We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On of my favourite places in the world!”
Review of Phra Nang Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phra Nang Inn
Ranked #27 of 108 Hotels in Ao Nang
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“On of my favourite places in the world!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in the best location imaginable, right on the beach and within walking distance of everything you want in Ao Nang. The hotel itself could probably do with a bit of a touch up in places but is in a really charming tropical style. The pool area is beautiful and a real haven in which to relax. The beach in incredible and the scenery out of this world. Rooms are nice, clean and quirky and I would definitely stay here again. Exactly what we wanted from our holiday

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewWaters_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VacationVillageTH, Manager at Phra Nang Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your precious time taking a review for us, Phra Nang Lanin, Krabi. We are appreciated that!

Your compliment gives us a sense of success in term of guest satisfaction. And We are very happy that you enjoy your stay with us and appreciate our property.

Again, thank you for you review and hope to see you, your friends and family soon.

Best,

The management
Vacation Village Group
Phra Nang Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    394
    158
    53
    29
See reviews for
154
338
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is one of the oldest hotels in Ao Nang, so don't expect all the mod cons of the big new resorts. It does have a quaintness and traditional tropical design and lay-out that I find very charming though. We stayed in a room in the spa wing, and I read some people complained about those having a bath right in the bedroom, but that is part of the spa experience and, I think, part of the charm. Phra Nang Inn is right in the heart of Ao Nang, really close to all the shops, restaurants, taxi's and longboats to all the attractions. It isn't actually on the beach, but the beach is really really close and the hotel has two nice pools and a spa.
What I do feel was a bit of a let down was some of the staff's (some! not all!!) indolence. Some of them really do not seem to care much about their job - and I think when you're in the hospitality business you should be aware that you are a main contributor to a client's experience and can make the difference between a poor, an average and an excellent stay. Especially housekeeping was downright sloppy. The floor of our room was dirty when we arrived (hair, stains) and did not get any cleaner during our four day stay. Towels got removed and not replaced, and one day our bathroom was not attended to at all (no toilet paper, bucket didn't get emptied). When we asked for this to be attended to, we did get toilet paper, but the bucket was still full when we returned to our room late in the afternoon. This is, as far as I'm concerned, really a matter of paying attention and caring about what you are doing. We are not very fussy and I would return to this hotel (whether I would return to Ao Nang is a different matter), but I just don't get it when people working in this business fail to see exactly what they are hired for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VacationVillageTH, Manager at Phra Nang Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear VALUED GUEST


First of all, thank you for your time taking a value review for us really appreciated.

We are glad to know that you like our Spa Wing Room.

May I take this opportunity to give you an sincere apology on the standard of cleanliness related with our housekeeping team. And hope you will give us a chance to explain about what had happened. Recently, we have hired a new member of working staff which there are some of them need more training but lack of inspection after their work. And this is a wake up for us to make sure every rooms are well maintained and cleaned and filled all the amenities provided in the room.

We take you advise seriously and will motivate all our staff to be alerted on the issue and ensure the standard.

again, thank you for you review and we do hope that we will have another chance to prove you once again how well we improve it.

The Management Team

Vacation Village Group
Phra Nang Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Location of Phra Nang an absolute winner. Situated exactly opposite the beach so breakfast time meant eating from a good variety of offerings while watching the waves lapping the shore. We arrived without a booking and were able to negotiate a very fair tariff with the laughing reception staff. We had a poolside room and while showing age, everything was clean and working. The room was a good size and the bed comfortable. The pool was great in a lovely green setting. This is not a luxury hotel but had everything we needed. Loved it here and would return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GJS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VacationVillageTH, Manager at Phra Nang Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Geelong

Thank you for choosing us while you have choices around Ao Nang Beach, this gives us a sense of success!

We are the pioneer in Ao Nang and we have tried to remain our uniqueness to distinquish yourself among new modern looking resorts. And thank you for your appreciation in our proud property.

Again, thank you for your time taking your value review, we are hoping we can serve you once again.

The Management Team
Vacation Village Group
Phra Nang Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently stayed for four days at Phra Nang Inn & would stay again. The hotel is well located close to the beach, town centre & restaurants/bars & is reasonably priced. The staff were very friendly & helpful with any enquiries & were willing to assist where required.
We stayed in the Spa Wing on level 3 with great water views (upgraded without requesting) & the room was great with queen size bed, large bath as well as separate shower & two small but handy verandas for drying swimming gear. The breakfast was good served in the restaurant overlooking the beach & the two pools were enjoyable & clean with sufficient shade to avoid the hot sun.
We can highly recomended the Phra Nang Inn & would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Likeatiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VacationVillageTH, Manager at Phra Nang Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your comments which make all of us more than pleased. This gives us a sense of immense success that we could reach your expectation and completed your vacation during staying at our Phra Nang Inn.

This is due to our ultimate goal: to provide excellent service and offer assistance without asking simply like you are as one of our family.

Again, thank you for your praise and hope to see you again soon.

The management
Vacation Village Group
Phra Nang Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We booked this after a bad experience at a 'luxury' resort nearby. I love this place!! We were in the spa wing and the room is so sweet,feels like home with so many nice touches like cushion covers, spa toiletries and a huge bath in the room. Not sure my male friend was so taken by the decor but I think it's gorgeous. Great service, lovely pools, great coffee at breakfast and nice food, a lovely bar and right by the beach. My favorite hotel by far here in Thailand these past weeks. Haven't seen inside the rooms but the beach wing looks lovely too. I am super impressed by this place and would definitely stay again : )

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anniekh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VacationVillageTH, Manager at Phra Nang Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are really appreciated your comment and this gave us a sense of success!

We are so happy to know that you enjoy the stay and our facilities.

Bon Chance

and hope to see again soon

The Management
Vacation Village
Phra Nang Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinang George Town, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The moment we reach the hotel @ 3 something in the afternoon we were happy as the hotel overall look were quite nice. The receptionist are not fluent in English and a bit hard for our communication. We did a booking a week before our arrival.
We manage to book 5 room for 4D3N and have requested for 3 rooms with king size bed and 2 rooms for twin bed. End up we were given 1 king size bed only with the rest of the room are twin bed. What a disappointing arrangement given by the hotel as we had stated ours remark on the booking form to the hotel.We were only told that all rooms are fully book and were ask to take whatever we were given only. And we were told that 3 of the rooms are not ready yet for us to check in.
Wifi for the hotel are hardly to connect and it keep disconnect and the signal strength are weak when we were in the room. The connection are good only when we were on the balcony. Breakfast provided are nice. And we did have dinner in the Phra Nang kitchen restaurant and the food are excellent.
Location of the hotel are well strategic and it is convenient for us to walk around in AoNang. 7-11 are just few meter away from the hotel and the beach are just few steps away from the hotel itself.
During our check out on the 4th days staying, we were told by the receptionist that we had taken some snack from the mini bar on the 2nd day of our stay in 3 of our room out of 5 room we book. As we did not taken or eaten anything others than the complimentary 4 bottles of drinking water provided, we argue the matter with receptionist and would like the matter to be settle clearly. As I've mention earlier 7-11 are just few meters away from the hotel and we bought all our snacks and beers from the 7-11 everyday without fail at all. We were not happy at all as they keep saying that we had taken the snack from the minibar,,
Other than the bad experience above, i would also praise on the the staff over the tours/activity desk are friendly and help us explaining which trip suit for us and arranging it for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckvin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VacationVillageTH, Manager at Phra Nang Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and good comments on our F&B and recreation as well as must-improve points you mention on the review. I am really appreciated your time expressing all your personal opinion.

On the south of the Thailand comparing with Bangkok, or business cities, the level of English Skill is quite different and it seems staff working in other provinces have less English Skills because we hire local graduates with fair English Skills which sometimes in the hospitality industry English has been used to communicate with different and strong own accents and that might be language barrier. On the other hand, with other opinion from the guest I find it is interesting that they feel touched with this kind of thing because it makes them feel that they are in a foreign country and understand different cultures and traditions which Language is one of them.

On our standard room assignment, we do first come first serve, which is universal practice in any business where the booking request first will be fulfilled first and the next will be completed respectively to make it fair for everyone because everyone is our guest. However, I feel so bad to learn that this doesn't match with your expectation.

For the mini bar, in every hotels are an endless story. it happens from a guest house to 5 star luxury properties. I am also dissapointed as much as you do if my front staff made you an uncomfortable situation. They will be learning more on how to speak in tense situations.

Finally, thank you for all your comments and we will be very happy if you will give us a chance to come back and see how well we improve our service.

Best Regards,

The Management
Vacation Village Group
Phra Nang Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

After arriving in Ao Nang, a friend and I checked in straight away having booked for 2 days and 2 nights. We enjoyed staying at the place so much that we extended our visit there by 2 days.. The pools are great, the rooms more than adequate, perfect location, helpful staff as well at tiger prawns to die for. Would recommend this Inn to anyone who is looking to spend a bit more and avoid the backpacker environment. Lastly, the tours/activity desk were extremely helpful and did a great job booking trips and ferries for us.Go say hello! They could however update the menu cards and overall professional outlook as seen from the paying customer!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VacationVillageTH, Manager at Phra Nang Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Michael

Thank you for take time and express how you experience us! We are so happy to know that we could be a part of your memorable vacation.

This gives us a sense of success because our ultimate goal to give satisfaction to you!

Again, thank you for your time to put your review and hope to see you soon again.

The Management
Vacation Village
Phra Nang Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach Resort
Golden Beach Resort
#37 of 108 in Ao Nang
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 108 in Ao Nang
567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#20 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aonang Princeville Resort
Aonang Princeville Resort
#36 of 108 in Ao Nang
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phra Nang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phra Nang Inn

Property: Phra Nang Inn
Address: 119 Moo 2, Ao Nang Beach, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#11 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phra Nang Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phra Nang Inn is the first resort of Vacation Village. The resort is well-situated in the centre of Ao Nang beach, the best location where you can easily take off to explore Krabi's beautiful islands and enjoy shopping and dining streets as well. It is a 3-star boutique resort with two main buildings, Beach Wing and Spa Wing which provide various room types, 69 rooms in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phra Nang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phra Nang Hotel Ao Nang
Phra Nang Krabi
Phra Nang Inn Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing