We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel is a nightmare”
Review of Guitar Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guitar Residence
Ranked #106 of 123 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Vail, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“this hotel is a nightmare”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Dirty room directly above all night coverband bar... the walls vibrate until 4am... bugs... holes in wall...missing headboard and bedside table had been removed from wall. Stains on walls... no customer service whatsoever... pool was green... shower door rusty and broken... You would be crazy to stay here.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colorado_Traveler115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Five of us are staying at this hotel while we're in Ao Nang for a few days, we've been staying in cheap hotels & hostels around Thailand and compared to some of the places we have stayed for the same price this is lovely. If you paid a lot of money to stay here I could see why you would give a pretty poor review but we negotiated a good deal for the five of us and it has been great for us.

The beds aren't as bad as other reviews say, maybe we have new ones because they're quite comfy really. The bedroom is really spacious & it has everything you need including a wooden rail about the size of a kingsize bed to hang your clothes on. It's also got a big fridge with freezer compartment & the A/C works well. The bathroom has got potential, it is spacious with a pretty sink & tiles but it's a bit grotty where they've let stubborn grime build up (still gets cleaned every day.)

The pool is thin & basic, it doesn't look appealing to swim in or lay by at the bottom of the stairs but there's no need anyway with the beach about a minutes walk away.

This hotel is in a great location, our balcony looks out onto a bustling street, it's got a good wooden table & chairs, there is a band playing every night at the bar downstairs which is great if you're having a few beers on the balcony but not great if you're trying to get an early night as shutting the glass doors makes hardly any difference to the level of noise. (The band aren't that good really).

Overall this hotel has been great for us, so much so that we decided to extend our stay to three nights instead of one, the best thing to do I reckon is turn up & negotiate a deal, don't book online & pay over the odds.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roxieuk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

unlike the person below I did not have any of the problems he complains about. The lady at reception was lovely, she was very helpful she helped us to book a hotel for the next leg of our journey and wanted nothing from us, we paid at the hotel not directly to her. I was given a leaflet on arrival with the tours they offered but she never pushed it. The hotel is a little run down but what do you want for 600 bht in the centre of town. It had all the basic utilities. It was very noise at night with two bands playing either side but they are finished by 12. If you are in town to party (which I wasn't )this is a good spot right in the middle of the action, close to the beach restaurants + markets. The rooms could have been cleaner but the bed linen was fine. I liked the pool especially when the tide was in and the beach wasn't good for swimming. Cheap and cheerful

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lets start with the likes...

Great size room - helps to have space when you're travelling with someone... Nice size balcony and great location, just seconds from the beach. Staff were also really nice and helpful. Definitely value for money on that level.

Dislikes - there was rennovations happening at the time which they didn't pre-warn us about. Up until 10/11pm we could hear loud sawing, banging ect...

This is also situated directly above a bar, so if you want an early/quiet night, this isn't the place for you. We weren't bothered by the music since the sounds of the construction drowned it out!

My biggest complaint - the beds were the worst I had ever slept on. I liken them to torture devices... If it were not for the beds, I may actually return to this place again. But given the pain and discomfort we were in because of the beds, I would never stay here again. Seriously, I can not stress how bad these beds were!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Channy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Ok for Thailand cant understand why all the other reviews are so low I suppose everone has different expectations. I thought this hotel was adequate clean and tidy.
Staff were very helpful and location was fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

First off I would like to say that the prices for these rooms aren't good. The rooms are big but there are a few things that can be improved.
The bathroom was ok but the sink wasnt pleasant. The tap was full of rust and that and the actual sink wasnt clean.
The A/C leaked slightly.
The swimming pool isn't exactly that my partner could stand in there and touch 3 sides without moving.
Our door didnt fit the frame and wasn't secure anyone could have gotten in so we were weary of where we left our things plus the safety deposit box was broken and so we couldnt use that.
It was so noisy we had to turn the TV volume up high just to drown out the music from the bar downstairs.
The wifi only worked in a single spot of the room and didnt have enough strength for us both to connect so we had to take it in turns and one evening it kept cutting out for a while.
The computers down stairs were ok but there were always 2 boys who I think were working there on them so you always had to wait and we felt awkward for using them Even though it was 1b a Minute and we had to pay!

The room was ok though and spacious and it is right next to the beach but it just isnt worth the money!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I traveled for a month all over Thailand and this was the worst stay I had by far. I've seen hostels cleaner than this place. The fridge was disgusting and looks like none has ever cleaned it. The a.c. leaks everywhere. The hotel staff is extremely rude definitely not the land of smiles here. The sink had stagnant water and looks and smells like its been that way for sometime. To top it all off its really loud from the bar downstairs that keeps you up past 3am. Please do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panamanike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ao Nang hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ao Nang hotels
2.0 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
1.4 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,445 reviews
1.7 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#18 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.2 mi away
Aonang Phu Petra Resort, Krabi
1.5 mi away
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guitar Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guitar Residence

Property: Guitar Residence
Address: 459/12 Moo2, Ao Nang, Muang Krabi, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Guitar Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guitar Residence Krabi/Ao Nang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing