We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel in the world”
Review of Phra Nang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phra Nang Inn
Ranked #34 of 111 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is the worst hotel in the world. Very old hotel dirty, and the smell of human waste is unbelievable. The toilets are constantly clogging, the air conditioning not working properly. I would never stay here at any price. I would call it roach motel. After staying here for two days we had to cut our stay short to nearby hotel with excellent conditions and also better price. I hope this could help anyone decision on this dump,. Good luck.

Room Tip: Not this place. Go somewhere else. You will not regret
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VacationVillageTH, Manager at Phra Nang Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Ms. Emily,

First of all please accept our sincere apology for not being able to provide a satisfactory service. We check with our record that you have stayed with us on the 17-19 May with the original booking and then extend another night stay with us. This we would like to thank you for choosing to spend an extra night with us despite your dissatisfaction.

We regrets however that the dissatisfaction was not address to us during your stay so that we could have the chance to rectify it during your stay.

We made notes of all your comments and renovation is no the way. We would like to ask you for another chance, should you return to Krabi, please contact us for your complimentary stay.

Best Regards,

Chantima C Ms.
Resort Manager
chantima@vacationvillage.co.th

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 878 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect because it is close to the beach and all the shops and the hustle and bustle of all the tourists if you're into that. However the hotel itself although ran by very friendly staff could definitely use a fresh coat of paint and some detailing and repairs in general all over. Old gum stuck to the cement and handprints on the light switches were noticeable as well the pool definitely could've been kept cleaner of debris and grim. Rooms were clean yet outdated and musty smelling. Not a terrible experience but I would probably try somewhere else if I ever go back to Ao Nang.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Istigkeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Phra Nang Inn situates at the begining of Ao Nang, therefore, it is quite convenient to go anywhere in Krabi. Ony few minutes to Nopparat Tara National Park for ioslands trips. Dinging is very convenient as there are lots of restuarants in or nearby this area. You can choose from local food, sea food or many types of international food. Plenty of shops including souvernier shops, drug stores, and tourist information centers. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prasit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Phra nang inn is situated in the heart of Ao nang beach. It is situated right infront the beach, thus, giving its guest the best reason to stay in their place. They have spa, resto bar which has entertainers at night who sing good songs. The pool is also irresistible. Staff are good, OP, the driver,who brought us in and out from the airport, Suwit,the attendant is accommodating as well. The front desk staff speaks English. Restaurant staffs are fine. Their breakfast has not much variety. Rice, steamed ham & chicken sausage are part of the daily breakfast menu,then a noodle,soup and bread,plus a potato dish and egg on he spot cooking corner.
Rooms are ok. They provided 2 bath towels, 2 small towels, 2 face towels, 2 sarongs, 2 pairs of outdoor and indoor slippers, umbrella. Toiletries are bathgels and shampoo,cotton buds and shower cap only. No toothpaste&toothbrush.
Hot water and aircon also good.
Overall stay was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanniepex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I was half expecting the hotel to be good but it turns out great. For me, hotel plays an important part during a vacation and most of the time we got tricked by the professional pictures of a dodgy hotel. This is a different case, the staffs are all nice and helpful, we arrived early and allowed for an early check in and got a pool as our balcony view, and we have the amenities at our convenience. What more can we ask for? Will definitely recommend the place if you want to stay at one of the happening place in Ao Nang.

Room Tip: get the one on the same level of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferbie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

this hotel is just steps from the beach and right at the center of action in Aonang. We booked online early for 1 room at higher price and another room a few days before arriving at much cheaper rate so we were a bit frustrated with this. Emails were answered but staff speaks minimum English so communication was a bit difficult. Checking in was a breeze though.

the pool was great and my children loved it so much they spent there more than the beach. we booked 2 adjoining rooms on ground floor facing the pool so they can jump right in every morning. the entire place is very cozy and shaded with lots of trees (should clear the leaves in the pool more often) so it was good for us to spend a lot of time at the pool. the balcony with seating area is good to watch the kids. rooms were ocean-themed with coral curtain & lights and turquoise wall, small but good enough size for us. housekeeping was on time everyday.

shops and massage places are aplenty around and we loved the street vendors selling pancakes and juices at cheap prices. Tuk tuks are always outside the hotel so you can go anywhere fast. the AC worked well for us although it looked old. however, there was a weird bad smell (disgusting at times) all around especially in bathroom areas and sometimes outside at the corridor too.

Spa was a bit expensive compared to massage places outside. I also went to another hotel's spa a few steps away and it was cheaper.

we didn't take the buffet breakfast so we can't comment on it. For muslim, you can get halal food at a few small restaurants near the hotel (look for staff wearing headscarf) but be wary of western restaurants proclaiming halal by their staff on the street. Better still, get onto tuk tuk and go further up to near the mosque and you will find many muslim restaurants. If you rent a bike it is much better as tuk tuk can be expensive if you are using them a lot. for lots of local delicacies for breakfast, there are many street vendors in the morning closer to mosque area.

overall experience is excellent and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 1106 is on ground floor facing the pool and at a corner so you have a little privacy at the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SitiFira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

What we liked:
- The location
- Breakfast buffet was okay

What we didn't like:
- Hotel is very old
- Bed, pillow, sheet everything has old smell to it
- AC was not that powerful, so when you
- pool was not clean

So consider this hotel if you want a location just right off the beach and to the market. So you don't need to take tuk tuk or no need of renting bike.
And all the day tours are there. So very easy to book and go to Phi Phi Island OR multiple islands tour.
You can also take the long tail boat to any beaches. Body massage or foot massage people are just right off there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank AdyaLovesTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.5 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach Resort
Golden Beach Resort
#43 of 111 in Ao Nang
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Krabi Tipa Resort
Krabi Tipa Resort
#25 of 111 in Ao Nang
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 111 in Ao Nang
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aonang Villa Resort
Aonang Villa Resort
#17 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phra Nang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phra Nang Inn

Address: 119 Moo 2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#13 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range: $66 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phra Nang Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phra Nang Inn is the first resort of Vacation Village. The resort is well-situated in the centre of Ao Nang beach, the best location where you can easily take off to explore Krabi's beautiful islands and enjoy shopping and dining streets as well. It is a 3-star boutique resort with two main buildings, Beach Wing and Spa Wing which provide various room types, 69 rooms in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phra Nang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phra Nang Hotel Ao Nang
Phra Nang Krabi
Phra Nang Inn Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing