We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vipa Tropical Resort
Ranked #6 of 123 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great potential...”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Firstly, let me start by saying how fabulous the owners are - it's a great family run business and they couldn't have done more for us.

This place has the potential to be amazing - fabulous location, great food and wonderful owners. The rooms themselves are nice, very simple but absolute fine. There are just a few things that let it down:
- the bathrooms are in desperate need of a re-fit (seriously, if you're a bit funny about bathrooms like I am then I really wouldn't stay here)
- the towels are nearly threadbare - really in need of replacing
- the bedding - I'm still slightly unsure as to why we had a Disney princess under sheet but there we go!! (It was clean, just a bit odd!)
- generally the place could just do with tidying up a bit - the balcony chairs were filthy, I wouldn't have even dried a towel on them let alone sat on them

Having said that, the wonderful owners more than made up for any short comings and it's a great budget option (backpackers may love it?)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    54
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
81
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paderborn, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Vipa and could not of had a better time. We had a standard bungalow right next to the pool. It was perfectly adequate for our requirements and for the cost per night. Admittedly the bathroom could do with a re-fit and the decor could be spruced up but it was clean and the staff are the most helpful and friendly I have come across. They organised a moped for us and had it delivered in less than 15 mins from us requesting it. They booked 3 trips for us and each time got us at least a 1000 baht discount off the price on the leaflet. Its a 20 min walk from the main area of town but in the day you can get a free lift down and at night if you walk to the end of the road you can pick up a motorbike taxi for 60 baht no problem. The restaurant area is basic but breakfast is about 90 baht and a fried rice or pad thai the same price. The WiFi does work in the rooms and around the pool and there is no charge at all for it. It seems to be a place more for backpackers passing through but the bonus for us was that there were no children staying and the pool area was very quiet. If I ever returned to Ao Nang I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuilover2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I are backpacking and were extremely happy when we arrived at Vipa! We are staying in one of the huts and can't fault our room at all. The staff (although there are not many) go out of their way to help you and are very polite and friendly. The resort offers free taxi rides into so bang, which is a bonus! However it is only a 15 minute walk which is pretty enjoyable! There is a pool which is small but very clean, as well as internet access and laundry services! Overall, I would definitely reccommend this resort, especially for backpackers!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaJohnson17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Its a great hotel specially for backpackers where you get a bungalow facing the mountains with a garden view with bathroom and AC. The wifi is accessable only from the sitting area (near the reception) and it has a swimming pool.
The staff where very friendly to me and helped to plan my trips in Ao Nang.
They have a laundry service and a motorbike rental service.
Would deffinately come back again

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ibrahim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

well the thing that really put me off was when we rented motorcycles from them, i scratched it (seriously there were 3 - 5 scratches but nothing major) and because they held my friend's passport i got charged A LOT for it. and i had to pay to get the passport back..

i got the lower end rooms which were very crappy for what i was paying. expect rudimentary toilets, yes there is hot water but its right next to the toilet and the whole bathroom ends up wet due to the set up of it (no section, curtain etc). also the beds were really really old, hard and i think had bed bugs. i did not dare to sleep under the covers so i just slept on the covers on the bed and used insect repellent. the air con did not work the entire time i was there. other than that, it was decent, there is a pool and people are generally nice until money comes into play.

i think only go for it if you can negotiate a lower price and expect very basic accommodation with not so comfy/clean beds. also, never ever hand over your passports.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nbo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The huge plus about this place is the location that is just a little off from a main road in Ao Nang.

This affords you a fantastic view of the mountain face by the lodging. They have a pool and pets around the premises that can be fun. Villa style huts which are hit or miss. My friend got an older one that he refused to stay in for a second night but what we got (2 ppl) was perfectly fine. I will, of course, review ours - but keep in mind what seems like hit or miss (another group of 3 ppl we were with seemed to be fine too, so the other guy could've just been an odd case).

Air conditioning ! Ok beds (not in best of condition), nice and clean, relatively spacious room, nice lighting. Doors are glass (this was fine with us but some people may like to know - other villas had conventional solid doors). Bathroom was fine but is open concept, so shower last because toilet and floor will be wet.

I think there were food options but we didn't try it. Nice cheap price and rather decent stay. Nothing special about the room itself but the atmosphere of the entire premises is quite nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vak88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

this very small hotel has backpacker 'chalets', hotel type room accomodation and small bungalows with living room, bedroom and kitchen and bath. the staff are incredibly firnedly and always available for assistance with any tour, travel or possible need. I stayed here for three months whilst using it as a base for traveling around Thailand, Laos and Cambodia and was treted like all the guests as a welcome visitor. the location at the foot of the hills on a very quiet back road but 20 minutes walk to the beach or 2 minutes via hotel shuttle provided hourly or as needed. te variety of guesust from young backpackers to retired guests make it an interesing mix unlike many of the facilities in ao nang which are either backpacker only or 5 starresorts. the pool while smallw as always clean and refreshing. This is avery Thi hotle so don't expect luxury but as value for moeny with kind responsive staff it dan't be ebat in the ao nang area.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
0.1 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
0.9 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 108 in Ao Nang
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vipa Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vipa Tropical Resort

Property: Vipa Tropical Resort
Address: 43/6 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vipa Tropical Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vipa Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vipa Tropical Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing