We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful & we loved the breakfast!”
Review of Krabi Tipa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Krabi Tipa Resort
Ranked #24 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful & we loved the breakfast!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Ao Nang was a bit lively & noisy for us in general so the Tipa was a delightfully peaceful & verdant haven. Loved the bungalow - very spacious log cabin with balcony tho would recommend the rooms on stilts,if your budget allows this, which looked gorgeous. Location of bungalows only a problem if you are elderly, disabled or extremely unfit!
Bit of a mixed experience with staff. Firstly, I emailed to request taxi pick up from airport - this did not happen & although it was easy ( & cheaper at 600 baht) to get one directly from airport myself, there was no apology whatsoever when I brought this up later with the receptionist. She did not bat an eyelid in fact! We arrived at 9am & were told we had to wait til 2pm to access the room. I knew this was a possibility when I received my details but thought that maybe they might be more accommodating after a 13 hour flight but obviously not. On another occasion one of the receptionists was rather rude & dismissive when we asked for help contacting a local company regarding a trip when the car didn't show up. Ok, maybe this wasn't a trip through the Tipa but she certainly could have been a bit more pleasant & helpful. On the plus side, the restaurant staff were warm & polite (especially Air) & when we had a problem with the safety deposit box, someone came pretty much straight away to resolve the issue.
Now on to the breakfast. Before the holiday I had read negative reviews regarding this but I was extremely pleasantly surprised. I loved the yogurt, muesli, tasty pastries & delicious omelettes cooked in front of you. Admittedly, if you are a meat eater, the tinned cocktail sausages, greasy bacon & very weird triangles of processed ham kept in boiling water are not appealing but personally I looked forward to breakfast each day & left stuffed after being a bit piggy!
So on the whole, very happy with our Tipa experience!
PS really helpful having a well stocked supermarket just outside the entrance.

Room Tip: Bungalow room was great but go for room on stilts if poss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    279
    110
    32
    37
See reviews for
143
273
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The best thing of this Resort is its location. When you are in the Resort, it is everything quiet, and you can really relax. But when you exit the resort you are immediately near everything and you just need to walk a few meters to be on the beach. That is really a very good thing!
One problem is the room... The room had a musty smell. The Shower flooded the Restroom.
You see also that is a Resort with some years. Maybe a renovation could really push this resort to be one of the best in Ao Nang. With the actual state, it is just an average Resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuiPedroGaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for our stay with our baby daughter after a long flight to be told our room was not ready and we would have to wait approx 1 hour. Our daughter was exhausted and needed a nap and the only place they could offer us for her to sleep in the meantime was a tatty sofa in the library room which had no aircon ( it was around 35 degrees at 3pm in the afternoon!). After 1 and a half hours we were finally shown to our room which was a long buggy ride from reception up a steep hill. Although clean, the bungalow room was very dated and tatty and was certainly not worth the £80 per night we had paid. We then waited and waited for our luggage to be brought from reception, after 2 phonecalls this eventually arrived an hour later! Reception staff in particular were very unhelpful and unfriendly, not what you would expect from the Thai people at all. Breakfast was the same buffet every day, even tea/ coffee weren't served fresh at your table, you had to help yourself. A lot of the stuff had been standing for a while. Not good for the price paid. No ashtrays and extra towels at the pool, when we asked at the pool bar, the simple reply was ' we no have'. No attempt to help or get some for us. In general the staff were very poorly trained, not what you expect of a large hotel. On a plus side, the location was good, right in the middle of everything but still quiet. But this alone is not a reason to stay here, there are plenty of other, far better hotels nearby. One to avoid.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zanadu1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for xmas here just to relax and escape being away from our busy schedules.The room given to us was the high floor and cozy atmosphere.
For those who love to experience stay in jungle enviroment, this hotel is the prefect place.The reception and the meals areas are facing to the main area of Aonang but the rooms are facing towards hill and jungle.
The breakfast not fantastic and need a lot of improvement as it does not cater any international menu but the fried noodles and thai fried rice is the signature dish.

The staff are helpful even when they cant communicate in English.The rooms were very spacious and clean.

Just be ware of insects and mosquitoes and dont leave your sliding doors open.The will be annoying alarm sound exactly at 5.45-6.00pm (Krabi time) for abt 20-25 minutes.

In-room service in terms of menu was good but they will not be any iron services or the iron box given even upon request at the reception as stated in the in-room book.
i.e. you cant iron your clothes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I visited Ao Nang in December 2012 and was here for Christmas. I must say, I was a little worried due to the crappy reviews on here but I will be completley honest... it was lovely!

We went for basic accomodation on our trip to Thailand and this was our 'poshest' hotel i.e. a little treat for Crimbo. We wernt disappopinted! Rooms were amazing (I was in room 215 right at the top of quite a steep hill but it didnt bother me as kept me fit!). Bed was HUGE, bathroom was massive with the best shower Ive seen in ages, had a king size bed/sofa/chairs etc and still plenty of room. Keep the patio doors shut tho cause of mozies.

I had read on here that someone complained about ants in the room... well I had a few ants in my room but they were so small you could harldy see them and they were right up in the corner of the wall and came out perhaps once or twice a day. Dont leave anything sweet out tho or they will come looking, lol!

Dont let the bad reviews about this place put you off. If you go expecting the Ritz you may be a little disappointed cause there is a single ant in the room (yes I am being sarcastic!) but in my oppinion this place is lovely, right in the middle of where you need to be but out the way enough that theres no noise. Also the pool is lovely, staff are amazing and breakfast is nicely cooked and varied (just not a massive buffet for about 2000 people like some people are obviously expecting!)

Go here... it was excellent :) x

Room Tip: Go for rooms 215-213 (up a steep but small hill, however out the way enough and beautiful view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked 2 bungalows for 9 nights and paid through AGODA more than for a deluxe room. Bungalows were 30 years old, without space for keeping folded shirts, cheap plastic hangers and an adhered small and very simple bathroom. No hooks to hang a towel, no space to leave the small towels or toiletry. Everyday we were missing either large towels or small towels or the floor mat. Bungalows deserved 3 stars and were not worth the 100 Euros we paid. Wi-Fi only available in lobby, very very slow and very difficult to connect to. Breakfast without many choices, very basic, constantly running out of food with nobody replacing it fast. Orange juice not natural. Quality of fruit bad. No cheese, not cold cuts, only sandwich bread. The compulsory New Years Eve dinner was an insult. For 76 Euros per person we had to pay for drinks separately and were offered a buffet not worth more than 15 Euros. However we were entertained with a boring show that lasted until 12 pm, while most people had left well before 11 pm. Friendliness of personnel was OK. The main complaint is that this hotel is not worth the money they charge.

Room Tip: dont book the old bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wowBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I booked 2 rooms for 3 nights at the Tipa Resort over a month ago, I will never stay here again, I have been to Ao Nang 3 times before and there are hundreds of much better hotels to stay in. We arrived straight from the airport only to be told that we needed to stay in a shabby hotel across the road for the first night, check out and then recheck-in the following morning, they obviously double booked the rooms. We asked to speak to the manager who told us he couldn't help us, then he said there was a problem with some piping in one of the rooms, then both of the rooms, obviously a lie! He then said that pipes were arriving from Bangkok!
The pool was very small but did seem clean.
Sadly the breakfast was also very poor, they ran out of EVERYTHING! (Plates, cutlery, juice, fruit, bread, you name it!) the poor staff were unable to replenish the food even though the restaurant wasn't half filled.
One member of staff, who worked in the restaurant was called Air, she was the best member of staff, having worked at the hotel for over 10 years she could really teach the very RUDE and arrogant front of house staff a great deal. I will definitely not be booking at this "resort" ever again! Nor shall I be recommending it to anyone else.

Room Tip: They have bungalows that are remote if you want peace and quite but they are quite old!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adairclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.2 mi away
Phra Nang Inn
Phra Nang Inn
#27 of 108 in Ao Nang
825 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Verandah
The Verandah
#22 of 108 in Ao Nang
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
AliSea Boutique Hotel
AliSea Boutique Hotel
#11 of 108 in Ao Nang
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Centara Anda Dhevi Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Vogue Resort & Spa Ao Nang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Tipa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Tipa Resort

Property: Krabi Tipa Resort
Address: 121/1 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Krabi Tipa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax amidst the beautiful lush greenery and peaceful atmosphere at Krabi Tipa Resort located just a 5 minute walk from the stunning beachfront. Our location is very convenient with shops, fast food outlets, spas, coffee shops, bars and of course the azure Andaman Sea all on your doorstep!Our elegant Colonial style hotel in Ao Nang has a spacious and breezy and lobby and offers a variety of accommodations from modern rooms to charming bungalows nestled amongst tropical gardens and the forested hillside. Enjoy hours of relaxation at our free-form outdoor pool, dine on delicious local and international cuisine and treat yourself to a soothing massage during your stay.Children will love the play area and pool and we offer babysitting services so parents can enjoy a romantic evening out exploring the local nightlife and restaurants. Our friendly staff are at your service and look forward to meeting you soon! Our resort has a choice of rooms to suit your unique travel style. Authentic and charming Thai bungalows and teak wood houses are spread throughout the spacious gardens offering a natural setting for your stay, a rare find in such a convenient beachfront location. Alternatively our Colonial buildings are home to more contemporary style rooms with plenty of modern touches and some spectacular views. The rustic BUNGALOWS at our Aonang beach resort are full of character and charm and are ideal for guests travelling on a budget. With a total of 32sqm of living space guests can relax on the large shady balcony and take in the views of nature all around or retreat inside to enjoy the cosy ambiance and to browse the international channels on the television. The bathroom has an exotic outdoor feeling with an open roof and refreshing shower. The 37sqm DELUXE ROOMS are newly renovated and tastefully designed with calming contemporary colours and the latest fashion furnishings. These stylish rooms at our Krabi resort hotel are located in small low-rise buildings positioned upon the hillside overlooking the tropical gardens with some enjoying partial sea views. Take a moment to enjoy the sights and sounds of nature with a cup coffee on the balcony, and unwind on the sofa or comfortable bed while watching a movie. Escape to the hilltops and stay in our delightful TEAK BUNGALOW and relaxing stay. The individual bungalows are positioned to offer great views and privacy for guests, tucked away in the rainforest gardens at our Thai hotel Krabi. The 42sqm bungalow has a large breezy balcony and beautifully detailed teak wood interiors featuring a modern bathroom with shower. The GRAND DELUXE is spacious and inviting and the perfect Ao Nang accommodation for a romantic holiday. The furnished balcony reveals lush green views of the resort gardens and the stunning limestone mountains from the upper floors. The 46sqm room has a king-size bed and a large daybed for lounging and added modern amenities such as complimentary Wi-Fi and a DVD player. The large contemporary bathroom has a rainfall shower and a window overlooking the room. The delightful FAMILY SUITE is located in our Colonial style building close to the forested mountain and is convenient to access the swimming pool and breakfast restaurant. The spacious room at our family hotel has a homely ambiance designed in contemporary style with modern furnishings and includes tea and coffee making facility plus a television and DVD player for entertainment. The master bedroom has a king-size bed and daybed and access to a large balcony with seating to relax and admire the wonderful mountain and tropical garden views. The second bedroom has a queen bed and daybed with plenty of storage space. The Family Suite at our Krabi resort Ao Nang has a good size bathroom with a shower and complimentary toiletries. At Krabi Tipa Resort we want you to get the most from your holiday in Aonang and so we offer a range of facilities and services for you to enjoy. Splash around in our outdoor swimming pool, let your children play in our garden playground while you enjoy a fresh coffee from our café. Pamper yourself with a poolside massage and take time to simply relax in our beautiful and breezy lobby. Our staff are on hand 24 hours a day with a smile to make your stay with us a happy and memorable one! The Sea, the sand and the sun awaits you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Krabi Tipa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipa Hotel Ao Nang
Tipa Hotel Krabi
Krabi Tipa Resort Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing