it is only the starting of the new season occupancy was around50% TO 60%. Cannot vouch for mid/high season but on checking with long time hotel staffers..its still going to be quite chaotic!

2.Condition of rooms (daily) OK

3.Service Staff... I will volunteer 10 Baht everytime you bump into a hotel staff during your stay IF they do not greet you or SMMMIIILLEE. Subject to the odd one or max two who DO NOT!!

The not-so-good things

1. The pool bar is still being renovated. They are sure taking a long time. Was assured my the Resident Manager it will be OK in about 2 weeks from now. Well let's see.

2. The breakfast is still the same toast, sunny-side eggs, cereals, milk, jam, juice, cut fruits, sausages, ham, 2 local thai dishes normally fried rice or noodles,coffee and tea and I mean that's IT day-in-day-out. Spoke to Resident Manager and he promised menu rotation for new season..let's see!!

Good to Note

1. The OCEAN mini-market just at the entrance to the driveway to the Hotel (on your right when you enter the driveway) stock a wide
variety of goods and they are indeed reasonably priced.

2. The Bank of Ayuddyah exchange booths along Aonang gives you the best exchange rate.. at lease when I was there.

3. The elephant racking tours obtainable at most Travel Agents fro 800 per adult and FOC for ONE child under 6 years is a good bargain. But as in Thailand...DO BARGAIN HUH!!

4. When buying things from souvenier, clothing, CD shops that do not display price tags start your bargaining with -50% of the offered price. Accept at about 15% to 20% discount of the opening price as a fair buy. If you can get 50% off.. you are toooo goood at it and ignore this bargaing guide!!!
5 and last, when in Krabi (Thailand for that matter) learn not to hurry and leave the rat-race behind. Enjoy.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank resortmanSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#23 of 108 in Ao Nang
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#27 of 108 in Ao Nang
827 reviews
0.4 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#10 of 108 in Ao Nang
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Vogue Resort & Spa Ao Nang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Tipa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Tipa Resort

Property: Krabi Tipa Resort
Address: 121/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Krabi Tipa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax amidst the beautiful lush greenery and peaceful atmosphere at Krabi Tipa Resort located just a 5 minute walk from the stunning beachfront. Our location is very convenient with shops, fast food outlets, spas, coffee shops, bars and of course the azure Andaman Sea all on your doorstep!Our elegant Colonial style hotel in Ao Nang has a spacious and breezy and lobby and offers a variety of accommodations from modern rooms to charming bungalows nestled amongst tropical gardens and the forested hillside. Enjoy hours of relaxation at our free-form outdoor pool, dine on delicious local and international cuisine and treat yourself to a soothing massage during your stay.Children will love the play area and pool and we offer babysitting services so parents can enjoy a romantic evening out exploring the local nightlife and restaurants. Our friendly staff are at your service and look forward to meeting you soon! Our resort has a choice of rooms to suit your unique travel style. Authentic and charming Thai bungalows and teak wood houses are spread throughout the spacious gardens offering a natural setting for your stay, a rare find in such a convenient beachfront location. Alternatively our Colonial buildings are home to more contemporary style rooms with plenty of modern touches and some spectacular views. The rustic BUNGALOWS at our Aonang beach resort are full of character and charm and are ideal for guests travelling on a budget. With a total of 32sqm of living space guests can relax on the large shady balcony and take in the views of nature all around or retreat inside to enjoy the cosy ambiance and to browse the international channels on the television. The bathroom has an exotic outdoor feeling with an open roof and refreshing shower. The 37sqm DELUXE ROOMS are newly renovated and tastefully designed with calming contemporary colours and the latest fashion furnishings. These stylish rooms at our Krabi resort hotel are located in small low-rise buildings positioned upon the hillside overlooking the tropical gardens with some enjoying partial sea views. Take a moment to enjoy the sights and sounds of nature with a cup coffee on the balcony, and unwind on the sofa or comfortable bed while watching a movie. Escape to the hilltops and stay in our delightful TEAK BUNGALOW and relaxing stay. The individual bungalows are positioned to offer great views and privacy for guests, tucked away in the rainforest gardens at our Thai hotel Krabi. The 42sqm bungalow has a large breezy balcony and beautifully detailed teak wood interiors featuring a modern bathroom with shower. The GRAND DELUXE is spacious and inviting and the perfect Ao Nang accommodation for a romantic holiday. The furnished balcony reveals lush green views of the resort gardens and the stunning limestone mountains from the upper floors. The 46sqm room has a king-size bed and a large daybed for lounging and added modern amenities such as complimentary Wi-Fi and a DVD player. The large contemporary bathroom has a rainfall shower and a window overlooking the room. The delightful FAMILY SUITE is located in our Colonial style building close to the forested mountain and is convenient to access the swimming pool and breakfast restaurant. The spacious room at our family hotel has a homely ambiance designed in contemporary style with modern furnishings and includes tea and coffee making facility plus a television and DVD player for entertainment. The master bedroom has a king-size bed and daybed and access to a large balcony with seating to relax and admire the wonderful mountain and tropical garden views. The second bedroom has a queen bed and daybed with plenty of storage space. The Family Suite at our Krabi resort Ao Nang has a good size bathroom with a shower and complimentary toiletries. At Krabi Tipa Resort we want you to get the most from your holiday in Aonang and so we offer a range of facilities and services for you to enjoy. Splash around in our outdoor swimming pool, let your children play in our garden playground while you enjoy a fresh coffee from our café. Pamper yourself with a poolside massage and take time to simply relax in our beautiful and breezy lobby. Our staff are on hand 24 hours a day with a smile to make your stay with us a happy and memorable one! The Sea, the sand and the sun awaits you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Krabi Tipa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipa Hotel Ao Nang
Tipa Hotel Krabi
Krabi Tipa Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing