We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Receptionists, Poor Bungalow, Avoid”
Review of Krabi Tipa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Krabi Tipa Resort
Ranked #25 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Location - excellent location, located in the middle of Ao Nang beach street, a short walk to ride boat to nearby islands, restaurants, bars, shops
Room - we booked the Bungalow uphill, just don't do it. The house is very old. It's a good 10 minutes up-hill walk from the hotel lobby. Shower is extremely small. A small rat starts making noise around 5am. Bed is not comfortable. The 12-inch TV doesn't work. It doesn't have the tranquil feeling, but comes with all the downside. No WiFi.
Staff - receptionists at the hotel lobby, sorry for lack of better words, are idiots. Avoid them at all cost. We booked the PP islands tour from them. The tour group failed to pick us up at 8:30 as agreed. The receptionist was clueless about what to do (common sense - speak to the one you booked before). Then the hotel drove us around the town for an hour looking for the tour group. Around 10:30am, we finally found our group (5 minutes walk away from the hotel). The entire boat was waiting on us for nearly an hour and half. We also booked our private taxi to airport through hotel. On the street, they charge 600 baht for a private taxi to airport. The hotel charged 800 baht. I figure to pay the extra for the peace of mind. In the morning, we ended up sharing a mini-van with 8 other people. I asked the receptionist that we booked private taxi. Her response, 'that's ok, you are the same time'.
Value - consider the room, food, staff, over-priced
Restaurant - just don't eat there, there are lot more better options within 5-10 minutes of walking

Room Tip: I cannot speak for all the rooms. Avoid Bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haohestia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemson_tipa, guest relation officer at Krabi Tipa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear haohestia,


Good Day!
Greetings from the management of Krabi Tipa Resort


Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and we truly appreciate your honest review for our hotel for this will improve the standards of our service through to our valued guest.

About with your comments we shared this one to the involve departments and they apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay. i would like to discuss first with the room that you have booked,it is a Teak Bungalow. Our Teak Houses were made woods and looks like old because it is designed as a thai traditional house and it is located a little far from the lobby to make the stay or our valued guest more relaxing. Sometimes in the middle of the night or early in the morning squirrels are making noise and not the rats.
Second thing I will discuss is about the television which you mentioned it is not working, the involve staff go into the room and the cable wire which connect to the TV is being remove and that is the reason why you do not have the channels.
WIFI in our hotel work in public area and not in the rooms but right now it is on the process that all rooms may have the internet connection. Next thing is the tour, we try book your tour at PhiPhi island with our agency partner but they are fully book at that time so we try to book your trip with the other agencies and maybe the driver had a mistake for that.
Last thing is the Transfer from hotel to the airport, our hotel van is not a private car so you need to go with the others because at that time it is the peak season so you need to go with the others.
Apologies from all the staff and from the management.

We are looking forward and welcome you again to your next visit in our hotel.

Warm Regards,
Krabi Tipa Resort, Aonang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 650 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Tipa is a great place to stay in Ao Nang. It's only a few minutes walk to the beach and is surrounded by all of the shops/restaurants you could need.

The bungalows are fun and the normal rooms are really nice. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.

The free breakfast is lame but the coffee is good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hydesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemson_tipa, guest relation officer at Krabi Tipa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Hydesta,

Good Day
Greetings from krabi Tipa Resort


Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and we truly appreciate your time to review for our hotel.

We have been shared your review from all of the staff and in behalf of them we are thankful and overwhelmed that you are satisfied with the service that we have offered you. It is our pleasure to give the best service to our valued guest.

we are looking forward and welcome you to visit our hotel next time. Thank You

Warm Regards,
Krabi Tipa Resort, Aonang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were in bungalows..There were lizards in room which didn't let me sleep, no towels near pool, huge resort and very green. But in market...Breakfast good for non vegetarians..Not helping staff, even they want to charge you for a adapter..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldays365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemson_tipa, guest relation officer at Krabi Tipa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear traveldays365,


Good Day!
Greetings from the management of Krabi Tipa Resort


We are thankful that you stay with us during your holiday and thank you for spending time to write a review for our hotel.

Thank you for bringing your experiences to our attention for this allows us to continually monitor and improve our services.

About the breakfast we have a different choices even for vegetarian people. We have vegetable salad and fruits which will fit your appetite. In the rooms which you mentioned that there is a lizard that causes you not to sleep, the lizards are just outside the room and they will not harm people but for this we apologize and we hope all of our apologies will be accepted by you.

Thank You for the honest review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort


Warm Regards,
Krabi Tipa Resort, Aonang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The resort is located in a good location on the main road but slightly set back which makes it appear more peaceful. The beach is approximately two minute’s walk although crossing the main road can take some time when the traffic is busy! There are lots of shops, restaurants and bars along the main road within easy access. The hotel is on a hill but we stayed in a room close to the hotel entrance opposite the pool so this wasn’t an issue for us but may be if you have difficulties with your mobility. The grounds were well maintained and the pool area was kept clean.

The staff were very friendly and we had our room cleaned daily. The reception staff were also helpful and rang our transfer to pier before we left to check that they were coming. The hotel provides beach towels in the room which they change for you every day. The room was spotlessly clean and large with two single beds. The beds were comfortable and the air con worked well. They provided tea and coffee making facilities. We did find that a number of mosquitos were getting into the room as there was a gap in the mosquito net on one of the windows so we did try to tape the gap up.

Breakfast was included and was average with a limited choice. Overall a very good stay and we would happily return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elly-Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemson_tipa, Guest Relations Manager at Krabi Tipa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Elly-Cardiff

Good Day!
Greetings from Krabi Tipa Resort

Thank You for staying with us and we are Thankful that you give time to review for our Hotel.

Your review is been shared with all of the staff and we are thankful with the nice compliment that you have wrote. It is our pleasure to meet the expectations of our valued guest. We are thankful that you are satisfied with our service.

We are looking forward and welcome you to stay with our hotel next time. Thank You


Warm Regards,
Krabi Tipa Resort, Aonang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here last week and had a very pleasant stay. The room was clean and easy to sleep. The breakfast was good . It is in the most perfect surroundings.All of the staff are very helpful and when I needed something they able to help .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemson_tipa, Guest Relations Manager at Krabi Tipa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Ben K,

Good Day!
Greetings from the management of Krabi Tipa Resort.

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and we appreciate your time to review for our hotel.

The staff and the management were all overwhelmed with your great compliment. We are happy and our pleasure to served our guest with all of our best. We are thankful that you are satisfied of our service.

We are looking forward and welcome you again to your next visit. Thank you


Warm Regards,
Krabi Tipa Resort, Aonang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms. Good service. Wifi doesn't go all the way up to the rooms farthest away, but works fine in the lobby. Breakfast was good, good eggs............................................ .............

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank CanDato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemson_tipa, Guest Relations Manager at Krabi Tipa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear CanDato,


Good Day!
Greetings from Krabi Tipa Resort

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and we truly appreciate your time to review for our hotel.

The staff and the management were overwhelmed by your wonderful compliment. We are happy that we served you better and its our pleasure to make our customer satisfied with their stay in our hotel.

We are looking forward and welcome you anytime to visit our hotel. Thank you

Warm Regards,
krabi Tipa Resort, Aonang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This resort hotel is in an excellent location. Hotel staff were very friendly and rooms very clean.

Our room was a Garden Bungalow, these bungalows are quite a walk from the main hotel area's and indeed would prove a problem for anybody with mobility issues.

Our Board option was B & B and the restaurant offers a buffet breakfast which was ok but not great.

We found that the restaurant offered excellent value for money and had a good selection of International dishes.

Room Tip: Book a room in the main hotel area ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemson_tipa, Guest Relations Manager at Krabi Tipa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear June B,

Good Day!

Greetings from Krabi Tipa Resort!

Thank you for choosing Krabi Tipa Resort as your holiday destination.

We appreciate your time to review for our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers.

Our resort is a green hotel and the concept is like a virgin forest with solemn surrounding and our bungalow rooms were designed for you to relax and feel like you are in the midst of the forest and we have the buggy service provided for the guest at all time.
About the breakfast, We added some dishes, like International dishes, Asian dishes. more bread and pastry for your choice.
.
We are looking forward and welcome you to visit our Hotel next time. Thank you


Warm Regards,

Management,
Krabi Tipa Resort, Aonang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#23 of 111 in Ao Nang
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#30 of 111 in Ao Nang
863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Centra by Centara Phu Pano Resort Krabi
0.5 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vogue Resort & Spa Ao Nang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Tipa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Tipa Resort

Address: 121/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $48 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Krabi Tipa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax amidst the beautiful lush greenery and peaceful atmosphere at Krabi Tipa Resort located just a 5 minute walk from the stunning beachfront. Our location is very convenient with shops, fast food outlets, spas, coffee shops, bars and of course the azure Andaman Sea all on your doorstep!Our elegant Colonial style hotel in Ao Nang has a spacious and breezy and lobby and offers a variety of accommodations from modern rooms to charming bungalows nestled amongst tropical gardens and the forested hillside. Enjoy hours of relaxation at our free-form outdoor pool, dine on delicious local and international cuisine and treat yourself to a soothing massage during your stay.Children will love the play area and pool and we offer babysitting services so parents can enjoy a romantic evening out exploring the local nightlife and restaurants. Our friendly staff are at your service and look forward to meeting you soon! Our resort has a choice of rooms to suit your unique travel style. Authentic and charming Thai bungalows and teak wood houses are spread throughout the spacious gardens offering a natural setting for your stay, a rare find in such a convenient beachfront location. Alternatively our Colonial buildings are home to more contemporary style rooms with plenty of modern touches and some spectacular views. The rustic BUNGALOWS at our Aonang beach resort are full of character and charm and are ideal for guests travelling on a budget. With a total of 32sqm of living space guests can relax on the large shady balcony and take in the views of nature all around or retreat inside to enjoy the cosy ambiance and to browse the international channels on the television. The bathroom has an exotic outdoor feeling with an open roof and refreshing shower. The 37sqm DELUXE ROOMS are newly renovated and tastefully designed with calming contemporary colours and the latest fashion furnishings. These stylish rooms at our Krabi resort hotel are located in small low-rise buildings positioned upon the hillside overlooking the tropical gardens with some enjoying partial sea views. Take a moment to enjoy the sights and sounds of nature with a cup coffee on the balcony, and unwind on the sofa or comfortable bed while watching a movie. Escape to the hilltops and stay in our delightful TEAK BUNGALOW and relaxing stay. The individual bungalows are positioned to offer great views and privacy for guests, tucked away in the rainforest gardens at our Thai hotel Krabi. The 42sqm bungalow has a large breezy balcony and beautifully detailed teak wood interiors featuring a modern bathroom with shower. The GRAND DELUXE is spacious and inviting and the perfect Ao Nang accommodation for a romantic holiday. The furnished balcony reveals lush green views of the resort gardens and the stunning limestone mountains from the upper floors. The 46sqm room has a king-size bed and a large daybed for lounging and added modern amenities such as complimentary Wi-Fi and a DVD player. The large contemporary bathroom has a rainfall shower and a window overlooking the room. The delightful FAMILY SUITE is located in our Colonial style building close to the forested mountain and is convenient to access the swimming pool and breakfast restaurant. The spacious room at our family hotel has a homely ambiance designed in contemporary style with modern furnishings and includes tea and coffee making facility plus a television and DVD player for entertainment. The master bedroom has a king-size bed and daybed and access to a large balcony with seating to relax and admire the wonderful mountain and tropical garden views. The second bedroom has a queen bed and daybed with plenty of storage space. The Family Suite at our Krabi resort Ao Nang has a good size bathroom with a shower and complimentary toiletries. At Krabi Tipa Resort we want you to get the most from your holiday in Aonang and so we offer a range of facilities and services for you to enjoy. Splash around in our outdoor swimming pool, let your children play in our garden playground while you enjoy a fresh coffee from our café. Pamper yourself with a poolside massage and take time to simply relax in our beautiful and breezy lobby. Our staff are on hand 24 hours a day with a smile to make your stay with us a happy and memorable one! The Sea, the sand and the sun awaits you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Krabi Tipa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipa Hotel Ao Nang
Tipa Hotel Krabi
Krabi Tipa Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing