We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crazy Gringos Mexican Restaurant

Crazy Gringos Mexican Restaurant
Moo 2, Highway No. 4203, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Name/address in local language
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 236 Restaurants in Ao Nang
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The most authentic Tex-Mex food in Ao Nang! Extensive menu with live music.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Australians on our tour arranged our last night at this place. The manager is australian and looked after us. Not really my cup of tea to have mexican food in Thailand but the shrimp chimichanga that i ordered was very tasty. They had lots of cocktails at 99 baht a pop. The manager, one eyed Dave (ask for the party trick if you dare) had a few tequila shots with us too. The live singers were amazing. We danced till 1am.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shirina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    101
    57
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
385 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
“Good Family Friendly Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Crazy Gringos is a family friendly restaurant that is in the Walking Street up the southern end of the beach road at Ao Nang. It is also the place for all day 90 baht Margheritas and there is a menu of over 20 to choose from. Now I had never tried a Margherita until we went here and now I love them. My favorite one is the Hot Chili Mango Marherita.

Their meatballs with Béarnaise sauce and mashed potato was delicious, after being in Thailand for quite a few months I was craving some comfort food and for only 200baht this dish hit the spot. Gary also enjoyed the Crazy Gringo Spicy Burger for 290baht. My favorite dessert here is the Chocolate Mud cake with fresh cream, ice cream and raspberries; it was perfect and only 150baht.

This is a nice place to come for dinner and drinks with a good band that can play absolutely anything you request. The staff are attentive and Dave the Manager is spot on with his recommendations for what to have for dinner. There are also plenty of televisions showing live sporting events. We are looking forward to coming back to Crazy Gringo’s.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Food is OK, staff and ambiance are excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The formula isn´t quite new anymore, but not at all worn out yet. The cowboy-hats, the Filipino band and the quite acceptable food are good reasons to come back time after time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raimond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I live in California and am accustomed to great Mexican food. While this is def. not what you would call "authentic", it is still pretty damn tasty. I went on Taco Tuesday; 45 baht for a taco. I got the chicken tacos and ordered a side of guac; my taste buds danced. Yes, the cheese is melted, but still good. Also, the margaritas were done perfectly. It opens later in the day though; not sure of what time specifically, but not before 1pm for sure. Would def. recommend going!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DelphinaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Great ribs, burgers etc expensive for thailand but ok for a one off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Found this place down one of the little courtyard tourist traps. Cocktails were on offer at 99baht but only the first 3 pages of the menu £2 for a cocktail is good for ao nang where drinks are pricey. Daiquiri 's were very good as were mojitos. Ate chicken burgers, beef and ribs. The ribs worked out at £7 but were really nice. Bit pricey for Thailand. They were a bit skimpy with the chips. The burgers were good with a good selection of extras on them. If you don't want to pay decent prices for western food And you are used to paying street food prices then you might end uP putting a review on here saying it was not good.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charlie_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Gringos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Crazy Gringos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing